Posting your rating...
Smith and Cross Navy Strength rum

Smith and Cross Navy Strength

Jamaica | Gold

7.5/10 (202 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
5
12
15
34
78
36
15

Rate Smith and Cross Navy Strength

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


202 Smith and Cross Navy Strength ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

If you know what you want and that thing is funk than it's hard to get funkier than Smith and Cross.

Like Laphroaig it's easily one of my favorites for its unabashed pungency. Shocking to the uninitiated and haunting to those who have sipped it straight.

Maybe not a 10 in the overall scheme of Rum balance and flavor but deserving of a 10 for what it does better than most and thats the dunder funk.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Alistair from United States with 4 ratings

Nose: fun and funky, distictive enough to shine through in a variety of cocktails
Taste: hints at complexity when neat and burn less severe than most over proof drinks , but a little water or melting ice opens up a brilliant funky molasses slightly orangey flavour with a long finish.
It's up there with my favourite Mezcals and Island Malts and whisk(e)y drinking friends all seem to love it in cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by LD from Italy with 34 ratings

It's not easy to drink (not for beginners). Dense with a high esters number, heavy proof. Jamaican rum is a very particular and fantastic rum category.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Davis Hall from United States with 1 rating

Having trouble finding it in New York City right now. Little water opens it up. One of my favorite rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by DaveW from United States with 15 ratings

This is another one of my favorites as I enjoy the overproof rums. This has a strong pot still taste. Not too sweet, not too stiff. I personally enjoy it with mixed drinks and especially with ginger beer. This is one of my favorites rums right now.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Yablo Dratch from United States with 26 ratings

Open it up with a drop or two of water-outstanding!

Ffffff

Posted about 8 years ago by Da'rum from Germany with 22 ratings

Pot stilled brilliance, real rum bottled at 57% so needs watering in the glass and a rest before drinking but is a taste explosion. A beautiful thing on it's own or with a full bodied cigar. Not for sugary liqueur rum lovers. A real rum gem.

Ffffff

Posted 7 days ago by Jimechsbu99 from United States with 5 ratings

This is a one of the stronger smelling rums that I have ever tasted. It has a very bold taste.

Ffffff

Posted 7 days ago by nickprice from Netherlands with 13 ratings

Well this is a pretty fierce. It’s super tasty just needs easing back a bit. To the nose it’s smokey, wood chips and caramel. Kinda bbq. Tasting is like... oooh wooooow. The flavour just blooms in you mouth. Heavy funk with a bit of sweetness and a pleasing heat (rather than straight up burn). It’s excellent stuff. Mixes really nicely in a range of cocktails as well.

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by pula_pirata from Australia with 18 ratings

Finally got to try it in a local tiki bar and wow! That’s the most awesome rum I’ve tried so far. It is a explosion of aromas and flavours, just sensational. Banana is the star of the show along with other earthy notes. And What is even more incredible, it that it is so smooth for a navy rum I had it neat with a smile in my face. I need a bottle now!

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by lord13 from United States with 11 ratings

A bit much for me in a rum old fashioned but is a great part of a Mai Tai blend.