Posting your rating...
Plantation 2008 Guyana rum

Plantation 2008 Guyana

Caribbean | Aged

6.2/10
9 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
1
3

Rate Plantation 2008 Guyana

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

9 Plantation 2008 Guyana ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 314 ratings

Devět a půl roku zrání v sudech po bourbonu, rok ve Francii v sudu po koňaku Ferrand a následně ještě půl roku v tzv. zebra sudech, kombinace tmavého dřeva kaštanu a světlého akátu.
Alkohol: 41,9 %
Původ: Guyana/Francie
Aroma: Silný a výrazný závan klasických rumových pralinek, ale jsou tu i další složky. Silná kořenitost, punč, kandované ovoce, koření do svařáku, lékořice, badyán, lesní med. Vůně mě hodně baví. (88 b)
Chuť: Chuť moc neodpovídá tomu, na co vás naladí vůně. Připálená rozinka, pomerančová kůra, těžší kořenitost a lékořice. Bohužel, chybí tomu šmrnc, chuťově je to dost ploché a nepříliš záživné. (83 b)
Body: 85/100
Shrnutí: Decový vzorek stačil na několik ochutnávek, dojem byl pokaždé stejný. Vůně mě dost nadchla, o to slabší ale byla zase chuť. Přijde mi, že úroveň těchto single casků postupně klesá, což mě moc netěší. Prozatím ochutnáno šest z edice 2019 a ani jeden by mě k nákupu nepřesvědčil. Špatné sice nejsou, ale na svou cenovou třídu to není nic extra.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Ryan Rosebush (PREMIUM) from United States with 36 ratings

I’m a big fan of Plantation’s rums generally, but this is kind of a miss for me. It started with a mildly off-putting alcohol aroma & continued to the palate. I’m honestly having a difficult time describing the flavor profile. It almost has a smokey note to it...and a slight burn on the back end.

I’ll have to give this another try. I may experiment by blending it with some other rims as well.🤷🏻‍♂️

Cask 04, Bottle 271

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by GH (PREMIUM) from United States with 36 ratings

High alcohol & honeysuckle across the nose; pretty large burn with slight notes of caramel, dry fruit; warm burn across the palate; I am a fan of this bottle as I feel there is no sugar added; it’s a nice, bottle with little complexity. A keeper in my book.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Foggyrumrunner from Canada with 50 ratings

Cask no. 05, bottle no. 112

The nose is not effusive but has real depth and complexity, redolent with vanillin-wood, a whiff of incense, and molasses. The nose has discernible echoes of its time spent in bourbon casks - very nice! The palate is lush, round and dense with flavour - almost “chewy” - with pronounced molasses, faint char, and something floral like honeysuckle, before finishing with some pronounced peppery heat that is noticeable but certainly not harsh. Wow, this is great rum! It would be a missed opportunity to mix this with anything. It’s a unique sipper.

Small minha orix%c3%a1

Posted 2 months ago by BigChief17 (TASTING CLUB) from United States with 41 ratings

Purchased this at the near beginning of my rum exploration. The price, the brand, the year: it has to be exceptional, right? First try, didn't like it. Waiting a few months, same result. Waiting two years, same result.

Nose - Spice, Sugar Cane, Banana
Palate - Pepper, Nutmeg, Earth, Cinnamon

Still can't make it work for me...

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 7 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 274 ratings

I’m not a big fan of this Plantation, nor of Diamond’s Port Mourant still rum. Has similar taste to PM single still, but the extra aging in different casks help mellow it out slightly. Will try it again on a later date.updated to 7. Decent rum

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Michael N from United States with 73 ratings

I’m a fan of Plantation and have never really been disappointed in any of the others I’ve tried. Some are just average and some are quite good. This one however falls short of what I would expect. It’s not the taste that is bad it’s the overwhelming chemical/cleaner aroma that hits your nose first. The taste after that is ok at best. Not a big fan of this one!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 430 ratings

Leather and spice in aroma. Taste is strong (47,1%) with smoke and tabacco tones covering the rest. Aftertaste is short and not pleasant.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 400 ratings

I picked up this new arrival from Plantation today for $55 US. My bottle is from Cask Number 4, Bottle 276. It is pot stilled from molasses and bottled at 47.1% ABV (with quite a burn). The demerara taste from Guyana is not obvious due to the complex aging process. It spent 9.5 years aging in ex-bourbon casks in the tropics, then 1 year in Ferrand casks in France. The final six months was spent aging in "zebra casks" (chestnut and acacia woods). If you are expecting to find an El Dorado with no added sugars, you won't find that here. That final year and a half of aging throws it way off for me. I am not going to even try to describe the taste other than it is just plain weird. If you want a rum that really stands out from all of the others, give this one a try. However, don't say that I did not warn you first.