Posting your rating...
Smith and Cross Navy Strength rum

Smith and Cross Navy Strength

Jamaica | Gold

7.5/10
242 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
6
13
20
40
99
41
15

Rate Smith and Cross Navy Strength

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

242 Smith and Cross Navy Strength ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Graham from United States with 14 ratings

The blast from the nose lets you know quick that isn't anything that is a standard rum. The collection of flavors such as pepper, tobacco, sugar cane and dark chocolate make this rum something to enjoy in excellent cocktails or on its own.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by mathiassen from Greenland with 3 ratings

Without being fully on par in regards to complexity with the far more expensive Jamaicans on the market, this bottle provides a great tasting experience within it's genre. Definitely worth a spot in your collection (and a refurbishment of your stock won't kill your budget once it is empty. Again.).

Small 621e696e 569f 4f12 a55a b39bbb717650

Posted 4 months ago by geroji from United States with 26 ratings

Couldn’t have asked for more in a jamaican rum. Old bananas and tropical fruit, which come alive after letting it breath for a fee minutes and cube of ice.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by A1Lexo from United States with 9 ratings

Yes, it is strong, but it is not harsh, nor is it acrid tasting the way a young scotch or mixing rum might taste. It is sophisticated and complex, and has a beautiful finish that is sweeter than I expected. Lot's of "funk" though less briny than Hampden. The funk here is fruity and spiced tasting. This rum is priced like a much poorer quality rum than it is. If you are interested in something "adult" and ever interesting, go here. This is definitely not for beginners, though.

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 6 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 128 ratings

taste - 7.5/10
smell - 8/10
sweetness - 7/10
price/value rating - 8/10

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 327 ratings

Very good rum, better than Plantation OFTD, Eight Islands and Kill Devil Navy Strength.
The nose is great, very rich, intensive and fruity. No need to dilute it, it's perfect at 57% and still mild (this comment is not for beginners and sweet rum lovers).

The taste is not as balanced as the nose, backed apples are very intensive. I would mix some high ester Hampden inside. But it's also fruity without the high ester pineapple note and still delicious.
Very cheap btw, I paid just 25€ for the bottle of 0.7l and with 57% it has exceptionally good value. If you love strong and fruity rum, this is the best you can get for under 50€.
Would give this one 80 points.

Nose: backed apple, sweet and fruity with papaya, green banana, herbs/gras, pumpkin, caramel, honey
Taste initial: backed apple, honey, grasy notes
Taste middle: honey, some bitterness, dunder (ripe vegetables), citrus, spice
Finish: long, with spice, bitter notes and honey, backed apple again, some barrel
Aftertaste: very fruity, peppermint

Sweetness: 2.5/5
Fruity: 4/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Mildness: 3/5
Intensity: 4/5
Complexity: 4/5
Value (23€): +5/5
Experience level: professional

Experiment 1: just mixed a hint of my 9y Hampden DOK inside. I ruined the nose, got a lot of citrus but almost no pineapple, killed the grasy notes and the honey. But the taste became a beauty, much more balanced. Less dunder, more fruits.
I'm not satisfied with it. I'm going to try a <>H Hampden next time.

Experiment 2: just mixed a 17y Bristol Caroni 1998 inside. The nose bacame less fruity and dirty (earth and barrel). Still some papaya left.
The taste is again very good, the honey and dunder is still present but overall less fruity.
Not satisfied.

Experiment 3: I mixed a hint of Kill Devil Hampden C<>H 10y 64% inside. The dunder in the nose is gone, there is pineapple and citrus in the nose. Also some grasy notes and other fruits are left.
The taste is overhelmed by pineapple. The grasy notes are gone.
It's not bad, there is some malt in the aftertaste and the honey is also still in the taste. Good blend, strong and spicy. Very complex.
Better than pure Smith and Cross? Maybe, would rate it 83.

Experiment 4: Mixed with Hampden Estate 8 is the best combination. The dunder is almost gone the whole composition is the best one. It's balanced, fruity with malt in the aftertaste. Just a beautiful blend and a great Hampden. This is a 85 for me.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Jeremiah from United States with 1 rating

I am typically a Rye Bourbon drinker, but I do love to grab a bottle of rum from time to time. I’ve typically grabbed Plantation or El Dorado. This one is very strong and would suggest on ice if you plan to sip. Love the spicy fruity flavor. Needs some chill and a bit watered down from the ice to tame it. It’s 57% Alc, if you’re surprised it’s strong.... well that’s on you.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Bassdscho92 from Austria with 12 ratings

Look at this! Tastewise it's a 7 at least. But seeing the low price, it's even an 8. Full frontal Jamaican Funk in navy strength. Good not only in a quality drink, but also neat - not lying, I tried that and it opened the door for me towards Jamaican Rum that I love ever since.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

I wasn't expecting to like this one as much as i did but it really is such an interesting rum! Its probably the most flavourful rum i have tried yet and instantly makes any cocktail exciting. I can also drink this on its own or with ice because i enjoy the funky burn but this definitely shines best in cocktails like Mai Tais!

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Maximum Bob from United States with 8 ratings

As a sipper, 7 is being generous. Funky stuff, to be sure. But as a mixer in Tiki recipes? An absolute 10. Indispensable in any serious bar, hits the funky notes you need to make an unforgettable mix.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Redrum from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Absolutely cracking rum as it really brings the funk and a real complex flavour . Not a sipping rum for me unless In an old fashioned. Great in painkillers and a daiquri with it is quite the experience. Upon first taste I wasn’t sure but with time absolute loving the overripe banana funk of it