Posting your rating...
The Scarlet Ibis Gold rum

The Scarlet Ibis Gold

Trinidad and Tobago | Gold

The Scarlet Ibis rum was initially produced for exclusive use by the Death & Co bar in New York, and now available in available to the public in limited quantities as supplies last.

This rum is a blend of pot-still rums from Trinidad that were aged 3-5 years in white oak casks. The name is derived from the bright pink Scarlet Ibis bird, which is native to the Caribbean and adorns the bottle.

7.4/10 (31 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
2
1
8
12
2
3

Rate The Scarlet Ibis Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


31 The Scarlet Ibis Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This rum is better than I expected based on the price. It's a little dryer than most, but still has some sugar, honey, and vanilla to it. The spice is very interesting; it's kind of unique (maybe allspice?) but quite good. Also has oak and pie crust.

A little stronger at 49%abv, but still very drinkable straight.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Fresh and light aroma. Smells like sweetened sea water with a subtle brininess to it, in a good way. Interesting peppery harshness at the front. The back end is where you find the faint molasses flavor. The finish is surprisingly smooth. No burn in the throat but a pleasant heat in the chest (that 49% doe). Would work great in a well crafted cocktail when looking to add a sharp flavor profile as opposed to sweetness. Definitely not an entry level sipping rum but enjoyable neat or on the rocks when looking for a peppery smack in da mouth.

Unfortunately my bottle didn't come as pictured above with the attractive long neck and cork top. Better luck next bottle.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Da'rum from Germany with 22 ratings

Taste perfection, the absolute poster child for a young rum. It show's in style that a perfect rum does not need to be old. It just needs to be made with skill.
No caramel added, aged for 3 years, a good high flavour carrying proof and pot stilled. Slightly too expensive at 45€ which means I won't buy it often but it still maintains a 10/10 because it is just that well made.

A thoroughly enjoyable straight sipper.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Troels from Denmark with 7 ratings

This rum may not be the most beautiful of rums, but it is - hands down - one of the best rums that i have tried.

The taste is sharp but at the same time delicate and savory.

If you prefer a rum that is not to heavy on fruit taste, you should try this.

Ffffff

Posted 26 days ago by rennerg from United States with 21 ratings

To be honest it’s just ok. I got interested in this rum after hearing it was commissioned by Death & Co. and that it’s made in Trinidad so I really expected a lot more out of it. There’s not much personality to it which may have been the point of it was intended for cocktails. Not sure I’d buy this again.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Smovens from United States with 93 ratings

Great rum that packs a strong punch from higher abv. Carmel, oak, spice, allbalanced perfectly. Amazing job

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by thescarletibis from United States with 2 ratings

This is my favorite rum of all time. As of this moment... Ohio has stopped selling this rum. Shame.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

Remember not everyone's tastings are the same. I rated this low because I couldn't get any real flavors from it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Not a highlight of my night, a bit rough for the list.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Potpie from United States with 6 ratings

It's a young rum and it's 49% abv, so it's harsher than other rums in it's price range. But for as light as it is, it offers a lot of complexity with notes of grass and salt air.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of The Scarlet Ibis Rum while in San Francisco. Unique bottle and label design. Golden color. Plenty of pepper, spices and some tropical fruits to your nose and palate. Surprisingly strong burn at the end being such a dry rum. Unique for sure. Not my cup of tea though.