Posting your rating...
Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year rum

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Haiti | Aged

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year Rum is agricultural, meaning it's produced from fermented sugar cane juice rather than the more typical molasses. The sugar cane juice is double distilled and aged for eight years in Limousin oak barrels.

Dupré Barbancourt created the Barbancourt rum recipe in 1862 in Haiti, where the rum is still produced today. A French national, Barbancourt incorporated traditional French methods including double-distillation in the process.

6.6/10 (180 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
7
7
12
39
57
38
11
3

Rate Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


180 Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 434 ratings

A bit too harsh on the aftertaste ..... Nice to sip but wouldn't purchase if I had the choice ... It's like a mix between spiced and aged that doesn't quite work

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by HotSpicyDisco (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

Used for Trader Vics Mai Thais when hosting parties, not great for sipping neat.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Daniel.delvalle from United States with 19 ratings

About the same as Bacardi's 8 year, but for some reason i like it better. Not really anything that stands out about it. Has some minor notes of molasses. Good to mix with seltzer and a fruit slice to being out the sugar cane qualities.my bottle looks different than the bottle on the website here.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This rum is very smooth but lacks any defining character.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Brt1982 from United States with 10 ratings

I'm generally not a fan of agricole rhum my opinion is it lacks substance but this one is well complimented by its oak barrel but at the end of the day it's still an agricole and if I wanted that true taste like spirits in oak barrel I would be a whiskey drinker.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by xrodriguez from United States with 20 ratings

Really enjoyed this rum. Comes in nice after a bit on the rocks. Also mixed well

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Yves Calvert from United States with 4 ratings

Decent Agricole Rhum but lacking in sophistication; definitely needs to be refined. Good enough, however , to use as a mixer or to cook with.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by AlohaRover from United States with 11 ratings

Light color, smooth taste. A bit bland. I wouldn't get it for my own bar but it's good for a night out

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Skyvie from United States with 37 ratings

Rhum agricole is great as a change from the ordinary molasses-based rums out there and this one is smooth and satisfying. Crisp flavor with very little aftertaste. Strong notes of vanilla and banana. Maybe a little less complex than others. Strong "spirit" ethanol smell and burn. Definitely worth trying out.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 53 ratings

I wanted to like this. The smell is nice with vanilla notes and slight citrus. The first taste is immediate spice and alcohol. There seems like maybe there are some citrus undertones there but really the alcohol just overwhelms everything. The burn lingers and overtakes the aftertaste to where I get nothing but heat. That’s unfortunate. Hopefully I can find a good agricole that isn’t overwhelmed by the alcohol burn.

Nose: 7
Palate: 4
Aftertaste: 5
Smoothness: 4
Versatility: 7
Price: 4

Total: 5.1

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by RumMouse from United States with 3 ratings

Smooth neat. I can’t afford the high end shit so this so far is as good as it gets for me. I have to be careful or else I’ll finish the bottle and sleep for 24 hours