Posting your rating...
Takamaka Bay St Andre 8-Year rum

Takamaka Bay St Andre 8-Year

Seychelles | Aged

6.1/10
33 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
8
10
8
5

Rate Takamaka Bay St Andre 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

33 Takamaka Bay St Andre 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Diogenes the Rumantic from France with 37 ratings

Belle robe, mais rien de bien notable pour ce rhum. Aussi vite oublié qu'il est bu...

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 4 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 217 ratings

Had only a sample so this is just a first impression, but I don’t think I will come back to it.
It’s a quite young distillery. The company was formed 2002 and started the export in small scales 2013 at first.
They use sugar cane from the farmers on the island. The sugar cane is crushed to get the cane juice which is distilled in both column and pot stills, but they don’t call it Agricole cause they say their methods is different from how they do it in the French Antilles. The aging is done in various previously used American oak barrels for 8 years whereafter it’s blended. There’s also some unconfirmed data that they also use rum not produced on the island in the blend.
I think that the best thing about this rum is the aroma which is very nice, in the mouth it is then quite bland but it’s easy to drink.
Recognizeable aromas and flavors is vanilla, marmalade, oak and notes of spices.
Picture: My emptied sample.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Harald from Germany with 37 ratings

Trois Frères Distillery
La Plaine St. André, Mahé
Takamaka
St. André
Aged 8 Years
40%

Country of origin: Seychelles

Color: Old Gold

Nose:
Faint and sweet with aromas of raisins and caramel. Furthermore there are notes of sandalwood and cider vinegar.

Palate:
Mild, light and almost tasteless. With quite some efforts I manage to taste toffee, oak and vanilla. Furthermore this rum is a little spicy (white pepper, jalapeños).

Finish:
Medium long, dry and slightly spicy.

Summary:
I love to remember my vacation on the Seychelles ... but this rum leaves a lot to be desired. At least it appears that there was not much sugar added.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Joosef from Switzerland with 7 ratings

Feiner, leichter Taste; sehr angenehm im abgang; leicht süss;

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Adrian Adame from Czech Republic with 354 ratings

- vůně velmi příjemná, jemná, vanilka, skořice, dřevo a med
- chuť jemná, částečně nasládlá, kopíruje vůní
Velmi příjemný 👍, prodávat se do max 30 Eur, stál by za nákup

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Nielf from Denmark with 157 ratings

Meget fin rom, der dog aldrig kommer helt op at ringe.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 76 ratings

Very absent nose with, after what seems hours of sniffing, some light fruits and floral notes but very little that suggests (as the website states) 8 years of oak aging. There is a little oak on the palate accompanied by the same fruits and flowers of the aroma. Not sure if this one is really dry as everything tastes a little bit rounded up and very easy.
Easy drinking untill you take its pricetag into consideration; all in all a rather characterless rum to please all for a premium price. Forgettable, not only afterwards but also while consuming.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 146 ratings

I went into this one with little to no knowledge about it beforehand. That can either give you a pleasant surprise, or answer the question of, why you have never heard about the rum before.

Nose: Pepper, syrup, sugar cane, honey with a backbone of flowers
Taste: Vanilla, honey, almonds and caramel with a thin and uneventful aftertaste
Overall: This rum gives me nothing. It is fine for what it is, but it is to expensive for that to be okay. Not a good bang for your buck, but can be drunk if there is nothing else available.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by M. Geisser from Switzerland with 43 ratings

So, it was a bit of wood but a lot of herbs after all. Would drink it again maybe even as a mixer because it would add some edges to a cocktail.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by GroumpH from France with 32 ratings

Un nez un peu trop plat, sentant l'alcool.
A la dégustation c'est moins marqué que ça, beaucoup de goûts différents, mais aucun dominant.
Note de vanille en fond de verre.

Small v%c3%bdst%c5%99i%c5%beeks

Posted 1 year ago by Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 136 ratings

Docela ostrá chuť, která mi není moc po chuti. Mám raději sladší runy. Nicméně přátelům docela chutnal.