Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa Reserva Limitada 2019 rum

Ron Zacapa Reserva Limitada 2019

Guatemala | Aged

8.2/10 (18 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
5
8

Rate Ron Zacapa Reserva Limitada 2019

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


18 Ron Zacapa Reserva Limitada 2019 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by FerPaard from Netherlands with 13 ratings

Will review shortly, need to investigate thoroughly.....

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Dimitris from Greece with 78 ratings

Mark 9+/10. This is similar with limitada 2015 but with little more spice maybe... really good but bit expensive for what you get.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by 8E7 from Belgium with 14 ratings

Got this rum as a parting gift from my co-workers. Didn't have high expectations but it is surprisingly great actually. Very well balanced, sweet at first nip, strong after and a great palet of tastes like citrus, chocolate and wood afterwards. Makes you want more than just a sip!

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Martin Sundgren from Sweden with 2 ratings

A good rum but the impression is soon to be forgotten. Very subtile woody taste and lacks a bit of sweetness.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Per71 from Sweden with 43 ratings

A good Zacapa rum, with a stronger alcohol finish.
Prefer both the XO and Solera 23, that is better rums in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted 24 days ago by toyotiste from Belgium with 16 ratings

Ron Zacapa reserva limitada solera gran reserva 2019 45%

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by El Cap from United States with 62 ratings

Good stuff out of Guatemala!
Butterscotch molasses cookie.
Solid selection.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Chavelo from Greece with 23 ratings

Got it at Guatemala airport for a very low price compared to other places. Well balanced, Vanilla, wooden notes, some fruit.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 131 ratings

I really like XO and this one taste me slighly better. Maybe it is because of higher ABV cuz I prefer stronger rums. Taste is very mild with flavours of nuts, caramel, citruses and spice. Very well balanced and super-smooth. I can highly recommend this beauty.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 223 ratings

Finishing in Moscato casks
Abv: 45%

Tasted the 2019 in comparison with Royal, Aniversario 30, Edition Negra and XO. I will describe the nose and the taste of the 2019 first and then compare it to the others.

The nose is intensive and on the burned sugar and caramel side. I get the burned sugar with caramel first, then the typical Zacapa herbs and grasy notes. The typical Zacapa herbs, were very strong in the 2014 version, but there was not enough sweetness.
Further I get a mandarine note, behind of that the dry fruits -> plums, raisins, figs and a fermented note like ripe banana. Slightly I can smell some vanilla. Then there is a heavy note, like a wet barrel that is lying on earth.

The taste starts with caramel, dry fruits, ripe banana, figs and raisins, of course in combination with the typical Zacapa herbs (this is the magic taste of Zacapa). At the end of the initial taste I get some tannins, the taste turns a little bit bitter with a heavy note from the barrel.
As the rums gets warm the caramel turns into burned sugar and mandarine is rising on the palet. But not very long because the old barrel with earth floods the mouth. At the end I get the tannins from the wood and the mandarins again.
The finish starts with spice, burned sugar, mandarine, wood, some tannins and ends with dry fruits and raisins. The aftertaste is not very intensive and the flavors are something like caramel, date and mandarine. Because of the Moscato casks this rum has developed some mandarine aromas.
A good special edition in my opinion. Not very old, I think it's as old as Zacapa 23.

The taste is overall heavy and goes into direction of Royal, they have the 45% in common.
2019 is more sharp, younger and has more mandarine aroma. I would prefere more aging in case of 2019. It's intensive but I have the impression that this rum is a little bit thin.
Royal tastes more matured and more balanced of course.

The Zacapa XO is a a little bit milder and rounder. A little bit more matured, I don't have this thin impression here. The taste is more mellow, like there is some honey in the taste. I would prefer the XO, because of this mellow and incredible balanced taste.

Anniverarion 30 is in another dimension. This beatiful sweet and matured rum is so intensive and full bodied, it's better in every sense. I think if we would add further aging to 2019 this one could become also exceptional.

For the price of around 75€ this is a good special edition. Would rate it with 88 points.

Smell: caramel, herbs/plants, some fermented fruits, ripe banana, dry fuits (plum, date, raisins), some vanilla, toasted barrel and earth
Taste initial: caramel with dry fruits and ripe banana, figs, raisins, slightly tannins, wood and herbs
Middle: burned sugar, mandarine, barrel or old wood with earth, tannins, mandarine
Finish (middle long): spice, burned sugar, mandarine, wood, some tannins, dry fruits, raisins
Aftertaste: caramel, date, mandarine

Sweetness: 3.5/5
Fruits: 3.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Mildness: 4/5
Complexity: 3.5/5
Value (75€): 4/5
Experience level: amateur

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 322 ratings

Aroma is typical Zacapa. Taste is full fruity, warm and sweet. Not so much wooden like other Limited vrsions. Aftertaste is longer and nice withsherry tones.