Posting your rating...
Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year rum

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Haiti | Aged

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year Rum is agricultural, meaning it's produced from fermented sugar cane juice rather than the more typical molasses. The sugar cane juice is double distilled and aged for eight years in Limousin oak barrels.

Dupré Barbancourt created the Barbancourt rum recipe in 1862 in Haiti, where the rum is still produced today. A French national, Barbancourt incorporated traditional French methods including double-distillation in the process.

6.6/10(186 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
7
7
12
40
59
41
11
3

Rate Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

186 Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Excellent on all fronts for sub $30. Bottled at 43% which makes it a great sipper. If I were to fault it I would say it's a bit generic and lacking a wow factor. But really it's far to good and enjoyable at it's price point to care about such a minor and petty thing.
It’s also an all around brown rum substitute. It can be perfectly used in any drink that calls out for brown rum.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by torgo from United States with 12 ratings

At first, I was suspicious of this rum, driven perhaps by its bargain price (around $25/750mL), but by the time I got the the bottom of my first bottle, I was back to the store for more.

It's the rum I go to, even for sipping, when I don't feel like dipping into my stash of anything fancier. By far, not my first choice for sipping, but wholly adequate. Still very smooth on the way down, and only a slight nose of varnish to it.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Ricardo Knight from United States with 10 ratings

I tend to fine Haiti runs a little rash for sipping, so i was happy when this initial mouth feel was round, and smooth, but it gave away quickly. The nose was mild, but there was no alcohol burn. There was a hint of leather, banana and a little tobacco. The taste had light sugar throughout, with mild bitterness in the end. It was not bad, but nothing to write home about.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 45 ratings

Great stuff. Obviously not as good as the 15, but it’s pretty clear the barbancourt guys know what they’re doing.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by kventin from Hungary with 29 ratings

..nos,ez egy remek kis 8éves ital, olyan rendezettek benne az illatok és az ízek.Fűszeres ,tölgyes, pici vanilia..de illatában és ízében is VISSZAFOGOTT...viszont torokban már ÉREZNI hogy magasabb az alkoholtartalma mint az átlag !! Valahol ez a kettősség jellemzi a rumot !!! Finom , vagány az üveg :)

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by andrea from Italy with 17 ratings

Al naso non regala sentori particolarmente dominati,arriva fatto l'alcool a coprire tutto. In bocca subito forte l'alcool che lascia il posto a pepe e erba verde. Il finale non é granché e lascia un po di amaro in bocca

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by TheShippingGuys from United States with 1 rating

Blends in to my tea and adds a sugary caramel flavor to it..

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Christophrr29 from United States with 13 ratings

This was my first time trying a rhum agricole and I had seen people recommending this one online a lot. I found it for about $20 for a 750mL and thought what the heck. This will certainly be added to my rum (rhum) rotation.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Furrelle from United States with 2 ratings

I'm still trying to figure out whether I like this one or not. Maybe it's the fact that it's an agricole has me stumped but some days it seems wonderful and others not so much.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by eadrn from United States with 49 ratings

I like this, as well as the 3 star. I am hoping to try the 15 year as well.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Rhoffer97 from United States with 23 ratings

Very nice. Light color, Light taste, smooth with just a tad of a aftertaste at the end.