Posting your rating...
Saint James Vieux rum

Saint James Vieux

Martinique | Gold

5.4/10 (25 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
6
4
6
6
1

Rate Saint James Vieux

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


25 Saint James Vieux ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by guewen from France with 97 ratings

Un rhum se rapprochant du cognac...a essayer...rien a voir avec le st james blanc !

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by qjetinac from United Kingdom with 1 rating

4 yrs old - very nice smell and color, totally authentic taste of sugar cane - so typical for agricole rhums. I love it. It is a bit stronger while including only 42% alc.,
but idealky sweet at the same time. I like drinking it after tough days at work, though. Definitelly, it can be recommended!!

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by KaemonAwa from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Had the pleasure of drinking some agricole rhums directly at Martinique, this one is a huge surprise! I don't care girls think it's too harsh, this if what agricole should taste like, even though finish could be more interesting. Won't screw up your mixed drink, even though I wouldn't pick this one purely for mixing, but you people know how thinks work once it's late in the night.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Mikedub from France with 26 ratings

Un rhum intéressant pour cette gamme de prix. Pas mauvais.

Ffffff

Posted 23 days ago by hammer640 (PREMIUM) from United States with 10 ratings

Wasn't really in my wheel house. Liquor forward and not a bunch of depth. Not horrible either, Save it for the cocktails

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 427 ratings

I love agricole for the delicious grassy notes and fresh feel you get from it . This is kind of combining a young oak barrel aged rum and agricole and simply is not what agricole is about ... I may revist this in a ti punch to see if it's any better

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 195 ratings

First you get a very simple nose, I get some citrus and pepper and some sugar cane.
The taste is not very balanced. Some aromas are too weak some are too strong.
Because of this disbalance I rate it 6.

Smell: citrus, pepper, some sugar cane, floral notes, earth
Taste: paper/grasy note, vanilla, citrus, some bitterness
Finish: spice, medicine, light sweetness and white fruits
Aftertaste: fuity and better than the nose and the taste

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Fruit: 2/5
Spice: 3/5
Mildness: 3.5/5

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Andero from Estonia with 95 ratings

tried it when visiting the distillery. Pretty smokey in mouth and not very desirable to drink on its own. Probably a good mixer, but given the price tag, there are much better alternatives (Neisson, HSE, Dillon blanc etc.).

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Francois from France with 82 ratings

Poor sippper but good mixer.
If you really want to sip it, lot of ice is recommended

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Got a bottle of Saint James Vieux from a local grocery store on my last night here at CDMX. Bottle and label design looks very nice and unique. Strong alcohol from the sugarcane method and such a burn to your nose and palate. This is not a neat sipper due to such a strong burn, so mix it up with your favorite soda.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Cuvelierl from Belgium with 28 ratings

Classic French style Rhum agricole from Martinique with a Smokey dry taste. Great dark colour with a not to strong nose. Sipping gets you hints of wood, vanilla and a subtle alcoholic taste.