Posting your rating...
Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year rum

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Haiti | Aged

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year Rum is agricultural, meaning it's produced from fermented sugar cane juice rather than the more typical molasses. The sugar cane juice is double distilled and aged for eight years in Limousin oak barrels.

Dupré Barbancourt created the Barbancourt rum recipe in 1862 in Haiti, where the rum is still produced today. A French national, Barbancourt incorporated traditional French methods including double-distillation in the process.

6.6/10 (180 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
7
7
12
39
57
38
11
3

Rate Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


180 Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Excellent on all fronts for sub $30. Bottled at 43% which makes it a great sipper. If I were to fault it I would say it's a bit generic and lacking a wow factor. But really it's far to good and enjoyable at it's price point to care about such a minor and petty thing.
It’s also an all around brown rum substitute. It can be perfectly used in any drink that calls out for brown rum.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Smovens from United States with 94 ratings

This rum is pretty delicious. It has strong oak flavors but not overpowering. Reminds me of Appleton 12 with a hint more complexity and bite from the agricole

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Tim bascombe from United States with 14 ratings

Great stuff lots of flavor good and drinks but actually not bad on its own.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by eddieo from United States with 95 ratings

Please don't be fooled, just because this is made from sugarcane juice (as opposed to molasses) and Haitians have a heavy French cultural influence, it's not rhum agricole. It doesn't even remotely resemble it, I'd rather hear someone incorrectly guess a cachaça as a rhum agricole than this. OK, now that this is out of the way...

I consider this to be the best of the Barbancourt lines, it has a good flavor profile that strikes similarities to Spanish-style rums (Think Havana Club 7yr) and some hints of fresh sugarcane, although the ferocity of the true aguardiente is long gone from the barrel ageing process. It's got more body and character than the 4 star, and probably appeals to whiskey/scotch/bourbon drinkers in that it tastes like that barrel. Mmmm, old charred wood.

Recommended straight or on the rocks if you can't score good aged Cuban rums in your sphere of influence (*ahem* USA), or used as a reliable aged rum cocktail ingredient, on the higher proof side, but nowhere near overproofs. It'll add just enough heat without burning...

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by iana from Canada with 11 ratings

I would say this is more a mixer than a sipping rum

A bit too much oak for my taste

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 45 ratings

This is one of my favorite mixers for a rum and coke with mexican coke. Biggest its a dryer rum it goes extremely well with the real sugar in mexican coke. It also has a nice complex flavor that comes with an aged rum. Good for the price

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kair from Canada with 17 ratings

Good. Yet too much of an alcool burn. Not as sweet and vanilla as I like. Missing some molasses and such.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Wrong, noooop, this could be better. Come on now, just say no.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Aiden from United States with 11 ratings

Barbancourt 8 Yr is the rum that made me realize I didn't like agricoles. I call it the Ocitamolpid (reverse Diplomatico) because it is too dry. Too woody and earthy for my taste. I also find that the alcohol taste is emphasized too much. I'd pass on this one.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Calmar from Russian Federation with 25 ratings

Цвет - Тёмный янтарь.

Аромат - Сдержанный, влажный, травянисто-тростниковый, слегка спиртуозный, зелёные бананы, шоколад.

Вкус - Маслянистый, слегка водянистый, тростник, шоколад, какой-то усреднённый - по сладости, пряности, мощности, всего понемногу и ничего в итоге, no guts, как говорят наши англоговорящие коллеги.

Послевкусие - С этим вообще плохо, слабое, быстро угасающее, одномерное, тростниково-травяное.

Вывод - Ни рыба ни мясо, не коктейльный, конечно вариант, кола здесь не потребуется, но какой-то особой радости тоже нет от этого рома.

Оценка - 5/10

Small 2020 05 01

Posted over 1 year ago by m keating from United States with 33 ratings

In all fairness I did not understand what Rhum Agricole is about. So to me this was not as sweet as I prefer and had too much burn with little aftertaste but alcohol.