Posting your rating...
Tanduay Dark rum

Tanduay Dark

Philippines | Aged

7.1/10 (17 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
2
3
1
1
5

Rate Tanduay Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


17 Tanduay Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ec1c5f502fd815cf7a03c0a8ac4fd746.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

I was fortunate enough to get an opportunity to visit the Philippines. While there, I spent my time in the central islands away from the bustle of Manila. As stated by other reviewers, Tanduay Rum is super cheap on the islands and was the go-to liquor for locals. Tanduay Dark, which has a strange hue of reddish orange, is definitely not a smooth sipper. It has a sweetish ethanol smell and could be described as an alcohol flavored rum. Quite harsh all around with a glimmer of sweetness trying to escape the flames of gasoline. The locals created some interesting "cocktails" to cover the burn. One variation that I found enjoyable and memorable was called "Reggae Reggae", a mixture of Nestea Powdered Iced Tea, Calamondin juice (small limes found in Southeast Asia) and an overly generous amount of Tanduay Dark. Although not a top shelf rum, Tanduay will always remind me of that great time when I almost died in the Philippines.

6c34036f6175742fe5825338405a2ce4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

The classic rum of the Phikippines. Found almost anywhere for less than $2 a bottle. Can't expect much at this rate. It is drinkable with cola.

4bca56358a4cb89117790439ade04451.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Boyett57 from United States with 1 rating

It's has multi awards in the world
The best of the best in all the rums...

80d440d120fb1bf27fc477971717061f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Hospitable drinks from Netherlands with 4 ratings

This Rum is a spicy dark Rum with an amber colour. At first the rum tastes very peppery with a smooth and soft sweet aftertaste. Tanduay Dark is a beautiful dark Rum that stands out in a Rum & Coke or even better Rum & Tastings Gingerale, but can also be enjoyed on the rocks.

Ce31851810a9b87b49cf8f31d69ac408.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Wim Hengelmolen from Netherlands with 1 rating

The color of this Rhum is reddish dark brown, it's a strong 80% smooth to drink Rhum with a good after taste. I like to drink it on the rocks, pure in the glass with some ice. This rhum is hard but proven good, no problems in the morning. It can compete easily with the great names like Bacardi Rhum, I appreciate its taste even more. it's alcohol content is much higher and very affordable.

Bacdd8ed8fd62e9e23d6f06997d33088.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Marsellus1 from Canada with 3 ratings

This version is Tanduay is their 'basic' rum...a 750ml bottle locally in the Philippines costs less than $2...hence, everyone drinks it....locals prefer to sip and chase with Coke...not a connoiseur's dream as its 80Proof will only let you have so much before your body signals warnings...nonetheless, a classic rum in its own right...

A9f88b26c61d6c2e7479643a45b93874.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by WW from Netherlands with 32 ratings

Ordered a drink at a Phillipine hostel and the rum was only sold per bottle. For the price it was good, we even bought a couple more bottles.

A984cef158ebd17da9031b27957e7a22.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by williamsprokkereef from Netherlands with 8 ratings

I could not believe that this $ 5,- rum (in Philippines) is this good!

12ed51c119d70dc15b5191208ed82060.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Heavily coloured, dark and sugary - simple is what comes to mind. Sugar & molasses, nothing more. I know it is a very cheap rum but still.

96ec7d4f19a9ba8f98043d563df98c0f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by justjeff from Australia with 1 rating

I had not had rum for 30 years, I had had too many times on Bundaberg Rum from here in Queensland Australia.
Well my friend in the Philippines said try this, it is not like your usual that you are used to...
I totally enjoyed the rum & took as many bottles home with me as I could, I wish I could buy it here in Oz...
Looking forward to my next visit there...