Posting your rating...
The Scarlet Ibis Gold rum

The Scarlet Ibis rum was initially produced for exclusive use by the Death & Co bar in New York, and now available in available to the public in limited quantities as supplies last.

This rum is a blend of pot-still rums from Trinidad that were aged 3-5 years in white oak casks. The name is derived from the bright pink Scarlet Ibis bird, which is native to the Caribbean and adorns the bottle.

Rate The Scarlet Ibis Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


30 The Scarlet Ibis Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Fresh and light aroma. Smells like sweetened sea water with a subtle brininess to it, in a good way. Interesting peppery harshness at the front. The back end is where you find the faint molasses flavor. The finish is surprisingly smooth. No burn in the throat but a pleasant heat in the chest (that 49% doe). Would work great in a well crafted cocktail when looking to add a sharp flavor profile as opposed to sweetness. Definitely not an entry level sipping rum but enjoyable neat or on the rocks when looking for a peppery smack in da mouth.

Unfortunately my bottle didn't come as pictured above with the attractive long neck and cork top. Better luck next bottle.

Posted over 7 years ago by Da'rum from Germany with 22 ratings

Taste perfection, the absolute poster child for a young rum. It show's in style that a perfect rum does not need to be old. It just needs to be made with skill.
No caramel added, aged for 3 years, a good high flavour carrying proof and pot stilled. Slightly too expensive at 45€ which means I won't buy it often but it still maintains a 10/10 because it is just that well made.

A thoroughly enjoyable straight sipper.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Troels from Denmark with 7 ratings

This rum may not be the most beautiful of rums, but it is - hands down - one of the best rums that i have tried.

The taste is sharp but at the same time delicate and savory.

If you prefer a rum that is not to heavy on fruit taste, you should try this.

Posted 6 months ago by Smovens from United States with 87 ratings

Great rum that packs a strong punch from higher abv. Carmel, oak, spice, allbalanced perfectly. Amazing job

Posted 9 months ago by thescarletibis from United States with 2 ratings

This is my favorite rum of all time. As of this moment... Ohio has stopped selling this rum. Shame.

Posted 11 months ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

Remember not everyone's tastings are the same. I rated this low because I couldn't get any real flavors from it.

Posted 12 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Not a highlight of my night, a bit rough for the list.

Posted 12 months ago by Potpie from United States with 6 ratings

It's a young rum and it's 49% abv, so it's harsher than other rums in it's price range. But for as light as it is, it offers a lot of complexity with notes of grass and salt air.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of The Scarlet Ibis Rum while in San Francisco. Unique bottle and label design. Golden color. Plenty of pepper, spices and some tropical fruits to your nose and palate. Surprisingly strong burn at the end being such a dry rum. Unique for sure. Not my cup of tea though.

Posted over 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 101 ratings

Hits hard with a sharp clean aroma but finishes smooth. A fantastic mixer, one of the best with Coke, that carries its own through the entire drinking experience. I like this rum and believe it is a staple for the true rum fan...

Posted over 1 year ago by Thomas Fuhs from United States with 22 ratings

The smell is dangerously smooth. The flavors are very subtle with a pleasant viscosity that feels syrupy without being too sweet

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

A bit strong straight up, but it mixed okay. I will give it some more time (and tastes) and adjust the rating as appropriate. A 5.5 on my scale..

Posted over 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

49% ABV. I believe the bottle said the blend of Trini rums were aged 3–5 years before bottling. Interesting nose. Some high notes. Mouth is a bit deeper. Starts light and cane-y, but dry. You can detect the oily, smoky Caroni. Surprisingly long finish.

Death & Company got something really good when this was developed for them. I love the proof, and I imagine this mixes like a charm. May need to make this my new "interesting" gold rum.

8-, 8

Posted over 2 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

Smells like wet hay and tropical fruit skin, then tastes real hot and fruity with a little toffee. I was only sampling this at a bar, and sipping it straight was less than pleasant, but I could see this being lovely in cocktails or on the rocks!
If I get the chance to experiment further, I'll be sure to update!

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

The 49%abv makes this pretty bitey, but the flavor is still very good. It's a little dryer than most, but still has some sugar, honey, and vanilla to it. The spice is very interesting.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Ben from United States with 7 ratings

A bit spicy up front, get some barrel flavors, had it neat but I usually like ice but overall an excellent rum.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

One of the drier rums available with some alcohol burn, some hot spice notes like pepper combined with vanilla, caramel, brown sugar and banana. This is a fine rum to drink neat but also does well in mixed drinks.

Posted over 3 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

A+ rum, price is right proof is right. A bit obscure in the realm of classic rums. Perfect right down the middle young rum with a solid foot on the dry side. Care has been taken into crafting this, If your seeking good quality rum you will not be disappointed one bit.

Posted over 3 years ago by Chris from Canada with 21 ratings

Fine fine sipper. Really well done. I like it a lot.

Posted over 3 years ago by Daniel from Israel with 4 ratings

I saw the positive reviews on this board, so i figured I'd check it out. First-off, and this is of minor significance, but online images gave me the idea that this had a cork-cap, yet i was dissapointed to receive my Scarlet Ibis with a screw-cap... sorry, I just hat screw-caps!

Now, little more to the point - the real dissapointment came when i took my first taste: The rum was completley off-balance, inelegantly bottled at 49% (which i don't usually mind). Before any flavours reached my mouth or nose, i was overwhelemed by blatant notes of acetone. After the overpowering ethanol died down there were supple of hints of vanilla and tropical fruits, but overall it was just way to harsh for me.

However, as a mixer it worked alright with coke but that's about it... Sorry guys, can't see what all the fuss is about

Posted over 3 years ago by jmp3 from United States with 88 ratings

Nice rum some spice with smooth finish. Could be a good sipping, rum lost some with coke.

Posted about 4 years ago by Dino from Germany with 43 ratings

This is what you'd expect from a good rum but rarely get in a single bottle. Strong but with mild and wide spread notes of wood and tropical fruits and a fulminant development in your mouth and palate. Not the cheapest but I will definitely get another one! Use only in high quality cocktails, if not better straight!

Posted about 4 years ago by Brian from United States with 9 ratings

View: Pours light gold.

Nose: Very banana forward with a ltitle vanilla in there to boot.

Initial Tasting: Banana and spice up front; little bite.

Body: Vanilla lingers a bit with banana still ruling the roost.

Fade: Finishes with vanilla and banana on the tongue.

Posted over 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

This is a lovely well-rounded rum; somewhat dry and perfectly spicy. this is really smooth for a 3-5yo spirit. At 49% you would expect it to be hotter than it tastes too.

This goes on the short list. VERY WELL DONE!!!!!

Sugar test-0g