Posting your rating...
Thomas Tew Authentic rum
Thomas Tew Authentic rum

Thomas Tew Authentic

United States | Gold

Thomas Tew Authentic rum, a triple pot-distilled, blackstrap molasses-based rum that’s aged three to five years in used bourbon barrels and bottled at 84 proof.

via American Rum Report

7.8/10 (23 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
10
4
2

Rate Thomas Tew Authentic

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


23 Thomas Tew Authentic ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Plenty of flavor, despite having none of the fruit or sugar overtones of more famous "premium" rums. It reminds me a lot of Bajan gems like Seale 10-year-old, but with a more aggressive presentation. It's just as dry, with a lot more oaky goodness. Enjoy it straight up (a perfect choice), or mix it with fresh lime and sugar, but certainly don't waste this excellent rum by pouring it into soda pop. Much too good for that!

1f4570219d6d2d5eabff5d38f40d627b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Viktor from United States with 16 ratings

I found this bottle in a small liquor store in il while on vacation. I bought it because I have never heard of it and I like to support craft distilleries whenever I can. The bottle is not the easiest to open, but I like wax seals so I don't mind. After pouring the aroma is very bourbon like, smoky oak, earthy, but after a minute of sitting out comes a sweet smell like a cool summer morning. When I tasted it the first thing I got was whiskey burn. After that faded the flavor of this really comes thru. It starts like a good whiskey with oak, earthy flavor, then carries into pure caramel and vanilla, but the finish is where I thought it really shined. At the tail just before the throat burn it is sweet! Gives the sensation that you. Chased it with a slight bit of pure cane sugar. I put a couple of drops of water in it to really get all these flavors delivered. Without the water it tastes more young and rough around the edges. I think this is an excellent rum, thank you Newport Ri!!

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

This is an interesting rum for me. I had read about this rum and the namesake, Thomas Tew. I didn't expect to find a bottle...the last bottle...in a small liquor store in Thomasville, Georgia. It is a pot-distilled single barrel rum from Rhode Island so each barrel may impart differing characteristics on the rum itself. My bottle was filled with rum from barrel #118 and I definitely detect oak and molasses in the flavor. It has an almost bourbon aroma in the bottle with a hint of sweetness. It is a drier rum than what I normally enjoy but this rum is quite smooth and the oakiness does not impart a bitterness to the flavor. There does not seem to be a major burn but instead a nice warmth that envelopes the throat slowly fading to a nice tingle on the tongue and a lingering mild molasses sweetness. I like this rum and it is an excellent sipping rum as well as an excellent mixer. A delightful and truly outstanding all-around rum.

F471359e108fe23a72f5c2c2b2c6a576.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Skipjack from United States with 20 ratings

Warning, I gush too much on this rum. I do hit it for the difficulties I find in tasting it, but once you have drank the rum, all of those issues become distant memories. This is not a Caribbean rum, this is an American rum. There is no overt sweetness, or grassy tones, this is a great molasses based rum that has been properly aged in oak.

Bottle: Good looking, unique, fine addition to the shelf. One of my favorites.
Color: Crystal brown.
Bottle Aroma: A little heavy on ethanol with rum odor present.
Glass Aroma: Ethanol has completely dissipated, a dry rum with and oaky, almost bourbon like nose comes out.
Taste: The smell and taste of this rum are different, one does not lead to the other. This is a complex rum that has sat in barrels for some time and be pulled when right. It is oaky, with a good mix of flavors that remind me of a good American Whiskey that has a small amount of rye and wheat in it.

I love this rum. I might be influenced because of its Newport Storm, Newport - RI heritage, or that it is a great example of American craft distillery rum. If you are looking to have a range of spirits that shows the capabilities of the US craft distillery market, in my opinion this is the rum to have as part of that collection.

0b3eb738cf54231f7e6ab963742fb7f1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

Great American made rum here! Flavor profile similar to a Ron centernario 20-25 year here! An honest rum full of flavor and handcrafted in small batches in the USA. Highly recommended rum.

Afd438b4ef1b6c4af00113965882c632.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by BostonFisher from United States with 12 ratings

I was at a bar in Newport Rhode Island and asked the bartender what kind of rum they had. Nothing sounded too good until I heard about Thomas Tew. The good part was that I never heard about it before so I gave it a try - wow! Nice darker (not too dark) rum with a smooth finish. You can only get it in Southern New England. If you are in the area buy a bottle and support the local economy!

Ada6924901b8fbb3a42c0180c94bbf9e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Black strap molasses based rum distilled using brewers yeast in copper pot stills. Many of the ingredients and equipment from the 18th century have been reintroduced and incorporated into their rum making.
Flavorful, earthy, full- bodied and on the fruity, sweeter side this single barrel rum is very nice.
It is hard to come by since it is pretty much allocated in the New England area and I believe Texas. So, you will probably have to order this rum online.
For some good, reason, I encountered a bottle of it in a new liquor store here in Florida!!!!
Cheers!

6cea5d96e33c976ea0b109b875faa223.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Scott from United States with 16 ratings

Enjoyable, layered American rum. Great sipper. An oaky hint of butterscotch. The burn is warming and mellow, but lasts.

405917d98dea96b564c1a5e017332f0b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by April from United States with 2 ratings

I really enjoyed this rum it starts out with sweet oak flavor and finishes with a nice burn, very good to sip I like to add a cube of ice.

701480dd43bc474b66c8793f44b99a5f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Jon from Denmark with 16 ratings

Great oak taste and okay sweetness as well.
Pretty impressive for a Rum which has none added sugar or colors. There is something extra I cannot describe.. but its close to pineapple taste..

5128072cb0a8be41104daf8a2f2422ab.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by 5KGMan from United States with 7 ratings

This is my first review so please be patient. I liked the taste a lot. Smooth. Caramel and red color. Cool bottle, cork cap, waxed seal. Very Good American rum from Newport RI.