Posting your rating...
Black Tot Finest Carribean 5-Year rum

Black Tot Finest Carribean 5-Year

United Kingdom | Aged

6.8/10(24 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
4
10
5
1

Rate Black Tot Finest Carribean 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

24 Black Tot Finest Carribean 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 118 ratings

Black Tot delivers very entertaining blend here. This rum delivers solid alcohol punch - with 46.2 % ABV this should not a surprise. The relatively young components of this navy style blend are apparent on the palate, but in an entertaining way, at least for me. There are molasses on the nose, mixed with tropical fruits and oak, on the palate the taste starts with demerara sugar, which is mixed with molasses and bitter tones of dark chocolate and various gingerbread style spices (anise, chinese anise, ginger, cinnamon), the taste continues with toffee and raisins. The finish is rather simple and dry, with a slight alcohol bite. The official site states there is no added sugar, and less than 1g/l from the barrel (sic). Overall, I like it very much, but in this price range I would expect a bit more matured blend than unaged, 3y and 5y, with longer and more complex finish. Score between 7 and 8.

Ffffff

Posted 20 days ago by MichaelNM from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

A light golden colour, cinnamon and orange smell with a hint of tobacco. Good flavour with the fire on the the throat.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

This is a fairly solid rum but the problem for me is that it doesn't stand out from the crowd. I found it to be quite sweet but not very unique and i feel that i have tasted this type of rum many times before. Worth a try though.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 467 ratings

Many thanks to Joola69 for providing me a few minis of this to try!

This is a nice, smoky rum!

Smells and tastes of tobacco, licorice, cinnamon, pepper, molasses, oak, and honey.

Not a bad rum at all, though I don't think it's great either.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Carbon from Denmark with 22 ratings

Kind of smoke, scotch-y (or funky Jamaican rum) notes on the nose up front. The actual taste is significantly milder than the smell, with the guyanese toffee notes and barbadoan smoothness. That said, it still has some bite to it (in contrast to what others have written), it's not as bland as the typical sweet spanish style rum, it definitely has a slight pepperiness and challenge to it. Not an exceptional rum, but a decent compromise for someone looking to step beyond the sweet Spanish style into the wider world of rums.

Small 26820

Posted 8 months ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

This feels a little washed down compared to how I'd imagine the original to be. It feels safer, with the distinctive characteristics of Jamaican, Guyanese and Barbadian rums cut in half.

Nice on the nose, smooth in the mouth, with a brandy like afterburn, and a long unsweetened, dry, peppery after taste.

Lacks the character I was hoping for. If you can't afford the genuine stuff, just buy Pussers.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2698 ratings

Rum tasting with my good old buddy in Hamburg during global lockdown continued onwards with Black Tot 5y. Absolutely nothing links the spectacular black bottle Black Tot 40y with the awful yellow puke color Black Tot 5y than the name. This one has an awful glue smell and taste straight to your taste buds. Awful nasty burn at the end.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 408 ratings

Aroma is light wooden. Taste is complex with combination of wood, earth and fruit. Aftertaste is average and a bit bitter.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 9 days ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 252 ratings

First note is the pale yellow color, reminds me of Plantation Trinidad or Guatemala, Mt Gay, or young Jamaican rum. On the nose a mild scent Of Demurra rum maybe Port Mourant, or Versaille still. First sip the Guayana rum comes through instantly, but not intensely, followed by sweet notes. Straight it has a bit more depth and lingers on the pallet.

This is a decent rum, better than Hamilton Navy, or demurra rums, but not worth the north of $60 price tag. I will likely not buy again.

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 30 days ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 112 ratings

taste - 8/10
smell - 7/10
sweetness - 7.5/10
price/value rating - 6/10

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Francois from France with 105 ratings

Nose is is smoky with esters and burnt sugar
Mouth with Tabacco and more smoky feeling, bit of cocoa
Short ending
Overall nice/ok