Posting your rating...
The Scarlet Ibis Gold rum

The Scarlet Ibis Gold

Trinidad and Tobago | Gold

The Scarlet Ibis rum was initially produced for exclusive use by the Death & Co bar in New York, and now available in available to the public in limited quantities as supplies last.

This rum is a blend of pot-still rums from Trinidad that were aged 3-5 years in white oak casks. The name is derived from the bright pink Scarlet Ibis bird, which is native to the Caribbean and adorns the bottle.

7.4/10 (33 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
2
1
9
12
3
3

Rate The Scarlet Ibis Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

33 The Scarlet Ibis Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

This rum is special because it´s a bit harsh and at the same time it`s an important component in certain tiki drinks giving the drink a funk and it mixes well with other rums. It´s not a rum for everybody and certainly not a beginner´s rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Fresh and light aroma. Smells like sweetened sea water with a subtle brininess to it, in a good way. Interesting peppery harshness at the front. The back end is where you find the faint molasses flavor. The finish is surprisingly smooth. No burn in the throat but a pleasant heat in the chest (that 49% doe). Would work great in a well crafted cocktail when looking to add a sharp flavor profile as opposed to sweetness. Definitely not an entry level sipping rum but enjoyable neat or on the rocks when looking for a peppery smack in da mouth.

Unfortunately my bottle didn't come as pictured above with the attractive long neck and cork top. Better luck next bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Da'rum from Germany with 22 ratings

Taste perfection, the absolute poster child for a young rum. It show's in style that a perfect rum does not need to be old. It just needs to be made with skill.
No caramel added, aged for 3 years, a good high flavour carrying proof and pot stilled. Slightly too expensive at 45€ which means I won't buy it often but it still maintains a 10/10 because it is just that well made.

A thoroughly enjoyable straight sipper.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Troels from Denmark with 7 ratings

This rum may not be the most beautiful of rums, but it is - hands down - one of the best rums that i have tried.

The taste is sharp but at the same time delicate and savory.

If you prefer a rum that is not to heavy on fruit taste, you should try this.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by eadrn from United States with 49 ratings

I love this rum, and am glad/lucky I found it in the random liquor store I stopped in on a cross country driving trip. I have yet to have seen it since.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by El Cap from United States with 62 ratings

This is a good bottle, kind of hard to find in these parts but worth treasuring once you track some down.
Keep it simple. Daiquiri with a splash of allspice dram and you are all. Set.

Small 8730f4af a452 4df6 a335 caa05c11cd49

Posted 5 months ago by rennerg from United States with 23 ratings

To be honest it’s just ok. I got interested in this rum after hearing it was commissioned by Death & Co. and that it’s made in Trinidad so I really expected a lot more out of it. There’s not much personality to it which may have been the point of it was intended for cocktails. Not sure I’d buy this again.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Smovens from United States with 94 ratings

Great rum that packs a strong punch from higher abv. Carmel, oak, spice, allbalanced perfectly. Amazing job

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by thescarletibis from United States with 2 ratings

This is my favorite rum of all time. As of this moment... Ohio has stopped selling this rum. Shame.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

Remember not everyone's tastings are the same. I rated this low because I couldn't get any real flavors from it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Not a highlight of my night, a bit rough for the list.