Posting your rating...
Barbancourt Reserve du Domaine 15-Year rum

Rate Barbancourt Reserve du Domaine 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


81 Barbancourt Reserve du Domaine 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

Real rum taste. Nothing fancy. Not woody, not spicy nor caramel. Just simple good rum. Smooth enough. Definitely a sipper.

Posted about 4 years ago by Frank Taylor (PREMIUM) from United States with 5 ratings

Without paying over $100 a bottle, this is always consistent with a fabulous flavor, smoothness, nose, etc, Well balanced. I have owned easily over 150 rums and this always comes out on top.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Catmandu from United States with 15 ratings

I had read a number a very good ratings on this rum. I cannot agree on any level. It is harsh, with a metal after taste and finish. Too many great rums out there, this one is a miss.

Posted 24 days ago by Corey.andreas from Australia with 2 ratings

I used to get this rum every birthday, but it's not available in Australia anymore. Brilliant rum to sip and watch the cricket to. Definitely prefer it as a summer rum, but it soft caramel with light vegetal and lime zest notes is perfect on a warm day. Pairs extremely well with Old Gold Rum'n'Raisin

Posted 7 months ago by HammerHead from Netherlands with 22 ratings

A decently aged rum, though not overly complex (considering it's 15 years old). The nose has got caramelized fruits, fudge and a nice round spiciness to it. Taste is equally fruity but also a bit dusty with some cardboard; finish could have been a little less dry. It's a decent rum, but the €50 retail price is a bit steep for the experience you're getting.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

A nice taste of Haiti, albeit, a pricy one at that. This rum will set you back about $50 US, however, it provides a nice representation of a fine French Agricole rhum. Complexity, smoothness and earthy characteristics usually associated with agricole rhum, due to being distilled from pressed/squeezed fresh cane juice, play out favorably with this rhum.
Very nice sipper that should be avoided as used for mixing with the high price tag associated with it. Definitely the best of the Barbancort line!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 32 ratings

A lot of people seem to not really like agricoles, and I can sort of understand why- they’re much lighter and a lot more floral. This has all of that, but a lot of interest and deliciousness, presumably because of the ageing. Would absolutely recommend.

Perfection.

Posted over 5 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

The wood has taken over a bit in this one compared to the outstanding 8 yr (5 star). I have seen Barbancourt Rhums referred to as "The Cognac of rum" and nowhere is this more evident than in the 15 yr.

Posted 21 days ago by abrarey from United States with 19 ratings

Love this rum, can't be the price around $40 US Dollars. Don't notice major differences between this one and the 8 years, which I love as well. This might be a little more woody and at first impression taste just like a very good molasses column still rum, then after a few seconds comes the agricole flavor profile which remain very prolonged in the palate.

Posted about 1 month ago by RHUM FACTORY from France with 32 ratings

L’histoire commence en 1862 lorsque Dupré Barbancourt crée son premier rhum de jus de cannes. Rapidement la qualité de son rhum est reconnue, et atteint une notoriété mondiale dès la fin du XIXème siècle.

Barbancourt est connu pour générer près de 20 000 emplois en Haiti.

Sa méthode de distillation est souvent comparée à celle du cognac (Barbancourt étant, à l’origine, originaire de Charente). Barbancourt 15 ans, reste cependant un rhum méconnu et rare, bien qu’ayant gagné de nombreux prix et concours (Meilleur de sa catégorie 2006, 2007 et 2008 à l'International Wine and Spirit Contest), et relativement difficile à se procurer.
Chaque année, depuis 1960, le rhum Barbancourt Réserve du domaine 15 ans est produit en quantité limitée et, est vendu aux connaisseurs du monde entier. Autrefois réservé à la famille Barbancourt, il a été progressivement ouvert à la distribution.
Bien que n’ayant pas la mention "Rhum Agricole" (mention réservée pour les DOM TOM) il n’en est pas moins produit directement à partir de la canne à sucre.

Aujourd'hui, ses saveurs et sa richesse aromatique en font une véritable référence, et ne vous fiez pas à sa simplicité de présentation et à son un prix plus que raisonnable : ce rhum est un véritable nectar.

Nez : parfumé et complexe sur les agrumes confits, avec de jolies notes torréfiées.
Bouche : puissant et avec du corps, grande palette aromatiques fruitée ( poire, agrumes) et épicée (cannelle). Finale : longue avec des jolies notes d’agrumes et d'épices.

Posted 9 months ago by Uuukey from Japan with 15 ratings

色 : 琥珀のニュアンスの輝きのある黄金色。
香り : アカシアの蜂蜜を連想させる甘い香り。
味わい : 重厚な味わいのミディアムタイプ。年輪を感じさせる味わい。

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

This is easygoing Barbancourt - Creamy, richly honeyed, the vegetal notes have been filtered away, sadly. Very mellow, but a disappointment. TOO easy. And simple as a result.

Posted 10 months ago by B.P.O. from Netherlands with 51 ratings

This was given to me as a present. Having tried and disliked one of Barbancourt’s other series, I was skeptical about this at first.
Ginger ale at just in case it was crap. However, i was quite surprised when I tried it straight. Not over powering fire water. More refined and even a hint of deco-rum.
In the end I give it a high 7 and on the edge of an 8.

Posted 11 months ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

This is just a good rum. I didn't note the flavors I was getting, I just made notes that it was good.

Posted 11 months ago by Pete034 from Australia with 20 ratings

Never had a Rhum from Haiti before, this one has a stronger after taste and not quite as smooth as you’d expect from a 15 year old Rhum.

Posted 12 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

7 more years developed a bit more for them to bottle.

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

This is tasteful agricole rhum. It's strong and flavorful, good for sipping.
I love spanish style rum in usually, but this agricole rhum is nice.

Posted almost 2 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

I love Dominican rums. The smooth caramel flavors, often dancing about with flavors of wood, vanilla, chocolate and/or coffee, with a certain earthy/nuttiness underneath. Good aged Dominicans. Nothing like 'em! Except this, oddly enough; this little rum sneaking up on me out of Haiti! Turns out, this rum captures almost everything from my favorite region, and then adds a little something to it. Maybe it's bubblegum, maybe it's a more rounded woodiness, or maybe I'm way off! I don't really know, and I'm ok with that, because I know what matters: this is a lovely rum!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ian Storey from Canada with 18 ratings

So to be clear - I drink my rum on the rocks
Now having said that - there’s no question about this being a Caribbean rum. Flavourful but this one has a sharper aftertaste verses some of its neighbouring runs. It’s lighter then other aged runs of similar origin. Not a first choice but certainly an enjoyable rum

Posted almost 2 years ago by Dave McConnell from United States with 4 ratings

Nicely balanced- a real range of nose and flavor, from dried fruits to leather and tobacco. Finish is long and a little too oaked for my taste, which is why I rate this a 7 instead of an 8.

Posted about 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Schönes sattes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase, wie auf einem Eichenbrett flambiertes Karamell mit Kräuter und tropischen Früchten im Hintergrund.
Im Gaumen nicht ganz so gediegen wie in der Nase. Die Zunge wird von den 43% Vol. schon ein wenig "angeheizt". Karamell, Eichenholz, ein in Schokolade getunkter Fruchtspies mit angenehm warmen Mundgefühl.
Im Abgang gesellt sich zur Schokolade noch eine dezente Vanillenote.
Ein Rum für Entdecker und Neugierige der Raum, Zeit und Sommertemperaturen braucht um sich zu entfalten.
Ein Agricole der auf Melasse getunt ist.

Beautiful full amber in the glass.
In the nose, as on an oak board flamed caramel with herbs and tropical fruits in the background.
On the palate, not quite as elegant as in the nose. The tongue is already a bit "heated" by the 43% Vol. Caramel, oak, a chocolate-dipped fruit skewer with a pleasantly warm mouthfeel.
The finish is joined by a subtle vanilla note to the chocolate.
A rum who needs space, time and summer temperatures to unfold, for explorers and curious.
An Agricole tuned to molasses.

Posted about 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 149 ratings

My expectations were very low for this one, Rock Stars Rhum, “Jack Daniels” Rhum with a screw cork.
But I must say it’s surprisingly good and really earns its place on my Agricole shelf in my rumbar.

Posted about 2 years ago by Serge Dufresne from Canada with 17 ratings

Ce rhum n'est pas disponible à la SAQ. Bon rhum d'Haïti, il faut demander à un voyageur de nous en rapporter une bouteille pour pouvoir y goûter.

Posted about 2 years ago by James from United States with 29 ratings

This is a good sipper, fairly mellow across the board from the nose to the finish. A bit on the dry side, but not in a bad way.

I cannot pick out a single dominant flavor personally - it just seems to have a bit of everything from fruit to,tobacco to a hint of sugar and wood.

Posted about 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Bon rhum, mais je le préfère en drink. Malheureusement, pour le prix, ça fait un peu cher.