Posting your rating...
Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year rum

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Haiti | Aged

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year Rum is agricultural, meaning it's produced from fermented sugar cane juice rather than the more typical molasses. The sugar cane juice is double distilled and aged for eight years in Limousin oak barrels.

Dupré Barbancourt created the Barbancourt rum recipe in 1862 in Haiti, where the rum is still produced today. A French national, Barbancourt incorporated traditional French methods including double-distillation in the process.

6.6/10 (185 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
7
7
12
40
59
40
11
3

Rate Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

185 Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Excellent on all fronts for sub $30. Bottled at 43% which makes it a great sipper. If I were to fault it I would say it's a bit generic and lacking a wow factor. But really it's far to good and enjoyable at it's price point to care about such a minor and petty thing.
It’s also an all around brown rum substitute. It can be perfectly used in any drink that calls out for brown rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kair from Canada with 17 ratings

Good. Yet too much of an alcool burn. Not as sweet and vanilla as I like. Missing some molasses and such.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Wrong, noooop, this could be better. Come on now, just say no.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Aiden from United States with 11 ratings

Barbancourt 8 Yr is the rum that made me realize I didn't like agricoles. I call it the Ocitamolpid (reverse Diplomatico) because it is too dry. Too woody and earthy for my taste. I also find that the alcohol taste is emphasized too much. I'd pass on this one.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Calmar from Russian Federation with 25 ratings

Цвет - Тёмный янтарь.

Аромат - Сдержанный, влажный, травянисто-тростниковый, слегка спиртуозный, зелёные бананы, шоколад.

Вкус - Маслянистый, слегка водянистый, тростник, шоколад, какой-то усреднённый - по сладости, пряности, мощности, всего понемногу и ничего в итоге, no guts, как говорят наши англоговорящие коллеги.

Послевкусие - С этим вообще плохо, слабое, быстро угасающее, одномерное, тростниково-травяное.

Вывод - Ни рыба ни мясо, не коктейльный, конечно вариант, кола здесь не потребуется, но какой-то особой радости тоже нет от этого рома.

Оценка - 5/10

Small 2020 05 01

Posted over 1 year ago by m keating from United States with 33 ratings

In all fairness I did not understand what Rhum Agricole is about. So to me this was not as sweet as I prefer and had too much burn with little aftertaste but alcohol.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

Nose was funky, the initial scent was actually not very pleasant and did nothing to help the first sip. This rum has a very light taste, almost sweet, without any body, Not a sipper, just ok as a mixer but will probably be okay as a blender. I liked it but there are better options out there in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Amauri from United States with 29 ratings

Not a sweet rum. Strong kick. Good taste for sipping. Nice aroma and color as well.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by mrakoplas from Slovakia with 35 ratings

Skvelý agricole rum z Haity za výbornú cenu, vo vôni trocha trávy, či dubového dreva, jemný.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Fanounou from United States with 1 rating

Last night I opened the case of Barbancourt 5 star I had asked my niece to bring me from Haiti last Thanksgiving 2018. I poured a whole bottle in the bowl of Krémas I just made. Normally, 1 bottle should have been more than enough if not overkill for the amount of Krémas I made, but all I got was a thinner Krémas without the taste or smell of rhum. After a 2nd bottle resulted in more Krémas without the benefit of added alcohol, I poured it in a larger container and added a 3rd bottle with more or less the same result that it finally occurred to me that something is definitely wrong with the rhum.
I took an empty bottle to my nose and smelled nothing. I opened a 4th bottle and poured some in a glass. It was almost clear with a hint of amber, the beautiful aroma I’ve always loved was missing and it looked like I added a little rhum to a glass of water which is exactly what it tastes like. It’s really a shame that today I have to go buy some other good rhum in addition to more ingredients to bring the Krémas back to life! Very frustrating and a total waste of money!

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 358 ratings

Way back in the late eighties during leaner times when travel was preferred over fine rums (which were not even available back then), this was my occasional "luxury" rum. My usual ones in those days were Cruzan Gold, Appleton V/X, and Pusser's Navy Strength. In those days, El Dorado, Diplomatico, Pampero, and the like could not even be found on shelves in my area. The complete Barbancourt line of rhums could easily be found in French speaking Louisiana. They were not cheap, so this here 8 Year Old was always my "luxury rum". I had absolutely no idea back then why the difference in taste was due to it being an agricole rhum aged in Limousin oak casks. I just knew that it was totally different from all of the other rums that I had tried at the time.

So why have I waited so long to try this one again? The reviews that mention smoke and "after the quake" decline in quality threw me off. Recently trying their 15 Year old neat at a bar also did not help. So after carefully studying all of these reviews again, I figured that there was less than a 25% chance that I would wind up with a bottle from a bad batch. I took the $27 gamble on this bottle and brought it home along with two pricey aged rhum agricoles from Martinique. This one easily beat those other two and I really lucked out on my new bottle of Barbancourt.

Just as I remembered it, it is very buttery and delicate with no smoke flavor whatsoever. The burn is kept to a minimal. The aroma is more floral than grassy, as well as the taste. Had I rated this one back then, it would qualify as a perfect 10, but these days I have found many more rums that are better, even if they cost much more.