Posting your rating...
Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year rum

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Haiti | Aged

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year Rum is agricultural, meaning it's produced from fermented sugar cane juice rather than the more typical molasses. The sugar cane juice is double distilled and aged for eight years in Limousin oak barrels.

Dupré Barbancourt created the Barbancourt rum recipe in 1862 in Haiti, where the rum is still produced today. A French national, Barbancourt incorporated traditional French methods including double-distillation in the process.

6.6/10 (185 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
7
7
12
40
59
40
11
3

Rate Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

185 Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Patrick from Switzerland with 24 ratings

In my collection, the description follows later. I have to taste it again.

Small screenshot 20201129 112551 gallery

Posted 6 months ago by Lawson from United States with 64 ratings

It's OK. No complexity on the nose and as a sipper no flavors standout. It is certainly dry. The dryness does not mean a negative connotation to me. It's a fair sipper on a summer day.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Foggyrumrunner from Canada with 47 ratings

The nose is not terribly assertive but reveals the influence of cognac barrels, complemented by some of the characteristic agricole grassy/herbal note - it is not overpowering at all. The palate is more interesting again, with mild, balanced spice and wood flavours that build to a crescendo reminiscent of the fantastic taste one gets in the crunchy, burnt sugar topping on creme brûlée. A note of marzipan goes out with the fairly long finish. What an elegant rhum! It is polished and balanced. I would happily choose this as a sipper at the end of a great meal shared with friends. A very serious rhum.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Justinpie from United States with 13 ratings

This was a nice rhum with a molasses vibe (which is odd since it doesn't use that method), but I guess I assumed I'd be really wowed by the age and price. There's a very forward "grassy" taste to it, which is not my thing but I assume others may enjoy it. On the upside, it's very smooth.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 199 ratings

Smooth. I easily rate this 7.4. Nice bite with notes of citrus and grass. Earthy and crisp. Nice long lingering finish. Excellent neat. Very nice rhum. The best thing is without all that molasses and sweeteners there is no doubt you are actually drinking rhum and not some prefabricated franken-liguor.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 159 ratings

Pas comparable avec son preit frère , 4 ans. je ne m'attentais a rien et il m'a bien surpris. A dégusté sans glace.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by HotSpicyDisco (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

Used for Trader Vics Mai Thais when hosting parties, not great for sipping neat.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Daniel.delvalle from United States with 19 ratings

About the same as Bacardi's 8 year, but for some reason i like it better. Not really anything that stands out about it. Has some minor notes of molasses. Good to mix with seltzer and a fruit slice to being out the sugar cane qualities.my bottle looks different than the bottle on the website here.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This rum is very smooth but lacks any defining character.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Brt1982 from United States with 10 ratings

I'm generally not a fan of agricole rhum my opinion is it lacks substance but this one is well complimented by its oak barrel but at the end of the day it's still an agricole and if I wanted that true taste like spirits in oak barrel I would be a whiskey drinker.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by xrodriguez from United States with 20 ratings

Really enjoyed this rum. Comes in nice after a bit on the rocks. Also mixed well