Posting your rating...
Captain Bligh XO rum

Captain Bligh XO

Saint Vincent And The Grenedines | Gold

Captain Blight XO rum is made from fermented molasses that's imported from Guyana. It's aged for up to 10 years in ex-Bourbon casks.

Captain Blight XO rum in made on the foothills of La Soufriere Volcano in St Vincent and fermented molasses that's imported from Guyana. It's distilled in 2-column stills, and then aged for up to 10 years in ex-Bourbon casks.

Captain Bligh XO rum is named after the British Royal Navy officer William Bligh, known for a famous mutiny that took place in Tahiti in 1789. After been set adrift by his crew, Blight navigated a small boat on a 2 year voyage to Britain and reported the mutiny to Admiralty.

7.2/10
23 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
11
6
3

Rate Captain Bligh XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

23 Captain Bligh XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 484 ratings

A nice rum that has delicate flavours of vanilla and rum ... A decent product but quite right around the edges ... Still a nice sipper mixer rum

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 139 ratings

I am a great fan of this rum. Initially I was put off by a screw cap, but that obviously doesn't affect the contents. The nose is relatively light with hints of oak and vanilla - pencil shavings. On the palate, the fruit is weightier and the oak and vanilla carries through but there is a good hit of alcohol. Being truthful there is a merest hint of a rough edge, but it is appealing none the less and very much adds to the character and is soon forgotten, although it does help add to the length of the oaky finish. A very, very nice easy rum. Well priced as well. Definitely worth a try if you haven't had it before.

Edit - I have a couple of bottles in the rack at the moment, and both have gone hazy. I must confess to not knowing whether chill-filtration takes place as it does with whisky, but presume that having been bottled at 40% this is the reason for the haze. Not that it afffects the taste, just the appearance and I can look past that.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

This is very similar to Bajan rum's such as Foursquare and Mount Gay.

This is the most aromatic appealing rum I have ever sipped. The flavour isn't bad. It seems to add a little extra twist to the already fantastic Bajan rum experience.

A fantastic rum at under £30!

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 82 ratings

Captain Bligh XO tastes a bit like a marriage between Bajan rum and Chairman's Reserve, both rums that I like. The nose gives a clear presence of alcohol, some vanilla, spiced caramel and oak. On the palate the rum is very dry despite its sweet fruity flavour and there is a strong peppery oak present from start to finish. The alcohol is also very present (despite just 40% ABV), making it a bit fiery but never harsh or burning. It is good stuff no doubt but I would expect more complexity at this pricepoint; lots of tastes in here but no layers and the taste hardly changes from the first sip to the last bit of taste in the medium long finish. At €35 I do demand more from a rum but it is no punishment drinking this, it is really nice.

Ffffff

Posted at The Rum Bar KL over 3 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

Interesting flavor on the nose. Aroma of buttery banana bread/ cake with milk chocolate, toffee and sweet spice (vanilla). Light woody aroma towards to end. Didn't expect such flavorful aroma on the nose.
Fruity pineapple tart with butter crust yet it's dry on palate. Accompany with flambe banana, vanilla syrup and toasted wood flavor.
Light and short finishing which I find it a let down, yet savory and dry.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Peter Kalnai (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 34 ratings

Beautiful taste for a very friendly price. It's definitely not very sweet, but a little smoky instead (if that's the right adjective). Anyway, this is a perfect choice if you spent a few sleepless nights dedicated to work and you like to release yourself.

Ffffff

Posted 16 days ago by Glen from United States with 54 ratings

A lot of skill and effort went into this and it taste great. Recommended as a supper, maybe a really fancy cocktail.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Fireonerum from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Drank a fair bit of this in 2019 in Barbados. Really enjoyed it. Not too much of a burn and just the right amount of sweetness. Have a bottle that a brought back with me and it’s always a go to when the sun is shining.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

Maybe, everyone like this. It is midium light body, mild and creamy taste. There is a little rubber aroma.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted over 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 220 ratings

This one has been on my wishlist for a long time after a sample test long ago and now I finally got me some bottles.
It doesn’t disappoint this time either, I really like it.
It has very nice flavour and it’s dry, fruity and oaky in mouth. The afterburn is also nice and quite long.
There are definitely similarities with Bajan rums as I saw somebody else had written.
A very nice rum to a very competitive price!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2746 ratings

Enjoyed 2 glasses of Sunset Captain Bligh XO while in London. Boring bottle and label design. Light golden color. Unmatured alcohol straight to your nose and palate. Vile burn at the end. Even a mixer does not mask the nasty flavors Captain Bligh packs!