Posting your rating...
Barbancourt 3 Star 4-Year rum

Rate Barbancourt 3 Star 4-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


41 Barbancourt 3 Star 4-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Danny from Belgium with 18 ratings

Un haitien... Forte présence de vanille. Bcp de corps mais moelleux malgré tout. Rond comme il se doit.

Posted over 2 years ago by Len from United States with 3 ratings

This was the first rum that reminded me a bit of a Scotch. It is strong, but also sweet and oaky.

Posted about 3 years ago by Peter from Estonia with 92 ratings

There are no words. Similar taste with Stroh, only less alcohol.

Posted over 3 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

Strong very decent but strong as hell , not great and fun

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

For just a few dollars more you can get the much better 5-star 8-year-old version. This 3-star rum is 4 years old, and has a very thin, grassy taste. I used to put it in Mai-Tais along with a dark Jamaican, but there are so many better-tasting, aged agricoles out there. Not a terrible rum, just really unnecessary.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 116 ratings

Ne pas boire seul! Il y a de bien meilleur produits sur le marché pour bien moins cher.

Posted 3 months ago by Cdiaz from United States with 6 ratings

Not a lot to compare it to, but it wasn't horrible. Stronger cane flavor which I expected. Grassy, some funk.

Posted 3 months ago by Smovens from United States with 87 ratings

This is an interesting, solid rum. It is a lot more harsh and fusely than the 8, and for a minimal price difference, I’d definitely get the 8 every time.

Posted 4 months ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

like i said just was want to taste some more of bacardi, cute i can't believe it so shitty. And this is another lol content from that label. Taste like alcohol, nothing special, but well, in fact i was drunk and have fun. thats why i post 4, not 1. But really guys!!!!!!!! can some one appeal form me an bacardi rum that is tasty?

Posted 5 months ago by cK from Canada with 60 ratings

It’s reasonably enjoyable neat. I would like to try the 5 star and 15-year, because they’re probably much better for that.

Posted at Hale Pele 11 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Not been a fan of Barbencourt, but it of course gets worse with less age.
Rubbing alcohol.

Posted about 1 year ago by mrakoplas from Slovakia with 35 ratings

Menej kompkexny ako jeho starsi bracek. Chut sladka (hoci bez pridaneho cukru), trava, med, jemny s teplym dozvukom. Za mna 7+

Posted about 1 year ago by johnrullan from Puerto Rico with 21 ratings

Barbarcourt 3 star’s aroma is distinctive , it is exquisite to savor after dinner with its full body, french caribbean aroma and dark color flavor. Excellent price-quality rum

Posted over 1 year ago by CSG from United States with 23 ratings

Picked this one up on an end of bin clearance to try my first anything from Haiti. High-end mixer, yes, but can’t drink it straight up. Nose is complex with oak and smoke, but taste is just too much alcohol and also very little mouthfeel.

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

I have gotten wrapped up in my theory that 3-4 years is optimum aging for rhum agricoles. Since I have their 5-star 8 year and like it, I figured that this lesser aged one could be better. Wrong! The 86 proof really burns the tongue and it needs to breathe for about 30 minutes to be able to drink neat. My theory may hold for Martiniquan agricoles, but not for rhums from Haiti.

Update one month later: All this rhum is good for is mixing with ginger ale similar to my same recommendation for Angostura 5 Year.

Posted over 1 year ago by John Smith from Canada with 37 ratings

Ok avec du thé glacé ou du coke. Pas très bon sur glace.

Posted over 1 year ago by Ricardo Knight from United States with 10 ratings

I picked up a few of these bottles when iI was in Haiti a few years ago and forgot about them in the back of my bar, I did not miss much. The initial nose is a little flat, and too much burn to smell anything else. If you try hard you will find some tobacco, leather and vanilla. The initial tase was sugary but gave away to bitter and burn too soon, it finished up with some sugar cane. As a sipper it did not cut the mustard, but it was fine in a mix drink.

Posted about 2 years ago by can from United States with 1 rating

I Remember all my memories were good with this drink. a 3 star Rhum I would not miss but the 5 stars is a thing to miss. my haitian friends first offered me this drink at their house in Boston, when I was 19. a non drinking age for that state. when I go to liquer store checkin out all the good beers I must say this rhum calls me like Jumanji. $23.although I drink red label and as I age I can drink hard liquer, 4 star haitian rhum is always has a character and my drink of choise in rhum on the rocks.... ı prefer bacardi and fresh coconal make the juie myself to make pina colada. u will understand when u go to a caribbian party with the food..everybody drinks Rhum barbancourt and prefered beer. it is a cultural summer drink. for the price it is a fun original bottle always in my basket.

Posted about 2 years ago by RumGuy from United States with 22 ratings

This is a nice rhum. I will admit it is my first agricole but I can't say there is anything bad or offensive about it as others seem to.
The nose is alcohol, no doubt about that, but its a young, light, agricole so can I pretend to be surprised? no.
Palate is nice and has complexity and development. It drinks almost like a whisky, initially soft and round with some light caramel notes as well as a bit of brown sugar. There is also a kind of hard to place sharp-sweet flavor going on, kind of a super light funky sugar cane taste on the mid-palate. Finish and aftertaste leaves this little (tiny) funk and sugarcane as well as a slow and subtle burn which is actually quite nice.
Overall, it's a fine rum, seems to be a nice intro into the style and the region. It's not mind-blowing but it is what it is. I wouldn't seek it out to sip unless youre really a connoisseur of the style but I do think it's very nice as a one-time sip and a mixer for tiki or craft cocktails. Wouldn't put it in a cuba libre or anything like that... it isn't THAT bad.

EDIT: After trying other agricoles this is the most subtle. Honestly not a good representative of the style but decent in its own right.

Posted over 2 years ago by Niklas from Sweden with 69 ratings

Luktar konstigt, smakar konstigt, ok eftersmak. Blanda om du måste dricka

Posted over 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

43% ABV. Pot still. Cane juice. Nose: Hint of creamed corn. A good amount of brine. Some oak. A savory note I can't place. Hint of something medicinal. Caramel underpinning it all. Fairly creamy. If you breathe really deeply, some alcohol. Many of the same notes follow on the palate. Shortish finish.

I was fairly impressed by this one. It's quite good! I truly can't understand the low rating (5.2 at time of writing). Are people expecting a rich, creamy, sugar-and-vanilla delivery mechanism? That's not what this is trying to be. And certainly, in my opinion, it punches above its weight. Barbancourt 3* is an excellent, affordable, and widely available introduction to agricole-style rums.

7+, 8-

Posted over 2 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

Definitely not as complex and tasty as the 5 Stars but deserving a higher average rating than 5.0 at the time of my tasting. For those who prefer sweet rums, this is NOT for you. I, however, like my rums neat and dry and this fits the bill. Some refer to the taste of Barbancourt 4 yr rum as being somewhat reminiscent of Brandy or Cognac, neither of which I am familiar with. I rather enjoy this rum as it is also different than most I am familiar with. Now, if I could only get my hands of their 15 yr version!

Posted over 2 years ago by Joseph Blossman from United States with 40 ratings

This is one of those bottles that I'm glad to say I have had and will never get again.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

What a disappointment the Barbancourt 4 year old rum. I have tried over 700 aged rums over the past 15 years and this is amongst the worst of them all. This is rat poison disguised as an "aged" rum!

The top 10 worst rums I have ever tried:
1. Barbancourt 4y / 8y / 15y
2. Bounty Dark Rum from Fiji
3. Stroh 40 / 80
4. Plantation Pineapple Stiggin's Fancy
5. Villa Rica 23y
6. Mocambo 15y / 20y
7. Captain Morgan different variations
8. Don Papa 10y / 15y
9. Bacardi flavored "rums", all of them
10. Kraken rums