Posting your rating...
Stroh Original 80 rum

Stroh Original 80

Austria | Flavored

3.1/10 (110 ratings)
Serious improvement needed

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
25
23
14
18
15
5
3
4
2
1

Rate Stroh Original 80

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

110 Stroh Original 80 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by DrNovelo from Mexico with 27 ratings

No sé cómo le pueden llamar rum a ese jarabe contra la tos? De sabor horrible y no combina con nada!
No tengo nada en contra de Austria solo q se quedaron con el penacho de Moctezuma, pero este rum es malísimo y no tienen idea de lo q es un rum!

Small img 20200430 195740

Posted 7 months ago by Noname from France with 46 ratings

Je n y ai trouvé aucun plaisir.
Forte perception de solvant, toutes sensations cassées par la puissance de l alcool... Ce n est pas du rhum

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 7 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 232 ratings

Bought a bottle once Rum from Austria how unique. Would only break it out to get old friends HAMMERED. I do remember butterscotch notes with 100 octane gasoline. Guess it’s cold in Austria or they just like to hurt themselves. I guess we finally finished the bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 451 ratings

If you love cough syrup then this rum is for you , one of the worst I have ever tasted

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Cjbspender from Germany with 35 ratings

This is no rum, only a flavored spirit. The 80% ABV make it stand out but not better.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by gerben de lange from Aruba with 15 ratings

fun to watch the reviews here for this particular rum, and if you are a connaisseur it's probably best you don't touch this one with a barge pole. but it's me, the guy that likes rum and coke. i'll touch anything just to try. and this one i tried quite a bit back in the day. it's just rocket fuel when drinking neat, that's why the big "80" is on the bottle, so you know. but when mixing with coke it's pretty damn nice. and you only need a tiny bit of it to get the flavour out. goes really well with hot tea, chocolate milk. good stuff, even though it's not 'THE' good stuff.

edit note: was really for the 160 proof stroh. that's the rocket fuel one.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 64 ratings

I first drank this stuff on our family trip to Austria in 1978, different laws about coming to age back then! Under current european law this is not a rum but it got its own status as 'inländer rum' . Nowadays made from molasses (again, by law) but they used to make it from sugar beets.

Taste, color, it is all achieved by additives and as far as I know there is little riping going on; cheap alcohol brought to life (?!) with additives. This should only be used to drink pure (or even watered down) when you are very desperate. But it is not its purpose at all, it is meant to be used in the kitchen (pastry) or added to hot drinks like coffee, tea or chocolate and for that it will do.

So for everyone using rum in the kitchen who is not willing to use the good stuff from your kabinet this is a cheap way to leave your precious bottles untouched.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by George from Canada with 28 ratings

I don’t agree with the poor ratings but to each is own. You don’t need a lot of rum, I mean jet fuel to do the trick. The flavour is chocolate like and is actually smooth. Long nose. I would say it’s a good complementary rum when you’re tasting unique blends.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by tomisjiri1 from Czech Republic with 3 ratings

Great rum for mixed drinks, it is not to great for a shots. You can feel oranges but alcohol is No1. As a Jagertee it is great options for drinking. Enjoy it!!!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 93 ratings

Etwas künstliche Aromen, sehr stark und natürlich gut zum mixen.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Taster from Switzerland with 114 ratings

The strongest one in my collection (80 vol-%, 160 degree) Not the badest idea after a long day of riding your board in freshly powdered mountains. But be warned: This one is
not considered to drink neat according to the label on the bottle. It’s therefore often used to power up a cup of tea and in all kinds of pastry.
Nose: strange, not recognizable as rum
Palate: quite burning, syrupy, but not as disgusting as expected when sipping neat. And yes, I had worse liquids calling themselves being a ‚rum‘.