Posting your rating...
Saint James Royal Ambre rum

Rate Saint James Royal Ambre

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


96 Saint James Royal Ambre ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 3 years ago by KaemonAwa from Czech Republic with 37 ratings

This rum comes with the standart rectangular bottle, nicely done, nothing too fancy yet still very stylish in my opinion. The producer states it is aged up to 24 months and contains 45% vol.

The colour is amber (it is no surprise), not too dark but still quite full, doesn't just leave an impression of coloured water. In a glass, it has very clean structure, when I twirl or tilt the glass, I can see thick legs slooowly running down but leaving a visible trace.

The aroma starts with general sweet grassy and cane feel. I swear I could also smell something reminiscent of a certain flowers, can't say which ones. After that, notes of honey and vanilla appear here and there, burnt sugar and if you try really hard, you can catch a small moment of oaky undertone, really minor in comparison to Saint James 12 y. o.'s which really smells of wood and leather. I really recommend to let this breath in the glass, the aroma spreads and it is very pleasant, unless you literally stick your nose half an inch above the glass and inhale as hard as you can, in which case you smell some alcohol traces, too.

The taste in the mouth starts with quite strong burn followed by spices, vanilla, slightly sweet taste finishing with heavier wooden taste, perhaps even some nuts. This spreads into your nose. The finish and afterburn is quite agressive, quite short and not really too memorable, rather uninteresting and perhaps bit dissapointing, do not like the taste in the throat but I guess it is a debt to be paid for the interesting and enjoyable smell and aroma.

In a cocktail this is an absolute blast, it is good rum to sip too, but not for everyone, and there really are better rums to sip. I would say you cannot go wrong with this, but it isn't the best bottle for really special occasions or nice afternoon with your beloved lady, might be too harsh for her.

Posted over 6 years ago by rhum boogie from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

A very smooth aged agricole, very much more mellow than it's white cousins, worth having on the self.

Posted over 7 years ago by manah from Israel with 15 ratings

Goog rum.
It's one of my favorites. Sure, I drank it more, than others.
Good taste and good aftertaste.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

The taste of Martinique but not quite the standing

Posted over 4 years ago by Benjamin from France with 57 ratings

One of these good value for money rums you can buy from supermarkets in France.
Of course this is not for sipping on its own but more for cocktails.

Pretty decent taste for a mass market Rhum Agricole.

Posted over 4 years ago by Benja M77 from Belgium with 17 ratings

Pas vraiment fan de ce type de rhum très sec, pas de saveur particuliaire..moins désagréable en mix certainement...pas fan du Rhum agricole.

Posted over 4 years ago by kosmik from Canada with 15 ratings

Aucun intérêt pour lui-même, éthylique au nez, terrible en bouche. Pour les mix essentiellement, et encore.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kristof from Belgium with 36 ratings

It's not smooth and rather punchy. Don't like the flavour

Posted almost 5 years ago by dany from Canada with 2 ratings

It's a taste of the island, sweet and sugar cane accent.

Posted about 5 years ago by YvesW from Belgium with 21 ratings

Cheap rum, harsh and fiery... Closer to an armagnac or a cognac than to the aged/sweet rums I'm used to sip. Never found the "notes florales légèrement épicées et délicatement fruitées" elsewhere than on the label. At that price, could be interesting when mixed but that's not my way of drinking rum...

Posted over 7 years ago by John from United States with 2 ratings

My all time favorite. Best rum to drink straight up.

Posted 17 days ago by Marco Forlani from Italy with 20 ratings

A honest agricole rhum, ideal for cocktails, in particular ti punch. It has a nice caramel background taste.

Posted about 1 month ago by TempleOfSunset from Italy with 32 ratings

This was my first agricole rum, not quite for sipping alone thou. I guess it is better for mixing and it has an industrial alcohol note that I don’t quite appreciate... hope other agricole get better than this, this have quite traumatized me to sip it alone. Even if the style is floral, it has a sharp and saline note that is characteristic of Martinique style. Affordable. I have to try with a more expensive agricole to really know if the style is not for my palate or this bottle is just ok/ so and so at best.

Posted 3 months ago by Wousa from Cyprus with 3 ratings

Why oh why did the french try to make rum. Not worth the pricetag at all

Posted 3 months ago by cK from Canada with 60 ratings

Definitely a complex flavour profile with lots there. Definitely too harsh for sipping and probably better in a mixed drink.

Posted 4 months ago by frozen from Canada with 10 ratings

Don't get the low ratings.... I think it has great flavour. Grassy, vegetal, over ripe banana. Perfect for Ti'punch which is big on martinique and is basically their version of the old fashioned.

Posted 6 months ago by eddieo from United States with 91 ratings

The paille style rhum agricole is perhaps the most dubious, as it rests just a bit and doesn't pick up a heck of a lot of character compared to the vieux, nor does it impart the fieriness of the blancs. I've found a good one here or there (Pere Labat's gold hits the mark nicely), but this one is somewhere in the middle. Still citrusy and young enough, with more peppery bite than the Imperial Blanc, but the distillate flavor common in mass produced heavy congener rums makes this a little less enjoyable - it's akin to Ron Barrilito 3 star, without the sherry cask notes and clearly agricole on the palate.

Posted 8 months ago by Matto980 from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Can be a little drain cleaner-esque if the mix is too strong

Posted 10 months ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

45% abv. I did approach this rhum with trepidation as the Reserve wasn't very pleasant but this was a lot worse. Started off ok , nice dark amber colour in the glass with a nose of caramel and slightly fruity notes.. then I swirled the glass and it changed its flavour profile to the smell you get when the tides gone out !
A cross between salt water and rotting seaweed.. it really took me by surprise ! This smell unfortunately transferred into the taste , I just couldn't get past it.. drowned it in cola just to finish.. yuk !

Posted 11 months ago by mrakoplas from Slovakia with 35 ratings

Nuz moj prvy agricole rum, ktory mi pripomenul, ze na mojej rumovej ceste som iba na zaciatku. V chuti alkohol a tráva, lieskove orechy, nič pre začiatočníkov a teda zatiaľ ani pre mňa, staci, ale pridat limetku, trstinovy cukor a ľad a hned to je 6++

Posted 11 months ago by Tim from Canada with 55 ratings

Use when an agricole is called for in mai tai, etc. Decent ti punch

Posted about 1 year ago by darkmanso from France with 27 ratings

Un bon rhum pour les planteurs et autres cocktails.

Posted about 1 year ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 46 ratings

Has those typical agricole qualities, citrusy, grassiness, acidity, alcoholic kick, this is not as acidic as white acricoles though and has bit too much unpleasant alcoholic taste even if mixed, some oakiness can be found.
Nothing special, works well enough in tiki cocktails like three dots and a dash but im sure there is more mature and complex options available too.

Posted about 1 year ago by nichaos from Greece with 77 ratings

Σαν πολύ αυστηροί δεν είστε εδώ στο rumratings !!!!!!! αναλογικά με τα ρούμια που έχω βαθμολογήσει με 7 ίσως να είναι λιιιιγο πιο κάτω. Ήμουν ανάμεσα στο 6 με το 7 . Σίγουρα δεν έχει διάρκεια και ένταση .... Αλλά .... Λίγο η ιδιαίτερη γεύση του, το όμορφο μαγαζί, οι ωραίες μουσικές που έπαιζε, οι cult καταστάσεις που συνέβαιναν ακριβώς πίσω μας και ..... η Μαγική Νάξος στις Αρχές του Μάρτη ..... Βοήθησαν να πάμε την βαθμολογία προς τα επάνω. 7ρακι λοιπόν για ένα άξιο δοκιμής ρούμι, χωρίς όμως να περιμένετε ..... παπάδες