Posting your rating...
Smith and Cross Navy Strength rum

Rate Smith and Cross Navy Strength

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


175 Smith and Cross Navy Strength ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Don from Canada with 131 ratings

Medium amber in colour; leading aromas of woodsmoke, caramel, citrus, tropical fruit and spice; hot on the palate with flavours of burnt sugar, spice, citrus peel and oak on the finish. $40 can. Sounds like a good deal but don't think that I will buy it again

Posted about 2 years ago by ChameleonSkin from United States with 18 ratings

While not as over the top as some suggest, it's still too much to enjoy on its own. However it's perfect for adding some punch to tiki drinks where the rum usually takes too much of a back seat to the other flavors.

Posted over 2 years ago by Raphael from United States with 15 ratings

Everything has already been said in the other reviews--great stuff, tons of flavor, tons of funk. One thing is, if a recipe calls for, say, 3 oz of Jamaican rum, it's not a good idea to use 3 oz of this. It will simply overpower the drink, to the point where all you can taste is rum. However, if you add a small amount this to a less strong Jamaican rum, it can work very well. For example, if the recipe calls for 3 oz of Jamaican rum, what you can do is use 2.5 ounces of the less strong Jamaican rum, and 0.5 ounces of this.

Posted over 2 years ago by Rick from United States with 22 ratings

Wow, this reminds me of Appleton Estate 12 on steroids. Huge aromas of typical Jamaican burnt sugar brûlée and bananas with date syrup on the pallet. May not be a great sipper, but would add a big punch to your favorite rum cocktail.

Posted over 2 years ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 185 ratings

Meget sprit i duften med undertoner af frugt. Jeg fik tårer i øjnene, når jeg stak snuden i glasset. Har mere en smag af whisky, som jeg også kan lide, men efter en tør start kommer der en bølge af brændt banan, og der står jeg af. Jeg kan simpelthen ikke arbejde med den overmodne banan, som er karakterisk for rum-bar White overproof, som står for mig som den værste rom, jeg har smagt. Jeg kan forstå, at der er nogle som er ville med denne Smith amønd cross, for den har en fornuftig pris, og man får meget for pengene. Der er bare for meget banan til mig.

Posted over 2 years ago by Erik Marum from United States with 29 ratings

My in laws picked up a bottle for Xmas as they knew my brother and I enjoy sipping rum. I was excited to try this, but one sip and it was so bad it was practically undrinkable. So awful that we couldn't even mix it with anything without dumping it out. The high and should have been a warning g sign, or it could just be we had a bad bottle? But I will be avoiding this at all costs in the future.

Posted over 2 years ago by Boris Mehak from Germany with 9 ratings

As I said, remind me to šljivovica, spirit from plumbs produced and consumed in most of ex-Yugoslavia countries.
This drink is consumed fresh, without any aging, which makes it sometime too strong, like this rum is.
This rum has something else though. Some kind of plastic aftertaste in the back of the mouth. This is present in the smell too. For my taste, this shouldn’t be in any food or drink.
Something similar, but even stronger I have experienced with Laphroaig Quarter Cask whisky.
Not favorite of mine.

Posted over 2 years ago by Daniel from United States with 29 ratings

Not as harsh as you would expect. Good flavor with vanilla and caramel flavors.

Posted over 2 years ago by True2Rum from United States with 21 ratings

This rum is akin to adding fennel to Italian dishes, don't eat the spice, just add it! In most tiki drinks, this adds distinguishable character to the cocktail. 1/4 oz will do. Serve a drink without and with, and ask your fellow rum imbibers which way they prefer. This rum is a go-to for me, to be used in small quantities. I am rating this very special mixing rum as if it were a right arm essential ingredient to most all tiki drinks. Its higher proof also corrects low ABV if you are mixing with 80 proof rums, without jumping to the potent 151 rum float. This rum also has a England-Jamaica history most of us can relate to when drinking it in mixed form.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Smith and Cross Navy Strength rum from Jamaica at 57% alcohol is no joke. Bottle looks very nice, color is surprisingly golden for a Navy Strength rum. Smell has a huge kick to it, but the taste test is surprisingly short and straight to the point. Well done Smith and Cross.

Posted over 2 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 153 ratings

Most for good cocktails. A little hard to drink clean .. but not impossible. Compared to price it is good.

Posted over 2 years ago by Tim from Canada with 56 ratings

My favourite mixing rum when bold is required. It’s bold.

Posted over 2 years ago by Sam from Netherlands with 14 ratings

There is no substitute for the funk you get in this rum, but it's a little too much for me.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joe from United States with 6 ratings

Hearty & Boozy, but there's a lot of depth and character. Some smoky, earthy, and almost peaty elements - lots of bitter orange rind/peel. I personally prefer something a bit softer and more rounded for an evening sipper but this was a welcome change. I can definitely see why this is being compared to a single malt scotch.

Posted over 2 years ago by No name from United States with 1 rating

Many of these reviews say it's indicative of a style, but that doesn't mean it tastes good. It's hard to find words for how bad this rum is, but the closest I can get is that someone left pineapple juice in the trunk of their car for a week or two until it fermented. I've tried to enjoy it in different ways: straight, on the rocks (with enough to water it down a lot), cocktails, but I haven't been able to finish any of the drinks. I have had better bottom shelf rum and wouldn't advise this for anyone. I'm giving 3 stars instead of 1 because it is a rum (not just sugary vodka) and the abv isn't apparent (although I think I'm just detracted by the foul taste)

Posted over 2 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

57% alcohol but it doesn't smell like it. The taste is however disappointing for me. It is not sweet. The bitterness is too much even with Sprite. I wonder if it would ruin mixes.

Posted over 2 years ago by John T from United States with 7 ratings

This is a truly amazing find. I bought it as a kind of personal dare. Find one of those high proof alcohols that only a masochist would pour down his throat. I got something completely different. I got to experience the fruity, estery aromas and flavors that come from dunder in the fermentation process. Dunder is where magical stuff happens in the rum world, but like sausage making, is something you just hear about but never look too closely into if you want to keep your lunch down. But that special blend of bacteria combines with alcohol and produces some utterly great fruit. Nothing else like it. Like a flavor bomb hitting your tongue. This is really potent stuff. If you guzzle moonshine like Jim Tom, you can certainly sip it neat, but no need to torture yourself. This will survive some ice or water, and will wonderfully add an enjoyable flavor kick to your favorite rum cocktail.

Posted over 2 years ago by Matthias Lange from Germany with 16 ratings

Very Jamaica in here. Good burn. Nice fruits. No Clouds man!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 64 ratings

Mixed with Diet Coke and enjoyed the drink immensely as it came across and a touch of sweetness with a vanilla-ish twinge rack this up as another keeper. Its just hard to find very few bars carry it I found this at the bar in the Emma Hotel in San Antonio.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Chris Garrahan from United States with 4 ratings

Strong flavors, overwhelming neat, sooo much flavor and depth. I love my Pussers but this is much more sophisticated. Just made the "Million" cocktail on the label. Outstanding!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Strong rum to drink neat however, as mentioned below, if you add a splash of water to it it tones it down a notch. Traditional Jamaican pot stilled rum with notes of pepper, molasses, vanilla, brown sugar, citrus, toabacco and oak. Good mixer though for the price, their are plenty of comparable rums out their that are less expensive.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jm from France with 33 ratings

Un Rhum très polyvalent : très sec mais assez gras, superbe pur (mais assez violent, il faut le laisser aerer ) mais surtout indispensable pour booster n'importe quel cocktails ! En grog par exemple pour les longues soirée d'hiver il est génial !

Posted almost 3 years ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

Sadly the real rum flavours are overshadowed by the overproof alcohol strength and burn from this one. No good straight, but okay as a mixer. The flavour seemed slightly whiskey-ish, if that makes sense.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Anthony from United States with 2 ratings

Smooth with Burbon finish..great spice...loved the color...

Posted almost 3 years ago by George from Canada with 24 ratings

This is unlike any other rum out there. It hits hard but somehow manages to be smooth. More of an acquired taste and getting close to some of the higher proofs out there. I love it. Cherry flavour and molasses