Posting your rating...
Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year rum

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Haiti | Aged

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year Rum is agricultural, meaning it's produced from fermented sugar cane juice rather than the more typical molasses. The sugar cane juice is double distilled and aged for eight years in Limousin oak barrels.

Dupré Barbancourt created the Barbancourt rum recipe in 1862 in Haiti, where the rum is still produced today. A French national, Barbancourt incorporated traditional French methods including double-distillation in the process.

6.6/10 (185 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
7
7
12
40
59
40
11
3

Rate Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

185 Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 456 ratings

A bit too harsh on the aftertaste ..... Nice to sip but wouldn't purchase if I had the choice ... It's like a mix between spiced and aged that doesn't quite work

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by toblo from United States with 25 ratings

a pesar de que no es el de 15 años, llena todas las expectativas de los conocedores roneros

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Gary from Canada with 24 ratings

I found this has a distinct taste compared to D.R. Rums, must be something in the distillation or aging process. Still a fairly good drink when mixed, but not a lot of complex on its own.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Wo1fpacker from United States with 8 ratings

One of the smoothest rums I've had the pleasure to taste. Nice and complex in flavor and balance and supremely approachable for rum novices. You'll get your money's worth either sipping neat or in a cocktail.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by nickprice from Netherlands with 17 ratings

Really nice rum. Not particulary floral despite its origin. Vanilla, caramel and woody to the taste. Easy to drink. Works neat but also great in a cocktail as an alternative to a full blown Agricole.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by jackw625 from United States with 28 ratings

Very flavor full sipping rum. Subtle aroma for the alcohol content

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 88 ratings

I don't usually like agricoles as they have a more "green" taste. This tastes more like a traditional Caribbean rum to me with a Light sweetness on the nose, like a caramel apple. A smooth but full mouth feel with a clean and crisp flavor of apple or pear followed by the oak and caramel sweetness left behind with just a little heat. A single ice cube brings out the fruity nature on the nose, but simplified the flavor. Not getting as much of the caramel notes left behind. I think I'd prefer this one neat.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by abrarey from United States with 31 ratings

This one i can recommend to anyone. is good for sipping and mixing.
Wood flavor is perceived and some flavor notes that for some reason reminds me a brandy.
Herbal after taste which i find very pleasant.
Good price.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Phil from United States with 5 ratings

Just a nice rum at a very good price. Not too harsh, just a good rum for shots or sipping. Best value I’ve found!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by aztropic from United States with 17 ratings

Older bottlings,this actually used to be a really good,smooth,rum.Post earthquake,the recipe appears to have changed.Current version is harsh,very smokey,with a strong alcohol burn.I've tried a few of the newer bottles and have been disappointed everytime.Luckily,I still have a few of the older bottlings.Doing a side by side comparison,they are two completely different rums.Avoid it...

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by RobN from United States with 6 ratings

I tried several glasses of this just to make sure I gave it a fair shake. I never made it through more than 2 sips on any glass. I tasted nothing but alchohol. I did not enjoy anything about it. This is a hard pass for me.