Posting your rating...
Black Tot Finest Carribean 5-Year rum

Black Tot Finest Carribean 5-Year

United Kingdom | Aged

6.7/10 (17 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
7
3
1

Rate Black Tot Finest Carribean 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


17 Black Tot Finest Carribean 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by DFW.TX from United States with 24 ratings

Had high hopes for this one on just the nose alone. Actually, if rated on just the nose, I would give it a 9. Just short of phenomenal. That's where the fun ends, however. I would think, coming in at 46.2% ABV, it would have just a little more bite than the usual 40%. Uhhh, no. Not at all. This falls waaaay flat. WTF?!? I don't know what happened here but this thing has absolutely no body to it whatsoever. One of the shortest finishes I've had in a rum. Got it on sale for $48 but I'm almost regretting the purchase now. Oh well, we'll put it back it's nice little orange cylinder and move on. I should add, if not for the nose I would rate this one a 5. Live and learn.

Ffffff

Posted 23 hours ago by Carbon from Denmark with 14 ratings

Kind of smoke, scotch-y (or funky Jamaican rum) notes on the nose up front. The actual taste is significantly milder than the smell, with the guyanese toffee notes and barbadoan smoothness. That said, it still has some bite to it (in contrast to what others have written), it's not as bland as the typical sweet spanish style rum, it definitely has a slight pepperiness and challenge to it. Not an exceptional rum, but a decent compromise for someone looking to step beyond the sweet Spanish style into the wider world of rums.

Small 26820

Posted 4 months ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

This feels a little washed down compared to how I'd imagine the original to be. It feels safer, with the distinctive characteristics of Jamaican, Guyanese and Barbadian rums cut in half.

Nice on the nose, smooth in the mouth, with a brandy like afterburn, and a long unsweetened, dry, peppery after taste.

Lacks the character I was hoping for. If you can't afford the genuine stuff, just buy Pussers.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2662 ratings

Rum tasting with my good old buddy in Hamburg during global lockdown continued onwards with Black Tot 5y. Absolutely nothing links the spectacular black bottle Black Tot 40y with the awful yellow puke color Black Tot 5y than the name. This one has an awful glue smell and taste straight to your taste buds. Awful nasty burn at the end.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 336 ratings

Aroma is light wooden. Taste is complex with combination of wood, earth and fruit. Aftertaste is average and a bit bitter.

Ffffff

Posted 4 days ago by CJ1999 from United Kingdom with 56 ratings

sharp, intense. Underlying rich sweet tones. Overall 6

Ffffff

Posted 17 days ago by A1Lexo from United States with 9 ratings

Very rich. Lots and lots of molasses flavor from start to finish. Great mouthfeel, and smooth. Depth and body, and a long beautiful finish. Might not be a daily drinker because it is so flavorful, but works well for when you want something heavy.

Ffffff

Posted 27 days ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 166 ratings

Very good. I might come back and raise this to an 8. Terrific molasses and currant flavor. Cinnamon and toffee notes. Not much bite but this could be due to the fine balance. Finish is too short. A little thin on the pallet. But an excellent, flavorful, smooth sipper. Very enjoyable.

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 102 ratings

Black Tot delivers very entertaining blend here. This rum delivers solid alcohol punch - with 46.2 % ABV this should not a surprise. The relatively young components of this navy style blend are apparent on the palate, but in an entertaining way, at least for me. There are molasses on the nose, mixed with tropical fruits and oak, on the palate the taste starts with demerara sugar, which is mixed with molasses and bitter tones of dark chocolate and various gingerbread style spices (anise, chinese anise, ginger, cinnamon), the taste continues with toffee and raisins. The finish is rather simple and dry, with a slight alcohol bite. The official site states there is no added sugar, and less than 1g/l from the barrel (sic). Overall, I like it very much, but in this price range I would expect a bit more matured blend than unaged, 3y and 5y, with longer and more complex finish. Score between 7 and 8.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 245 ratings

I do a comparison with the silver seal old navy rum.

The nose of black tot is very intensive and fruity. More intensive as Silver Seal. Silver seal has a sour apple in the nose (Hampden). Black Tot has more honey and papaya (Guyana). Guyana and Jamaica are also clearly in the blend, the balance is good. For me Black tot is the winner, what a surprise.

The taste starts light and watery, a disappointment after this rich Guyanese nose. Paper, sugar cane with sweet vanilla (reminds me of Haiti or Panama rum).
After that in the middle I get some tannins from the wood, fresh apple and vanilla, the apple is from Hampden rum (Smith&Cross like). The finish is earthy with wood and vanilla, the Hampden apple is also there.
Jamaica is in the taste but Guyana is not that dominant as I like it. The finish is quite spicy. Great nose, but it promised too much. The taste is good, especially for this price, but I don't get the heavy Guyana notes. Flavors are too bright for a navy rum, I would prefer more molasses and honey. Would give it 80 points. Still a great rum, no doubt about it but I would prefer Pusser's Gunpowder proof.

Nose: backed apple, honey, molasses, young wood, papaya
Taste: watery, paper, sugar cane, sweet vanilla, young oak with bitter notes
Middle: apple, tannins with papaya, some honey, wood
Finish: spice, barrel and earth, apple, white oak, paper
Aftertaste: apple (Hampden)

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 3/5
Spice: 3/5
Mildness: 3/5
Complexity: 3/5
Value (34€): 4/5

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 200 ratings

Not like any other I have. Nose of mixed fruit with a little sharpness. The taste also have some kind of fruit but the best thing is the taste of licorice with a twist of pepper. I like that it is not too sweet and gives me another experience than other Rums. It is probably an 8 than a 9 but I will give it the benefits of doubts.