Posting your rating...
Saint James Royal Ambre rum

Saint James Royal Ambre

Martinique | Gold

5.2/10 (100 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
10
8
12
17
26
19
2
2
2

Rate Saint James Royal Ambre

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


100 Saint James Royal Ambre ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Legru Fabian from Belgium with 20 ratings

Ce rhum dégage des notes épicées de cannelle mais assez sec en bouche.
Comme j’aime les rhum plus sucrés, je l’apprécie avec du jus d'ananas

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by KaemonAwa from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

This rum comes with the standart rectangular bottle, nicely done, nothing too fancy yet still very stylish in my opinion. The producer states it is aged up to 24 months and contains 45% vol.

The colour is amber (it is no surprise), not too dark but still quite full, doesn't just leave an impression of coloured water. In a glass, it has very clean structure, when I twirl or tilt the glass, I can see thick legs slooowly running down but leaving a visible trace.

The aroma starts with general sweet grassy and cane feel. I swear I could also smell something reminiscent of a certain flowers, can't say which ones. After that, notes of honey and vanilla appear here and there, burnt sugar and if you try really hard, you can catch a small moment of oaky undertone, really minor in comparison to Saint James 12 y. o.'s which really smells of wood and leather. I really recommend to let this breath in the glass, the aroma spreads and it is very pleasant, unless you literally stick your nose half an inch above the glass and inhale as hard as you can, in which case you smell some alcohol traces, too.

The taste in the mouth starts with quite strong burn followed by spices, vanilla, slightly sweet taste finishing with heavier wooden taste, perhaps even some nuts. This spreads into your nose. The finish and afterburn is quite agressive, quite short and not really too memorable, rather uninteresting and perhaps bit dissapointing, do not like the taste in the throat but I guess it is a debt to be paid for the interesting and enjoyable smell and aroma.

In a cocktail this is an absolute blast, it is good rum to sip too, but not for everyone, and there really are better rums to sip. I would say you cannot go wrong with this, but it isn't the best bottle for really special occasions or nice afternoon with your beloved lady, might be too harsh for her.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by rhum boogie from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

A very smooth aged agricole, very much more mellow than it's white cousins, worth having on the self.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by manah from Israel with 15 ratings

Goog rum.
It's one of my favorites. Sure, I drank it more, than others.
Good taste and good aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Ovret from Finland with 3 ratings

Nice square bottle with details
Dark shade liquid
Distinctive harsh odor
Punching beginning
Oak warming mid taste
Lenghty after taste, oak

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

The taste of Martinique but not quite the standing

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Benjamin from France with 57 ratings

One of these good value for money rums you can buy from supermarkets in France.
Of course this is not for sipping on its own but more for cocktails.

Pretty decent taste for a mass market Rhum Agricole.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Benja M77 from Belgium with 17 ratings

Pas vraiment fan de ce type de rhum très sec, pas de saveur particuliaire..moins désagréable en mix certainement...pas fan du Rhum agricole.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by kosmik from Canada with 15 ratings

Aucun intérêt pour lui-même, éthylique au nez, terrible en bouche. Pour les mix essentiellement, et encore.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Kristof from Belgium with 36 ratings

It's not smooth and rather punchy. Don't like the flavour

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by dany from Canada with 2 ratings

It's a taste of the island, sweet and sugar cane accent.