Posting your rating...
Barbancourt Reserve du Domaine 15-Year rum

Rate Barbancourt Reserve du Domaine 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


81 Barbancourt Reserve du Domaine 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 341 ratings

Schönes sattes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase, wie auf einem Eichenbrett flambiertes Karamell mit Kräuter und tropischen Früchten im Hintergrund.
Im Gaumen nicht ganz so gediegen wie in der Nase. Die Zunge wird von den 43% Vol. schon ein wenig "angeheizt". Karamell, Eichenholz, ein in Schokolade getunkter Fruchtspies mit angenehm warmen Mundgefühl.
Im Abgang gesellt sich zur Schokolade noch eine dezente Vanillenote.
Ein Rum für Entdecker und Neugierige der Raum, Zeit und Sommertemperaturen braucht um sich zu entfalten.
Ein Agricole der auf Melasse getunt ist.

Beautiful full amber in the glass.
In the nose, as on an oak board flamed caramel with herbs and tropical fruits in the background.
On the palate, not quite as elegant as in the nose. The tongue is already a bit "heated" by the 43% Vol. Caramel, oak, a chocolate-dipped fruit skewer with a pleasantly warm mouthfeel.
The finish is joined by a subtle vanilla note to the chocolate.
A rum who needs space, time and summer temperatures to unfold, for explorers and curious.
An Agricole tuned to molasses.

Posted almost 5 years ago by angelo from Italy with 3 ratings

non sono esperto, ma questo rum mi piace davvero! Mi ha colpito per la sua personalità. Ottimo

Posted about 5 years ago by Ed from United States with 20 ratings

Light, smooth, and not too sweet. Great sipping rum reminds me of cognac. Definitely can taste the wood from the barrels.

Posted about 5 years ago by Luis from United States with 14 ratings

A lot of alcohol on the nose and in the immediate flavor. This comes with its corresponding dose of burn, which you do not find in 15-year rums very often.
It is after the harshness of the initial burn and alcohol flavor is gone that you begin to notice other flavor(s).
The basic (secondary) flavors are nut, wood, and leather, all in a dry version. It is best drunk straight or on the rocks. Some mineral water can be added to make it less harsh.

Posted about 5 years ago by Norup from Denmark with 60 ratings

ganske udmærket rom, væsentlig mindre sprittet end 8års, og meget nem at sippe. Men efterlader ikke det store indtryk. Havde måske forventet mere.

Posted about 5 years ago by taz.c from France with 84 ratings

Tres bonne surprise, tres agréable...un peu sec, mais parfumé.
un peu sur l'alcool, mais reste gourmand..
j'aime.

Posted about 5 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

My first Haitian rum, very good taste. Using the same Charentaise distillery method like Cognac, fruity flavor with cinnamon and the finish is long. Good one !

Posted about 5 years ago by keiko from Japan with 8 ratings

Nice balanced rum. Good for rum beginners and good introductions of agricole rum.

Posted about 5 years ago by Cezary from United States with 20 ratings

Strong but still smooth, well-balanced, not sweet (what is a big plus). Great for sipping neat or with just one cube of ice.

Posted about 5 years ago by Drew Stephens from United States with 19 ratings

If you like dry (not sweet) sipping rums, Barbancourt's 15 year offering is a great choice. Peppery and with all the other spicey hints that make a sipping rum good, but without too much sweetness.

Posted about 5 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

Re-tasted last weekend and ranked second in my flight of 5. Much less burn than the last time I tasted. Clean and smooth with traces of cognac cask.

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

reviewed in error. I meant to review the Barbancourt Estate Reserve 15-Year, but I don't see how to delete a review.

Posted over 5 years ago by toblo from United States with 25 ratings

este es un ron que vale la pena probar, se toma en las rocas y su sabor es excepcional

Posted over 5 years ago by Phil Miller from United States with 4 ratings

Just a pure, well made rum. No need for flavors or spices. Smooth sipping rum.

Posted over 5 years ago by Scott from United States with 13 ratings

My first taste of Haitian rum. First thought was, "Is this rum or bourbon?" Quite oaky and dry. Lacks the sweetness of most rums, so if that's what you like, this one is not for you. Yet if you are somewhere in between, I think you will enjoy the Barbancourt 15 very much. I found it to be a wonderful change of pace from my usual Zacapa, Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva, HC7, and others.

Quite smooth. I didn't detect much bite to it at all.
Light brown in color w/ pencil thin legs on the side of my glass.
Nose is of light oak and faint vanilla.

Most will enjoy it. Mine was a sample from a friend. I can see myself searching this out for purchase.

Posted over 5 years ago by Bill Rogers from United States with 33 ratings

This is a great rum with cola, on the rocks with limes or as a rum for mixing. A little bite straight but better than most with the same bite. A great mixing standard.

Posted over 5 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

A strong initial flavor leading to a drier finish on this rhum. Not my favorite sipper but recommended!

Posted over 5 years ago by Tito Jackson from United States with 28 ratings

A nice sipping rum with a good finish. You can taste the sugar cane along with a strong maple smell.

Posted over 5 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

Far superior to the 8yo, the main problem for my taste, is that the oak is (possibly) a touch too pronounced on the nose but more so on the palate. Sometimes that doesn't present a problem, but on others I find it too much. Nutty, spicey, oaky, nice kick of alcohol - even though possibly too much oak, there is good integration of all parts making a damn good rum. Good length on the finish.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Jukka-Pekka Keskinen from Finland with 5 ratings

The rum tastes nice and strong. There's some caramel, sweet fruit and roast in the taste. Water doesn't seem to open up the taste.

Posted about 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

This is a special and great agricole rum, different from the rest. Has some spiciness and nuttiness to it. Makes good punch vieux and other cocktails as well as sips fine. It´s a rich rum.

Posted about 6 years ago by NicoleH from United States with 5 ratings

Lots of oak, slightly grassy decent sipping rum

Posted over 6 years ago by BerodeQuentin from France with 40 ratings

Color : light brown to dark
Flavour : Elegant, nutty with some spice, honey finish
Palate : Dry, slightly harsh, richness of flavour

A trully great rum, it's dryness doesn't make it easy for rookies to apreciate it!!!

Posted almost 7 years ago by Chuck from United States with 10 ratings

Dark amber, bright, dark caramel. Cinnamon spice.

Posted about 7 years ago by JJ Geewax from United States with 36 ratings

.