Posting your rating...
Smith and Cross Navy Strength rum

Rate Smith and Cross Navy Strength

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


174 Smith and Cross Navy Strength ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Don from Canada with 130 ratings

Medium amber in colour; leading aromas of woodsmoke, caramel, citrus, tropical fruit and spice; hot on the palate with flavours of burnt sugar, spice, citrus peel and oak on the finish. $40 can. Sounds like a good deal but don't think that I will buy it again

Posted almost 3 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 57 %
Původ: Spojené království/Jamajka
Aroma: Hodně zajímavá vůně. Klasická náplň českých rumových pralinek, ta mi tu přijde jako hlavní a nejvýraznější složka. Na svou sílu alkoholu mi přijde dost v pohodě. Je tu i trocha vůně ovocných pálenek, takový sladší Gold Cock style. Čokoláda, peckoviny, je to výrazné, krémové, pěkné. Asi 2/3 vůně jako by tvořily pralinky a třetinu Gold Cock whisky. Při delším zkoumání mi pak přišlo, jako by ta pralinková poloha místy přecházela až do lehké ředidlové vůně, ale nic negativního v tom nehledejte, opravdu zajímavá a v pohodě vůně. (86 b)
Chuť: Při prvním poválení po jazyku bych sílu 57% ani nehádal, ale to šlo jen o úplně první dojem. Po chvilce se už síla projeví. Po pralinkách ale v chuti není ani stopy, je to něco mezi grappou a slivovicí, k tomu se přidává seno, slámově bylinná dochuť, možná až do nějakého zeleného čínského čaje, ty mi vždy připomínaly spařené seno. (84 b)
Body: 85
Shrnutí: Ochutnal jsem v Pivnici U Čolka v Brně-Žabovřeskách, kde mají velmi pěknou rumovou nabídku, odhadem asi 150-170 druhů. Velmi zajímavý rum, pokud chcete zkusit něco nevšedního, dobrá volba.

Posted about 3 years ago by Matthew Brown from United States with 27 ratings

Makes a very decent and strong daq, and a fun one to work in to punches. Hard to love but even harder to ignore its pull. Strong funky esters but a soft mid palate. You might wish it laid heavier in the sugars but then it would be overwhelmingly cloying all over the mouth.

Posted over 3 years ago by A. S. T. from United States with 6 ratings

definitely has a lot of single malt Scotch characteristics. malty sweetness, wood, hint of cognac, complex yet smooth (with quite a few drops of water). clean pleasant finish.

this tastes more Scotch than rum IMHO. I like it a lot. But if you are looking for the sweet/fruity rum taste, this may not be it. But I highly recommend to venture to it. For the price it is a safe investment.

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

Funky, pot-stilly goodness, a real traditional Jamaican treat.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

I tried this when I first started my journey and hated it but last night I retried it and enjoyed it ... Plenty of Jamaica's love and funk in a strong rum .

Posted about 4 years ago by Tommy from Netherlands with 12 ratings

Well, now this is a rum like no other I have encountered so far.

It's smells heavy and it taste even more heavy. Expecting a rum, the taste and experience is weird, at first.
But give it some time. It's starts to grow on you, like a fungus. You know you should stop it, but you don't. Will it turn out to be a heavy fungus, or a filthy mold? It's certainly a dirty drink...

Let the fungus grow on you.

Edit: Damn thing realy grew on me. Just editted my review and upped it 1 whole point. This is one dirty drink, I tell you that!

Posted over 4 years ago by El Julian from United States with 20 ratings

I drank this "neat" and with coke. It was good and I liked it enough. Uhm it's good but that's about it for me.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nordicrum from Sweden with 22 ratings

This is powerful stuff! The nose is an assalut on your senses, bringing in lots of molasses and brown sugar. I like to drink it neat, but I can see that it is especially made to worj in coktails, with its strong smell and taste leaning towards molasses and being low on oak. Not a well rounded drink, but strong and kicking!

Posted over 4 years ago by David from Germany with 74 ratings

A very spicy, rough overproof rum. Great for cocktails!

Posted over 4 years ago by Alistair from United States with 4 ratings

Nose: fun and funky, distictive enough to shine through in a variety of cocktails
Taste: hints at complexity when neat and burn less severe than most over proof drinks , but a little water or melting ice opens up a brilliant funky molasses slightly orangey flavour with a long finish.
It's up there with my favourite Mezcals and Island Malts and whisk(e)y drinking friends all seem to love it in cocktails.

Posted over 5 years ago by LD from Italy with 34 ratings

It's not easy to drink (not for beginners). Dense with a high esters number, heavy proof. Jamaican rum is a very particular and fantastic rum category.

Posted about 6 years ago by Davis Hall from United States with 1 rating

Having trouble finding it in New York City right now. Little water opens it up. One of my favorite rums.

Posted over 7 years ago by DaveW from United States with 15 ratings

This is another one of my favorites as I enjoy the overproof rums. This has a strong pot still taste. Not too sweet, not too stiff. I personally enjoy it with mixed drinks and especially with ginger beer. This is one of my favorites rums right now.

Posted over 7 years ago by Yablo Dratch from United States with 26 ratings

Open it up with a drop or two of water-outstanding!

Posted over 7 years ago by Da'rum from Germany with 22 ratings

Pot stilled brilliance, real rum bottled at 57% so needs watering in the glass and a rest before drinking but is a taste explosion. A beautiful thing on it's own or with a full bodied cigar. Not for sugary liqueur rum lovers. A real rum gem.

Posted 1 day ago by Cerro from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

I love this rum, while you could sip it, it is much better with a mixer or in a cocktail. This rum has character, it has funk and flavour in every drop. Taste wise, imagine inviting a Jamaican to a party, only he brings an entire regge band complete with bob marley and all his fans and the venue is in your mouth then you'll have some idea what this is like... this is a great rum and it should not be missed!

Posted 4 days ago by dbroussard27 from United States with 11 ratings

A strong rum that is smooth and has a nice nose and a good finish.

Posted 4 days ago by mc from United States with 19 ratings

The blue and gold label give a very premium feel. Unfortunately, it is hard to get through the bottle.

Posted 10 days ago by Jbarber from United States with 13 ratings

It’s not bad and it’s not good. But I don’t mind it

Posted 15 days ago by Lubber from United States with 9 ratings

This rum tastes like Appleton 12 and Wray and Nephew Overproof got together and had a baby. That Jamaican funk punches you right in the face. Try it neat first to know what you’re dealing with then use it to liven up any cocktail that calls for rum. Love this stuff. It’s a little too potent for me neat but on the rocks...chilled and slight watered down it’s outstanding.

Posted 25 days ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

This is for real rum drinkers, even mixing with coke doesn’t diminish the after taste, for me has to be taken in small measures but good stuff

Posted 26 days ago by klaasfrans from Netherlands with 11 ratings

Personally the rum is probably to strong but it has a real nice after taste. I bought it for a punch and the flavors are perfect. Reason for a 7 is that it is quite expensive in the Netherlands. Would it be cheaper it would be a 8.

Posted about 1 month ago by nicolaigrubbe@gmail.com from Denmark with 15 ratings

Super value for money, funky jamaica flavors, a dominant smell of banana.

Posted about 1 month ago by JGiralt from United States with 42 ratings

One of the best modifiers for any cocktail. Banana, burnt sugar, and Guayaba on the pallet.