Posting your rating...
Smith and Cross Navy Strength rum

Smith and Cross Navy Strength

Jamaica | Gold

7.5/10 (200 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
5
12
15
33
77
36
15

Rate Smith and Cross Navy Strength

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


200 Smith and Cross Navy Strength ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

If you know what you want and that thing is funk than it's hard to get funkier than Smith and Cross.

Like Laphroaig it's easily one of my favorites for its unabashed pungency. Shocking to the uninitiated and haunting to those who have sipped it straight.

Maybe not a 10 in the overall scheme of Rum balance and flavor but deserving of a 10 for what it does better than most and thats the dunder funk.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Redrum from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Absolutely cracking rum as it really brings the funk and a real complex flavour . Not a sipping rum for me unless In an old fashioned. Great in painkillers and a daiquri with it is quite the experience. Upon first taste I wasn’t sure but with time absolute loving the overripe banana funk of it

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by 64Oldsmobile from United States with 2 ratings

This is probably a little strong in proof and profile for a supper, but makes an amazing base spirit in a punch or cocktail.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

High in esters, a powerhouse of Rum - Expect strong flavours and no BS additives. Well done!

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 157 ratings

Purchased a bottle of Smith and Cross Navy Rum and my first impression was the aroma which reminded me of the Appleton 12 yr rum, however at a much higher ABV. This rum at 57% ABV is too strong to drink on its own but on the rocks, it is delicious. No added sugar, a pure and traditional Jamaican rum.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by ElPato from Norway with 26 ratings

First, I am most impressed with this being a blend without any added sugar and being so cheap.

The nose strikes you with leather, toast and coconut, cottonsedge, pineapple and cherry. On the palate, caramel and fried banana with an oaky finish and slight burn. Impressively long aftertaste for a decently priced blended rum.

You might need some experience with Jamaican rum to enjoy it, but even Captain Morgan can offer some of that funky fruit, just remember this is dry and navy strength.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rumrunner95 from United States with 54 ratings

A unique and tasty rum with loads of tropical fruit, some spices, a little caramel, chocolate, and a unique funkiness with so much agave on the nose it can be mistaken as a tequila in a blind tasting.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 62 ratings

Traditional jamaican navy strength rum 57%abv.
Pure plummer and wedderburn marque pot still distillate, so the funk is there but not too much.
Rumor has it that this is Hampden estate rum.
Nose: strong dunder and esters, molasses, toasted butter, brine
Taste: oh some more of that lovely pungent molasses dunder taste, strong toasted butter and brine also caramel, i think im in love with this rum.
Finish: Dry and some oak in the end. Has some kick( thanks to 57 abv) but no ethanol taste.
The dry taste of dunder, butter and bit of oak lingers for a long time, i like that.
Overall: Delicious honest traditional jamaican rum that has very strong punching esters kicking through but with beautiful molasses butter caramel taste too.
Also bottled at higher abv 57% which is always a good thing and greatly appreciated.
Mixability is also great so i have to give extra points for that.
Makes beautiful balanced navy grogs and also works magic in most of the tiki cocktails.
No added sugar like most jamaicans, probably has caramel colour for color consistency but i dont mind about that.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mipresser from United States with 11 ratings

I approached this with caution because of reviews that describe it as too strong. I found it wonderful with a full low-sweetness flavor that truly suited a whiskey sipper like me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 331 ratings

I was very hesitant to try this authentic Jamaican rum for a long time because of some of the frightening descriptions in these reviews. This is NOT a rum for beginners and I am certainly not a beginner. So I plunked down $27 US for my bottle of this and brought it home today. It is blended in the UK, which has long ties to Jamaica. You can read the whole story on the back of the bottle.

When I broke the plastic seal around the cork, I was afraid to open it for fear of some awful smells. Instead, it was anything but that. My first pour was neat in the snifter. Aromas of exotic tropical fruits greeted me. On the palate was mild hogo and lots of burn. Hey, it's only 114 proof, so what can you expect? Adding a few ice cubes swapped out the burn for lots of pleasant hogo flavors. This is the way to drink it, on the rocks. Then I tried one of the drinks on the back of the label called Million. A million of what? Stupid name, but I tried it with measurements given to the nearest quarter of an ounce for this rum, lemon juice, simple syrup, and Angostura Bitters. Gosh, that is a damn good drink, but I would rather savor mine on the rocks and stick with no added sugars. Whomever said that dry rums are boring has obviously not tried this one. This one can also put any Mai Tai over the top!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mark Ogilvie from United States with 16 ratings

I feel like assigning this rum a score is a bit of a lost cause. This drink truly doesn't give a shit.

The aroma is hard to pin down. There's a bit that's a little reminiscent of Appleton, maybe leaning a little more on the banana. I smell still funk and something not dissimilar from white wine? There's a good amount of alcohol on the nose, too. Not more than there should be, but a good amount. Almost whisky-like, all told.

The flavors hit you all at once, and I mean all at once. It's an experience. Smoke and spices, leather and rotten fruit, molasses, metal and fire. It's like you can taste the whole distillery. As you mull it over some of the flavors peter out and you're left with a long, medium bodied, bonfire sweetness, with a weird bilious undertone. The aftertaste is gentle and tastes something like rust and mango rind. Strange but pleasant.

I haven't tried this mixed yet, but I imagine something to give the flavors more space will be an adventure all on its own. This is one for every rum lover to try once, but I imagine once will be enough for many. Others might find themselves keeping a bottle in reserve to spice things up now and then.

Oh! And the bottle was an absolute steal. For less than Appleton's 12 year you get something both bolder and more complex, even if it ends up a little challenging because of that.