Posting your rating...
Borgoe Reserve Collection 12-Year rum

Borgoe Reserve Collection 12-Year

Suriname | Aged

6.7/10 (19 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
8
6
4

Rate Borgoe Reserve Collection 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

19 Borgoe Reserve Collection 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small download

Posted 1 year ago by 5xo (PREMIUM) from Slovakia with 260 ratings

Dark aged barrel rum without much unique characteristic, it has perhaps that fruity whisky flavor.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by hugorollo from Sweden with 7 ratings

I just got a 2cl sample of this Suriname rum, so it is hard to do a complex review.

The color is nice and dark.
Nose is ok, with aromas of oak and orange peel.
In the first two sips the taste was quite good with a lot of oak and some caramel and pepper. But in the third and fourth sip I almost couldn’t taste anything.
Aftertaste is oaky and peppery.

All in all I believe this to be an ok rum but it doesn’t really stand out.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 1 month ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 196 ratings

Had just a sample for this tasting so this is just a first impression, but I will not try to get me a bottle for further tasting.
This rum is produced by Suriname Alcoholic Beverages established in 1966 but is linked to Marienburg which was founded already 1882 as a sugar company.
In addition to Borgoe, they also produce Marienburg, where the world's strongest rum is found, 90% strong, but it can only be bought in Suriname. If you don’t want to go there, you have to settle for the 81% export version.
They use a three column still and a pot still for the production, but after tasting this rum I would say that they just used the column still for this rum or at least mainly.
After distillation it’s aged for 12 years in oak barrels.
The nose is quite weak. It went a little better in mouth and palate, but the weakness is then back again during the finish which is quite short.
I think toffee dominates, but I recognize also vanilla, some oak and caramel.
Overall I think it’s too bland.
Picture: My emptied sample.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 146 ratings

I have previously had some good experiences with Suriname and their rums and having tried the 8-year from Borgoe, then it was only natural to "upgrade" to the 12-year.

Nose: Oak, Caramel, Orange Peel
Taste: Oak, Caramel, Orange Peel, Pepper and a slight leathery aftertaste
Overall: This is not a complex rum in any sense of the word, but it doesn´t need to be. It would be great as a sipper after a long day at work and is a slight improvement over the 8-year from the same company.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 390 ratings

Schönes sattes Mahagoni im Glas.
In der Nase recht "jung", frische Düfte von tropischen Früchten und frisch gerösteten Gewürzen, Vanille und Blumen liegen als Dekoration auf einer Karamellcreme. Ganz weit weg sind dezente Holztöne zu vernehmen.
Im Gaumen ehrlich, direkt und doch ausgewogen. Helles Karamell und frische Früchte wollen die Geschmeidigsten sein, Schokolade, Nelken, Kardamom und weisser Pfeffer eifern nach, die Holznuancen bleiben weit zurück.
Im Abgang ein Karamellbonbon mit Pfefferfüllung und der Pfeffer hallt lange nach und eine Meeresbriese bleibt auf den Lippen zurück.
Ein toller Rum für Einsteiger und Geniesser. 7+

Nice rich mahogany in the glass.
In the nose quite "young", fresh scents of tropical fruits and freshly roasted spices, vanilla and flowers lie as decoration on a caramel cream. Quite far away, discreet wood tones can be heard.
On the palate honest, direct and yet balanced. Light caramel and fresh fruit want to be the smoothest, chocolate, cloves, cardamom and white pepper emulate, the wood nuances remain far behind.
In the finish a caramel candy with pepper filling and the pepper echoes for a long time and a sea breeze remains on the lips.
A great rum for beginners and connoisseurs. 7+

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by F_a_r_a_b_a_c_k from Sweden with 25 ratings

Helt ok men verkligen inget speciellt. Lite rivig inte så söt.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 326 ratings

- vůně hooodně jemná, vanilka, karamel, žádný alkohol
- chuť jemná, nasládlá, vanilka, karamel a koření
Příjemné večerní popíjení, výkon do max 26 Eur, víc bych do něj neinvestoval

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by M. Geisser from Switzerland with 43 ratings

A rum with a really great colour. Nose spicy and some medcine. There is a strong taste of pepper which will last for quite a while. Interesting rum.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Chaby86 from Netherlands with 5 ratings

The looks of the bottle are better then the taste of the rum. Nice dark colored rum. Little burn on the end.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Gethijsem from Netherlands with 11 ratings

This is a very smooth rum. The best Borgoe I had so far...

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 64 ratings

On the nose dried fruit and a smokey leather. Warm and inviting. Medium bodied (rather?) dry rum that brings a lot of flavour on to the palate; oak, raisins, orange peel, leather and caramel. A bit of a dark smokey taste but with sweet and fruity notes to lighten it up. Well balanced straightforward rum with a peppery butterscotch ending. Very pleasant and proof that a rum doesn't need to be overly complex in order to be nice and entertaining. A treat!