Posting your rating...
Smith and Cross Navy Strength rum

Smith and Cross Navy Strength

Jamaica | Gold

7.5/10
260 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
6
13
21
46
102
49
15

Rate Smith and Cross Navy Strength

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

260 Smith and Cross Navy Strength ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Jm from France with 33 ratings

Un Rhum très polyvalent : très sec mais assez gras, superbe pur (mais assez violent, il faut le laisser aerer ) mais surtout indispensable pour booster n'importe quel cocktails ! En grog par exemple pour les longues soirée d'hiver il est génial !

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by tim from United States with 57 ratings

Molasses and pineapple notes with buttery finish with hint of pineapple

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Thomas Engelmann from Norway with 1 rating

A bit too strong to sip neat, but absolutely fantastic in cocktails as the supporting actor (rum number 2). Try a classic Mai-Tai with Appleton 12 and top with Smith&Cross - I've never been to Jamaica, but I imagine this is what it tastes like!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Ramon from United States with 76 ratings

I stumbled across this rum at a local seafood restaurant. It was not bad but not real special to my taste buds either. Not real strong on flavor, slight citrusy taste and maybe a bit oaky in the finish. I expected more from the way the bar tender talked it up.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by 2.ooohhh from United States with 42 ratings

I find this stuff rather unpalatable by itself, but blend it in a tiki drink such as the "Beachcomber's Gold" and it brings the cocktail to life. (I've included my recipe below)

1oz Bacardi 8
1/4oz Appleton 12yr
1/4oz Smith & Cross
1/2oz simple syrup
6 drops St. George Absinthe Verte
4 drops almond extract
1/4 cup crushed Ice

Blend on high for no more than 5 seconds and strain into a chilled glass.(garnish to your liking)

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Highly aromatic, high esters pot still Jamaican rum. The smells and flavour are so funky and different what I have been used to. First Jamaican style tum so not sure if it is the norm. Bottled at navy strength so look forward in some cocktails as should hold up those distinct flavours.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Christophe from France with 10 ratings

Although strong (57°) this rum is perfectly balanced beetween orange peels and cinnamon with a great woody finish... Sip neat or on ice... Not for children though :-)

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Severin from France with 11 ratings

Rhum qui ne plaira pas à tout le monde. Un nez génial, tres original. En bouche c'est plus décevant, manque de finesse, mais pas inintéressant. Pour moins de 40€ ça vaut tout de même le coup

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Jack Panic from Canada with 4 ratings

Very sharp with a high proof to boot. Unfortunately the initial palate shock does nothing for the remainder of the drink. Sugar cane to start and nothing to finish. I was really hoping for more, best avoided.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Hedonist from Germany with 59 ratings

I don't like it as a sipper, but this rum is probably able to give any Mix its stamp. Even if one would mix with motor oil, you could still taste this rum out of a cocktail that would kill you.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by foufvious from United States with 6 ratings

even when mixed with soda, it gives that warming feeling. Not my favorite, but it gets the the job done.