Posting your rating...
Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year rum

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Haiti | Aged

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year Rum is agricultural, meaning it's produced from fermented sugar cane juice rather than the more typical molasses. The sugar cane juice is double distilled and aged for eight years in Limousin oak barrels.

Dupré Barbancourt created the Barbancourt rum recipe in 1862 in Haiti, where the rum is still produced today. A French national, Barbancourt incorporated traditional French methods including double-distillation in the process.

6.6/10(186 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
7
7
12
40
59
41
11
3

Rate Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

186 Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Excellent on all fronts for sub $30. Bottled at 43% which makes it a great sipper. If I were to fault it I would say it's a bit generic and lacking a wow factor. But really it's far to good and enjoyable at it's price point to care about such a minor and petty thing.
It’s also an all around brown rum substitute. It can be perfectly used in any drink that calls out for brown rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joe Tortorello (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

Light brown, pleasant aroma, pretty good for a relatively inexpensive rum. Very decent sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 100 ratings

This is a very good starting point in the carribean rum enlarged family. Barbancourt 8 is smooth, easy to drink, with very tipical notes from its 8 years aging in french white oak barrel. It's lacking originality in my opinion but it's a nice sippper.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

An 8 year old Rhum Agricole that has more in common with molasses based Rum than the Martinque style Rhum produced from fermented sugar cane juice.

Appearance is light golden. Honey like sweetness aromas & vanilla. Overall a more molasses based notes on the taste with some vegetable/grassy (agricole like) notes nearer the end. An oaky peppery finish.

This is a great entry for those that want to move into agricole style rhums. Amazing value for money. I like this a lot and it makes a great Haitian (Barbacourt) Sazerac.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 126 ratings

J'adore ce rhum pour les drink. Excellent. Pas trop sur l'alcool.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 213 ratings

Fara pretentii, un rom tanar, simplu, cu arome slab conturate. Probabil in mix-uri e bun..

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 423 ratings

This is a interesting stuff, very fresh, vegetables, suave, almonds, nuts and herbal. Good aftertaste

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 67 ratings

Nice marriage between wood and cane, fruits and oak.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

Just ok. It's smooth but just not as flavorful as other rums I that price range. I think I will stick with the Barbados and Jamaican rums.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Joseph Blossman from United States with 40 ratings

What can I say about this. I mean, I really didn't know what to expect about this one, after trying the 4 before this I drank 2 or 3 glasses of water to rinse my mouth out before pushing through to the next sample. I did notice a significant difference from the 4 and 8. Mostly because this one wasn't just an earthy harshness as the 4 was. This rum has a raw spice to if with sweet tones masked underneath. Not a bad rum, just not at all my style. Needs and ice cube however.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by poosu from United States with 38 ratings

This was one of my experimental bottles. Good rum in a crowded price point. It holds it's own but does not stand out. I'm not a connoisseur but I drink a fair amount of aged rum. This one is fine but so are a lot of others.