Posting your rating...
Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year rum

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Haiti | Aged

Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year Rum is agricultural, meaning it's produced from fermented sugar cane juice rather than the more typical molasses. The sugar cane juice is double distilled and aged for eight years in Limousin oak barrels.

Dupré Barbancourt created the Barbancourt rum recipe in 1862 in Haiti, where the rum is still produced today. A French national, Barbancourt incorporated traditional French methods including double-distillation in the process.

6.6/10(186 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
7
7
12
40
59
41
11
3

Rate Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

186 Barbancourt 5 Star Reserve Especiale 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Patrick from Switzerland with 24 ratings

In my collection, the description follows later. I have to taste it again.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Norup from Denmark with 60 ratings

ikke nogen stor rom, da smagen ikke er så nuanceret. Men den er dejlig. Frisk, med en snert af citrongræs!

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by delecluse from Vanuatu with 6 ratings

Kelleti rum.
Billoy verga succa appetae.
Sinodid nea tao kelleti.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Tito Jackson from United States with 28 ratings

Easy to sip. Nice introduction to those who may not have had an agricole.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

I don't know about how it is where you live, but these agricoles are pricey where I am. Damn, those French have got it made. Well, Haitians actually in this case (a former French colony). Thus, I am inclined to judge this rum more harshly than I might otherwise, given four of my favorite rums are at this price-point locally.

Having been a cognac drinker, one can easily ascertain the link to the rhum agricole variant of rum production. Once you understand the (well-defined) production process, you know what flavors you're going to get. And you get them here. On those merits, one can see why this rum is so popular among agricole drinkers.

Still, to my taste, this agricole did not significantly stand apart from the 5 Year Clement I'd tasted previously (and at the same price-point) - a modest VSOP to the Clement's refined VS (to use cognac terms). A bit smoother, a bit more of those hearty cognac flavors, sure.

But once again, I prefer the molasses-based rums (exception: St Lucia's Chairman's Reserve, made of raw sugar cane but *not* the agricole process).

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

Great as a mix to broaden the flavour range with a English or Spanish style. Sweet sugar and then grass.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Leon from Germany with 34 ratings

I really like barbancourt's nose. It tells of much more years than 8. The taste is sweet at first, then highly fluctous grassy and finally deep tobacco and coffee. I really like this one. However it is a little bit too strong on the alcoholic odor.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Rob Bratney from United States with 8 ratings

A little light for an aged rum, but it makes up for it in flavor. Nice amount of spice and sweetness, and just a hint of that rhum agricole funk. Highly recommended, and used often for tiki mixing.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Mike from United States with 30 ratings

Tropical drinks requiring dark rum - use Rhum Barbancourt 5 Star. Mixed drinks gain a quality flavor over some of the other rums used in mixed drinks; no nail polish remover undertone to it. This rhum also works good on its own over a big rock of ice

I keep this one on my mixing shelf.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Margus Mägi from Estonia with 75 ratings

It's like brandy with water and no good with coke.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

I find Barbancourt special, it`s less grassy than regular agricoles and it´s still a cane juice rum. The honey-like but sort of dry flavor is great to mix drinks with, the 15 yo is much better though.