Posting your rating...
St. Nicholas Abbey 12-Year rum

St. Nicholas Abbey 12-Year

Barbados | Aged

8.6/10 (11 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
3
3

Rate St. Nicholas Abbey 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


11 St. Nicholas Abbey 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 194 ratings

Sugar: 0 GPL. This is Rum in it's purest state with nothing added. Simply the best. Perfectly balanced and extremely smooth rum. It smells like fresh honey harvested from a field of clover. Aside the honey, I detected some fruit, perhaps mango and a touch of banana, also present was oak, vanilla, baking spices, and a little bit of smoke. As mentioned this is perfectly balanced rum, with no harshness at all, very soft on the palate accompanied by an enduring warmth in your throat and chest.
Put this rum on your bucket list of rums!
Travel note: If you are in Barbados, you can call or order online from the St Nicolas Abbey Distillery and they will deliver to your hotel or condo.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 159 ratings

A truly Bajan Rum! It has it all. Must be one of the best Bajan rums. Do I need to change my top five shelf? Feel that I have to taste the older ones. The only problem is the price.
Picture: My Bajan shelf & my bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Alaska Joe from United States with 34 ratings

My first impression of this elixir of the Gods was to marvel at it’s amazing color, beautiful! I noticed great body on the pour, amazing bouquet, sweet and pure. The 12 year old version is quite a bit more mature than the 5 year old, smooth with a little heat at the end. The balance of the sweet and floral notes is almost like a song in your mouth. The finish is what really seals the deal, sweet and smooth with a lip tingling sensation that seduces you into another pour. An amazing bottle to add to you collection, can’t wait to try the 18 & 20 y.o. offerings! This is a butt hair shy of a 10! I am in Love!!

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Michael from United States with 5 ratings

a finely balanced aged rum, generally smooth and with plenty of natural flavors accenting the rum taste. not overly refined or too artificially sweet, pretty darn good straight up but would be very nice in strong rum cocktails that doesn't hide the rum flavor (like a ti punch). a little pricey but worth it if you buy on-island. until recently it was only available on Barbados but still hard to find and at a premium in the states. I put this a few steps above Pyrat XO, and maybe closer to a more balanced 12 yr old Appleton. (this is significantly improved from their 8 or 10 yr old rums. but if you go there just for rum, splurge for the 15 year old!)

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

The 12 yo is nothing but fantastic, it has deep flavors and so good it should be reserved for sipping but if you mix with it, make sure you chose a type of cocktail where the rum is allowed to shine, like the Mai Tai and a stunning Mai Tai it makes...The nose is warm, rich and fruity with a touch of spices, wood and caramel. It´s like it tells you – taste me…In the mouth it`s a journey into the land of what a really great rum can be…it´s such an explosion of flavors completely filling your mouth..

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 309 ratings

Floral aroma, first taste is fruit with sour tones. Body not very complex, but nice aftertaste with peach bitter average long aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

A quality rum, with a vegetal, slightly creamy taste profile. No added sweeteners or essences here, just a great base spirit, and aging in quality barrels. Enjoyable indeed.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Teis Madsen from Denmark with 114 ratings

Anderledes end de mange andre jeg har smagt, men helt klart på den gode måde. meget frugt særligt en æble/blomme eftersmag. meget afbalanceret i forhold til sødme og mildhed. Den får mig lyst til at prøve 15 & 18

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Enjoyed a glass of St. Nicholas Abbey 12y and 15y back-to-back while vacationing in Paris. Okay bottle design, but could be much fancier taken into consideration its price. Color is amber. Very strong whisky flavors to both nose and palate. A hint of burn at the end. I like my rums dark and sweet.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Light bronze colour. On the nose, we are on the woody, dried fruits, hazelnut, vanilla, brown sugar, blond tobacco. In the mouth, it is very sweet, with butter, milk chocolate, crème brûlée. The finish is woody, very long, very soft but with a little smoky side. Nice rum.