Posting your rating...
Stroh Original 80 rum

Stroh Original 80

Austria | Flavored

3.1/10 (108 ratings)
Serious improvement needed

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
24
23
14
18
15
5
3
4
2

Rate Stroh Original 80

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


108 Stroh Original 80 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by SAUR E. SAUR from Canada with 25 ratings

This is the only rum I have spit instantly into a Kleenex as going to the sink would be too far. And I was in the kitchen.

Tastes like sore or strep throat spray medicine. Absolutely junk. Would rate it with a minus if possible. It makes the Brugal I rated a 5 seem like a 99.

Absolute garbage. Do not buy. Stay away. Cannot find any redeeming qualities.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Stroh 160 Tasting Notes:

Aroma: Used bowling shoes. Fresh horse urine. Burned Christmas ornaments.

Taste: Charcoal briquette lighter fluid. Plutonium-90. Soil. Toffee.

Finish: You're kidding, right?

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

As others have mentioned, it's hard to even label this as a rum. It's an overproof alcohol with some mix of flavours going on, but any taste is almost immediately lost to the inevitable burning of cheap alcohol. Avoid.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 153 ratings

Rum or not - that is the question. But it burns all the way down..

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Is it or isn't it a rum? Debatable. One source says it's made from "sugar cane by-products" (whatever that is) and another source says it's made from sugar beets.

Before I share my views on this...er..."rum"...let me explain that I am also a chili-head. That is, I love hot sauces. However I know my limits. You're not going to ever see me eat a Carolina Reaper pepper....ever...nor slather on a lot of hot sauce made from the Carolina Reaper pepper, the hottest pepper on the planet reaching as high as a little over 2 million Scoville units (for comparison, the typical jalapeno ranges from a mere 2,500 to 10,000 Scoville units).

Well it's the same for rum...especially this "rum"...or whatever you want to call it. At 160 proof it's double the ABV of typical rums. In fact, the neck label on my bottle reads, "CAUTION FLAMMABLE".

The aroma in the bottle hints of vanilla extract and maybe caramel. The lower label on my bottle reads, "Rum with artificial flavor, certified colors (FD&C yellow #6, FD&C Red #40, FD&C blue #1 and FD&C yellow #5" so it is possible they used some sort of vanilla extract or artificial caramel flavoring. The color is sort of a dirty orange reminding me of some bad cough medicine my mother gave me...uh...forced down my throat when I was a kid.

On the tongue...uh...my tongue got somewhat numb sampling it straight. I THINK I detected some vanilla and sweetness but I can't be sure. However I think it removed a layer of tissue down my throat. I shudder to think what my stomach lining is going through.

I have had worse rums than this but I have had more better rums. Frankly, this Austian-based "rum" is way overpriced. I wanted to try a bottle since I have read a lot about it so my curiosity got the better of me.

DEFINITELY NOT A SIPPING RUM!!!

No duh!

I do plan on trying some...a small amount...in some Coke Zero sometime...not tonight...and perhaps also with some orange juice to see if that helps.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Andi from Germany with 70 ratings

Stroh Rum eignet sich eigentlich nur für Heissgetränke.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Daniel Flamaropol from Romania with 25 ratings

It's hard to review this as if it was actual rum, because it's arguably not. It does taste great with coke and can drink you under the table if you're not careful. Works amazing with hot drinks, hot chocolate or tea and it's great at low temperatures.

Not something you'd drink in a club or on a sunny terrace.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 241 ratings

Fullbodied fruity nose with notes of rum essence. The palette is very powerfull and brings emense heat, but you can sense a few fruity, barrel, rum notes underneath the burn. It's better then the 60%vol stroh, but still the dominant flavou seems to be rum essence. Should be reserved for hot cocoa after a day on the slopes.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Piotr from Poland with 41 ratings

Yes, yes... it's Austrian not Carribean, it's waaaay overproof, it's not even "real rum" as some say, but still... it has quite nice aroma imho when mixed with cola, and when mixed 1:1 it has a surprising smoothness given it still keeps then a robust 40% on board! Thus a perfect drink if you want to feel a pleasant effect quick and without consuming volumes. Not to be sipped or drank straight quite obviously, unless you are a robocop... or a Polish student :)

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jab from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

This rum is like an emergency shot you take, when you need to warm quickly or get wasted. Or get it on some dried fruit. Then it is good. Not useful as a sipper of course.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Samurdavidov from Latvia with 60 ratings

No words...
it just good if you need to kill someone, but poison is already finished.
Do no, but if you wona try this one, keep sure you have grapefruit juice. It’s only way to survive after this “80c kick to your stomach”.