Posting your rating...
Black Tot Finest Carribean 5-Year rum

Black Tot Finest Carribean 5-Year

United Kingdom | Aged

6.7/10
31 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
15
5
1

Rate Black Tot Finest Carribean 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

31 Black Tot Finest Carribean 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by abrarey from United States with 38 ratings

This is very good rum, I think is overpriced you might get better value from another like Pusser's Gunpowder proof.
Nose: Coffee, tobacco.
Taste: Dark Chocolate, coffee.
Prolonged flavor. Will I buy it again, probably but not in my top list.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

This is a fairly solid rum but the problem for me is that it doesn't stand out from the crowd. I found it to be quite sweet but not very unique and i feel that i have tasted this type of rum many times before. Worth a try though.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Carbon from Denmark with 25 ratings

Kind of smoke, scotch-y (or funky Jamaican rum) notes on the nose up front. The actual taste is significantly milder than the smell, with the guyanese toffee notes and barbadoan smoothness. That said, it still has some bite to it (in contrast to what others have written), it's not as bland as the typical sweet spanish style rum, it definitely has a slight pepperiness and challenge to it. Not an exceptional rum, but a decent compromise for someone looking to step beyond the sweet Spanish style into the wider world of rums.

Small 26820

Posted 11 months ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

This feels a little washed down compared to how I'd imagine the original to be. It feels safer, with the distinctive characteristics of Jamaican, Guyanese and Barbadian rums cut in half.

Nice on the nose, smooth in the mouth, with a brandy like afterburn, and a long unsweetened, dry, peppery after taste.

Lacks the character I was hoping for. If you can't afford the genuine stuff, just buy Pussers.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2741 ratings

Rum tasting with my good old buddy in Hamburg during global lockdown continued onwards with Black Tot 5y. Absolutely nothing links the spectacular black bottle Black Tot 40y with the awful yellow puke color Black Tot 5y than the name. This one has an awful glue smell and taste straight to your taste buds. Awful nasty burn at the end.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 4 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

First note is the pale yellow color, reminds me of Plantation Trinidad or Guatemala, Mt Gay, or young Jamaican rum. On the nose a mild scent Of Demurra rum maybe Port Mourant, or Versaille still. First sip the Guayana rum comes through instantly, but not intensely, followed by sweet notes. Straight it has a bit more depth and lingers on the pallet.

This is a decent rum, better than Hamilton Navy, or demurra rums, but not worth the north of $60 price tag. I will likely not buy again.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by MichaelNM from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

A light golden colour, cinnamon and orange smell with a hint of tobacco. Good flavour with the fire on the the throat.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Dcorn1973 from United States with 8 ratings

Very smoky peaty smell and I get that and a little molasses with the first taste. Alot of burn on the back end which to me isn't pleasant.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 472 ratings

Many thanks to Joola69 for providing me a few minis of this to try!

This is a nice, smoky rum!

Smells and tastes of tobacco, licorice, cinnamon, pepper, molasses, oak, and honey.

Not a bad rum at all, though I don't think it's great either.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 201 ratings

Very good. I might come back and raise this to an 8. Terrific molasses and currant flavor. Cinnamon and toffee notes. Not much bite but this could be due to the fine balance. Finish is too short. A little thin on the pallet. But an excellent, flavorful, smooth sipper. Very enjoyable.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 68 ratings

"Navy style" blend of column and pot still rum from Barbados, Guyana and Jamaica
46,2%abv unsweetened and unchillfiltered
Nosing: Very strong distinct ripe banana note, vanilla, caramel, all quite traditional caribbean blend aromas.
Palate: Dry, caramel, vanilla, bit tannic or bitter on back palate, quite oaky, hint of banana

Ok "navy style", i appreciate the nonsugaring on this one and overall this is a decent rum but not one that i find interesting enough,
i feel like this rum could have been much more special and desirable for rum fans if only pot still rum would have been used (and from my knowledge that is what the historical navy rum was) it is bit too "light" and gentle for my palate and pricewise it cant compete with the likes of Pussers or Woods in the navy rum market.
Im just bit disappointed,
i dont know who this rum was meant for, it does have some merits that usually are of interest for rum aficionados,
no sweetening or chill filtering but in the end you have a product that is quite basic multi island blend,
it is good rum but very overpriced for 35€.
In the end i get a feeling that the Black Tot licence and branding was where the most focus was when making this product, sadly