Posting your rating...
Stolen Gold rum

Stolen Gold

New Zealand | Gold

5.6/10 (10 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
4
2
1

Rate Stolen Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


10 Stolen Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 201 ratings

A bit of bite at the start and a good finish with no harsh afterburn. This is a really good rum and very good value for money. As a sipper 8 / 10 and as a mixer with ginger beer , slice of lime and ice (as indicated on the bottle) also 8 / 10.
At present only available in NZ and Aus , on a slight down side the new bottles are not as flash as the one pictured !! Keeping the cost down i suppose.

Ffffff

Posted about 7 years ago by Neville from New Zealand with 1 rating

The distillation and aging process takes place in Trinidad where the rum matures in oak barrels for a minimum of four years before it is carefully blended by hand. The result is butterscotch and cinnamon spice aromas on the nose with a smooth and buttery finish in the mouth.

I must admit I have not always been a major drinker of rum, but since I moved to NZ and discovered the Stolen brand I have been increasingly converted away from my usual Whiskey & Bourbons

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Had two glasses of Stolen Gold Rum while vacationing in Wellington NZ. Low key bottle and label design. Locally produced in New Zealand from Trinidad base. Gold color. Strong oak, cinnamon, vanilla and pure unaged alcohol to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Strong and dry burn at the end. Better mixed than neat sipped.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Lloyd from Australia with 30 ratings

I have tried on multiple occasions to sip this neat and with mixers and have always come across this lackluster flavour profile. The rum does have some subtle cinnamon, charred vanilla and nutmeg tones however they seem to die down very quickly. The rum has potential if there was a longer ageing process. 4/10

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

These guys have a lot of work to do. Their product just isn't there. Maybe some charcoal filtering? I don't know but this is the second rum I've tried from this company and its just not happening.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by B.P.O. from Netherlands with 53 ratings

I've been trying to get my hands on this little number for a while. Upon a resent visit to NZ I finally did.
The color is in the name.
Smell: Very faint aromas.
Taste: With very light caramel, with a touch of smoke. A little warmth as it trickles down

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Shane from New Zealand with 2 ratings

A good gold, especially at this price. You can tell it was aged in whiskey barrels. It was a lot sharper than I had expected. Also great in a mix with gingerbeer.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by TIE-BONE from Germany with 33 ratings

This drink comes only with fine notes and aroma. The nose is only slight with fruit, toffee and vanilla. The taste also with fine but distinguished aromas, like toffee. The bitter aftertaste stays only short as well.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Myrthe from Netherlands with 31 ratings

Special brand for sure! Though I wouldn't recommend the Stolen spiced rum (with coffee beans!), that one had a too specific flavour for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by MalB from Australia with 12 ratings

I am really impressed by this Rum. From a price point of view locally it was at the bottom end of the scale with a palate closer to the top end.

Smooth and flavourful without being overpowered with caramel or Oak tones, converted two whiskey drinkers and a bourbon drinker last time we busted it out at a party. Neat, straight or if you have to mixed, this is a great edition to try.