Posting your rating...
Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year rum

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Haiti | Aged

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year Rum is agricultural, meaning it's produced from fermented sugar cane juice rather than the more typical molasses. The sugar cane juice is double distilled and aged for eight years in Limousin oak barrels.

Dupré Barbancourt created the Barbancourt rum recipe in 1862 in Haiti, where the rum is still produced today. A French national, Barbancourt incorporated traditional French methods including double-distillation in the process.

6.6/10 (185 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
7
7
12
40
59
40
11
3

Rate Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

185 Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

This is a interesting stuff, very fresh, vegetables, suave, almonds, nuts and herbal. Good aftertaste

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by DougDoesNotCare from United States with 38 ratings

This one has a very oak-forward flavor with hints of vegetal flavors, vanilla, and a hint of sweetness. Not my favorite, but not bad in cocktails.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 3 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 232 ratings

This was my morning email and I realized it’s a rum I never tried, even though I’m not a Haitian rum fan. First I didn’t like the scent lots of alcohol on the nose, then color is a light yellow gold color, lighter than I like. Now tasting neat, smoke, very little sweet, some fruit funk, and just a warming burn that doesn’t go away. Kind of medicinal, or what you might want trapped outside in a snow storm. Not finding this mildly redeeming. I’ll try it again after having to rub dust off the bottle. Don’t even think I can finish my initial tasting. Can only come up with a 5, almost went 4.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by JohnyBazooka from Czech Republic with 58 ratings

Obyčejná láhev, hliníková zátka, výborný rum uvnitř.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by iaramphal from United States with 9 ratings

Haven’t tried many rums like this and think this one is ok. No issues really to sit and drink it. May need to get accustomed to the different taste from the different process used to make it. Smooth enough, but finding I’m having some astringency after it goes down.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Komatus from Slovakia with 34 ratings

Very drinkable Haitian piece for reasonable price for 8-years aged one

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Drossmania from United States with 21 ratings

Mellow with honey as the dominant aroma and flavor. Not overly sweet - nice balance. I enjoy this neat when I’m not looking for a complex flavor bomb.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by chuck from United States with 25 ratings

I really enjoy this rum. It is great on its own or in cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by steveinny from United States with 36 ratings

Quite nice. Try it. Tasty spirit and not too sweet.

Small img 20200430 195740

Posted 6 months ago by Noname from France with 46 ratings

Rhum à découvrir, plutôt bon que ce soit sec ou en ti vieux. Vraiment à essayer

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Pmrp from United States with 10 ratings

I got this as an introduction to the Agricole style—reading it was somewhere between the sugar cane spirit and the typical molasses-based rum. I was initially perplexed by the nose—had a harsh acetone vibe that dominated much of the more familiar aged rum notes. Not expecting much, I was pleasantly surprised by the caramel, fruit, and grassy nuances at the top and its smooth, almost soft development as a sipper. But where it really shines is in a Mai-Tai, split with either Smith & Cross or a Demerara rum. Still haven’t tried a true Agricole, but I’m liking where this is heading...