Posting your rating...

5.5/10 (102 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
10
39
31
11
3
2

Rate Barcelo Anejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


102 Barcelo Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 92 ratings

Rhum très ordinaire, même avec du cola. Pour ce prix il y n'a des meilleurs.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

Very cheap rum with a distinctive sweet flavor, maybe a little bit more harsh than it's "Gran Anejo" brother. Still a very bad investment.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by ziegelmeyer from France with 10 ratings

Fera lui aussi l'affaire pour un mojito ou un cuba libre.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

This is a blend of rum distilled in the Dominican Republic and aged for up to 4 years in used oak bourbon barrels from Kentucky.

I like this a little less than the Grand Anejo but really not much all that much.

It has a nice amber color in the snifter shifting a bit to a golden hue. The aroma does have a little harshness to it but not to objectionable levels. The blend of rums are aged in Kentucky bourbon barrels and that flavor is predominate at the outset as well as at the finish. There are hints of vanilla and toffee with some sweetness. There may be some sugaring present (the figures I've seen are to an older version of the Barceló Anejo -- I am unsure how much, if any, sugaring is in this rum however it's really not too sweet so it may be much less, if any).

The oak flavor is a tad too strong to qualify this as a sipping rum in my opinion however it works extremely well as a versatile mixing rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Youri from Netherlands with 62 ratings

I had it on a night along with Barbancourt. I both liked them but the Barbancourt was better.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Staal from Denmark with 4 ratings

Now, the smell that meet your nose is somewhat strange. A blend of nothing and spirit. Nothing impressive, that's for sure. The taste is.... Oak, water and spirit. The Oak is very powerful and then comes the spirit. Strong and overwhelming. And then comes a hint of, strangely enough, dark chocolate. All in all a very strange combination. Only small zipps are recommended for this Rum.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by jolly_roger from Canada with 18 ratings

This rum and it's brothers is what started me on my journey into rums, I keep as a staple on my shelf and it mainly used for rum and coke. Not the best sipper.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Pedro Ferreirinho from Portugal with 11 ratings

Adquirido numa viagem à República Dominicana em 2008.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Florin from Romania with 20 ratings

Nici nu sunt convins că își merită banii. Se simte prea mult tăria. Îmi place să beau rom simplu iar aceata nu se prea descurca la capitolul asta . Poate cu gheata.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

This one is worse than the gran añejo when drinking on the rocks and even with coke you seem to have a cheap rum-coke which is drinkable.