Posting your rating...
St. Nicholas Abbey 10-Year rum
St. Nicholas Abbey 10-Year rum

St. Nicholas Abbey 10-Year

Barbados | Aged

8.3/10 (17 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
10

Rate St. Nicholas Abbey 10-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


17 St. Nicholas Abbey 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

736590314cfb41ca7ad84b543834a1a4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Been waiting to try this rum for a long time.
Even had the bottle for half a year before getting around to taste it as I was saving it for my birthday.
It was surely worth the wait.
For me this is a traditional rum, abit dry, can taste some banana, leather and some slight wood.
First sip reminded me off Doorly's, but it has more to offer.

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Although this is a Bajan rum made at Seale's Foursquare distillery it is more delicate - and yet more nuanced - than his other, more traditional molasses -based elixirs. Whereas St. Nick's 5yo reminded me of a sunshiney summer day, this 10yo gem says "autumn". It's a slightly richer gold color, and the flavor carries savory tones of fruit and fall spices. I love it.

C07365c264e4702a75d831ad5c46aac9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

I was fortunate to find the St Nick 10 Year on a winter trip to the Canadian Rockies - an unexpected catch. I've been reading about this rum since starting my journey several years ago, so the build-up has been fierce...and St Nick did not disappoint. However, if you've been lulled to sleep by modern - and the strictly non-traditional (read: sweet, syrupy) - rums taking over the market, this one might not be your cup of tea. I'm just gonna say it: This rum is for whiskey drinkers. It's got a gorgeous nose with far more earth than I expect from high-end rums recently, and the mouthfeel and swallow both have that rounded touch of heat more closely associated with a high-quality grain spirit. Yet this is unmistakably rum, with all the magical scents and flavors (some partly hidden!) that set rum apart. Presentation is off-the-charts - five years from now mere tap water is going to taste better coming from this bottle. Net: put me solidly among St Nicholas Abbey fans. I can only hope I get more chances to find it.

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 310 ratings

I went to a very well stocked rum bar this afternoon and they had this one listed on their web page. Lucky me, they had it in stock. I told the barmaid that the only other way to get it would be to visit the Abbey in Barbados. I had high anticipation on my half ounce pour.

This was easily the lightest in color of all three pours. Appleton 21 was a lot darker and Blackwell Reserve was even darker. I was expecting this one to come in first, then the Appleton 21, then the Blackwell's. Nope! It wound up the other way around. This was clearly the dullest. Yes it was smooth with minimal discernible flavors, but the burn at the back of my throat was very pronounced. I am never one to complain about rums that burn, but burn is the only thing to stand out on this rum. I am being very generous giving this rum my rating of 7.

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 232 ratings

A lovely fruity nose. Slightly sweet with fresh notes of pineapple, banana, vanilla, hazelnuts and a bit of wooden lacquer. The medium bodied palate is smooth with the same notes found in the nose alongside earthy tobacco. The finish is discretely spicy and long. As with it's siblings, the balance is absolutely excellent and there's obvious family resemblance, especially to the other foursquare productions.

3d47552e1a3e6da6f980f4fc9d8295d6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

We visited the Abbey and got a bottle of this engraved for us. It is such a great tasting rum. Too bad I finished the bottle.

38fdc1cc00a9074ddaebecec187e9a27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 0-5 GPL. Dry but smooth. Similar colour and taste profile as the 5 year old version. This one has a bit more oak and smoke from the bourbon cask aging and is also very smooth. I think the 5 year vintage is a better value, but you cannot go wrong with having any or all of the St Nicholas Abbey rums in your collection. All of the St Nicholas Abbey rums are dry and smooth and need some airing out in your glass to let all the flavour out as they are a dry rum with no sweetness added. Waiting for a special occasion to open the 8 year old and complete my review of the entire line.

Ec2492d5580637b8ff3a6654e0841e5e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 157 ratings

Visited good friends of mine and while discussing Rums, my buddy opened a bottle of St. Nicholas Abbey 10 yr. rum. I was already familiar with the 8 and 12 yr offerings so I had a pretty good idea what to expect. The 10 yr rum is not as complex as the 12 yr but definitely a top notch rum, so smooth. As with all of the St. Nicholas Abbey rums this version is pure and contains no additives. Unfortunately those who enjoy sweetened rums won’t appreciate this product as much as I do.

The only negative comment I have refers to the cork itself, which was so dry that it fell apart while opening the bottle. Nevertheless the rum itself is definitely above most rums I have tasted so far.

72177fb7f32be433169ec568cd2d4359.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

A very nice light rum. Not sweet and not over powering. I have been waiting a while to open my bottle but decided no better time like the present.

414f4d5ba4b70d47f4e1beb09fb7a3d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

This is impressive. Amazing aroma. Delicate and balance. Similarly the flavours compliment each other. Only managed to get a sample of this but will be on the look out for a bottle of this. Will be hard since this version has been discontinued :(

3ce07723e3972d92e188717cb5b859ad.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Gareth J from United States with 8 ratings

This is a great rum in both the nose and flavor you definitely pick up an impression of brown sugar no surprising considering kit not made from molasses, dried citrus fruit is very apparent, there is a nice alcohol warmth rather than burn followed by sweet toffee aftertaste that lingers long after the drink has gone. This is an ideal after dinner rum.