Posting your rating...
Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year rum

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Haiti | Aged

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year Rum is agricultural, meaning it's produced from fermented sugar cane juice rather than the more typical molasses. The sugar cane juice is double distilled and aged for eight years in Limousin oak barrels.

Dupré Barbancourt created the Barbancourt rum recipe in 1862 in Haiti, where the rum is still produced today. A French national, Barbancourt incorporated traditional French methods including double-distillation in the process.

6.6/10 (180 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
7
7
12
39
57
38
11
3

Rate Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


180 Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

This is a interesting stuff, very fresh, vegetables, suave, almonds, nuts and herbal. Good aftertaste

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by torgo from United States with 12 ratings

At first, I was suspicious of this rum, driven perhaps by its bargain price (around $25/750mL), but by the time I got the the bottom of my first bottle, I was back to the store for more.

It's the rum I go to, even for sipping, when I don't feel like dipping into my stash of anything fancier. By far, not my first choice for sipping, but wholly adequate. Still very smooth on the way down, and only a slight nose of varnish to it.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Ricardo Knight from United States with 10 ratings

I tend to fine Haiti runs a little rash for sipping, so i was happy when this initial mouth feel was round, and smooth, but it gave away quickly. The nose was mild, but there was no alcohol burn. There was a hint of leather, banana and a little tobacco. The taste had light sugar throughout, with mild bitterness in the end. It was not bad, but nothing to write home about.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 41 ratings

Great stuff. Obviously not as good as the 15, but it’s pretty clear the barbancourt guys know what they’re doing.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by kventin from Hungary with 29 ratings

..nos,ez egy remek kis 8éves ital, olyan rendezettek benne az illatok és az ízek.Fűszeres ,tölgyes, pici vanilia..de illatában és ízében is VISSZAFOGOTT...viszont torokban már ÉREZNI hogy magasabb az alkoholtartalma mint az átlag !! Valahol ez a kettősség jellemzi a rumot !!! Finom , vagány az üveg :)

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by andrea from Italy with 17 ratings

Al naso non regala sentori particolarmente dominati,arriva fatto l'alcool a coprire tutto. In bocca subito forte l'alcool che lascia il posto a pepe e erba verde. Il finale non é granché e lascia un po di amaro in bocca

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by DougDoesNotCare from United States with 38 ratings

This one has a very oak-forward flavor with hints of vegetal flavors, vanilla, and a hint of sweetness. Not my favorite, but not bad in cocktails.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 2 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 206 ratings

This was my morning email and I realized it’s a rum I never tried, even though I’m not a Haitian rum fan. First I didn’t like the scent lots of alcohol on the nose, then color is a light yellow gold color, lighter than I like. Now tasting neat, smoke, very little sweet, some fruit funk, and just a warming burn that doesn’t go away. Kind of medicinal, or what you might want trapped outside in a snow storm. Not finding this mildly redeeming. I’ll try it again after having to rub dust off the bottle. Don’t even think I can finish my initial tasting. Can only come up with a 5, almost went 4.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by JohnyBazooka from Czech Republic with 58 ratings

Obyčejná láhev, hliníková zátka, výborný rum uvnitř.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by iaramphal from United States with 8 ratings

Haven’t tried many rums like this and think this one is ok. No issues really to sit and drink it. May need to get accustomed to the different taste from the different process used to make it. Smooth enough, but finding I’m having some astringency after it goes down.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Komatus from Slovakia with 34 ratings

Very drinkable Haitian piece for reasonable price for 8-years aged one