Posting your rating...
Banks 7 Golden Age rum

Banks 7 Golden Age rum is created from a combination of 23 rums from around the world, including Panama, Barbados, Trinidad, and others. The rums are aged between 1-7 years in ex-Bourbon casks.

The Banks name is derived from explorer Sir Joseph Banks, who sailed with the famous Captain James Cook in the 1700s.

Rate Banks 7 Golden Age

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


30 Banks 7 Golden Age ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

Mellow, toffee, sweet, a hint of wood and a little bit spicy. Most likely there`s sugar added to the rum but I don`t know.

Posted over 4 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

I have been a fan of the 5 islands (white) rum for a while, this was pretty much what I expected with some aged components blended in. Again the Batavia arrack component lands a degree of funkiness that makes this one unique. Dry and spicey, with a good deal of clove flavor I have found in some other blended rums such as Scarlet ibis.

Posted 25 days ago by Jay from United States with 1 rating

Overall it's good on the rocks. Not too much of a burn as other reviewers stated. Slightly sweet, would be my go to as a mixer if the price wasn't as high

Posted about 2 months ago by LegallySmelf from United States with 23 ratings

This was one of the first rums I sipped and realize that rum could be worth sipping. Interesting blend - if it was slightly less expensive it'd be my go-to for gold rum.

Posted 4 months ago by aforbesbiz from United States with 2 ratings

Strong alcohol on the nose that slightly overpowers the aroma. I can definitely taste the Jamaican rum in the blend. Flavor is a bit dull overall. Price point was a bit high.

Posted 5 months ago by eddieo from United States with 91 ratings

This is another interesting blend of rums from those 5 islands and 20+ distilleries that make this a versatile aged rum which is OK for sipping but better in cocktails for its slightly more adventurous depth of profiles and flavor complexity. It does not stand out as an aged rum, aside from the fact that it is an expertly crafted blend which could have been even more adventurous if only a few sources had been pushed a little further, or omitted altogether. This winds up being no different than many other aged Caribbean rums, in the end, and for the price point you could do much better. I'd like to know whether there are any additives after the master blend...

Posted 8 months ago by jelmd from Germany with 17 ratings

Fand den Banks 5 Islands so gut, und hatte im zurückliegenden Jahr eigentlich nichts gefunden, was dem ebenbürtig erschien, also nochmal los und selbigen eingesackt. Doch da stand noch ein 7 Islands daneben - Interesse geweckt, auch eingesackt. Und hat sich tatsächlich gelohnt: ist tatsächlich noch ein bisl besser als der 5er. Noch ein bisl weicher, aber trotzdem etwas kräftiger und vielfältiger. Könnte wetten, auch Whisky-Trinker könnten sich dazu hinreißen lassen. Für mich derzeit der beste und möglicher Weise schon zu schade zum Mixen.

Posted 8 months ago by je_farley from United States with 100 ratings

A bit heavy on the nose, alcohol dominates. As a sipper a bit sharp and dry for a rum but a lot of different tastes will make it okay for some.

As a mixer a bit of funk comes out which is nice. Cola is its strength but strong enough to carry citrus in a clean, fresh and funky taste.

As a blender it is not strong enough to make a difference overall.

I liked the slight funk but overall am not impressed. Will finish the bottle in coke and not rebuy for my personal bar. I would drink it out as a change just not something I want on a regular basis.

Posted 9 months ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

Purchased a bottle of Banks 7 rum as I was intrigued by the blend from 7 different countries. I must say I was pleasantly surprised by the taste. The funkiness from Jamaican rums and dryness from Barbados rums are very noticeable and the mixture from the other rums adds to the overall taste of this rum. The nose leads me to believe it is somewhat sweet but i. Fact, the taste is the opposite, dry and spicy. Definitely a nice rum and one that I will keep on hand.

Posted 10 months ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

It is mild taste for aging up to 7 year.
However, I don't like the flavor of Jamaican rum, so I just feel it.
Not bad overall .

Posted 11 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Better than the 5 for sure, a whole new level of delight.

Posted about 1 year ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

I had a higher expectation for this one. Too strong of an afterburn. No particular flavor either straight or mixed.

Posted about 1 year ago by Tim from Canada with 54 ratings

Versatile, but then that’s to be expected given the number of rums in the blend. Tamed hogo is predominant, but I find some oak, pepper, and stone fruits

Posted over 1 year ago by Freek Lambrechts from Belgium with 40 ratings

Pepper, oak, some hogo, dry; overall a good balance.

Posted over 1 year ago by Dennis from United States with 15 ratings

Not impressed. Had a very 'alcohol-ee' smell upon the first smell. I took an initial sip and found it had a lot burn. I let it sit for about 30 minutes and no change. I'd definitely use this as a mixer though.

Posted over 1 year ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Multi faces, fine blends that offering array of dried fruits, spices, vanilla, demarara in a sphere of smoky oak phenol. White oak, crushed leaf earthiness with milky strawberry, ripe tropical stone fruits, clove. Nice sweet herbs at spine with sweet bbq marinated meat developed, can't get better and entertaining than that. (91/22)

P- Sweet earthy herbs note and demarara carry on, mellow and balance. Complex, colourful but lack layers, all up on your face at once. (87/21)

F- Medium-long, creamy sour fruits, baked apple with spice, dry mouth coating, echoing fine oak with spicy nuance. (87/21)

Body / Balance- 88/22

Weighted Rate- 86pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Posted at The Rum Bar KL almost 2 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

Great complexity on the nose as it changes from time to time and reminds me of quite a number of rums.
Butterscotch, Salted caramel, toffee and with lots of sweets spices. Mild sour berries and unripe mango. The let down will be the slight burn on nose with strong ethanol.

Sweets spices on the first sip: vanilla, anise and woody. Dried apricot, unripe peach and light touch of funk towards the end.

Finish of chocolate bar with dried raisins and macadamia nuts. Alcohol tends to be on the strong side which numb the tongue altough it's bottled at 43% abv.

Posted about 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

It looks like the Jamaican portion of this rum from multiple islands dominates. It tasted so much like Hamilton's Jamaican Pot Still Gold that I already have back at home, so why pick up an entire bottle of this when I am in Texas in a few weeks?

I tasted one glass neat this evening at my favorite Tiki Bar called Latitude 29 by Beachbum Berry. I already knew that this is one of his staple mixers, and it would do a fine job at that. Sipping it neat was not offensive, but it felt like a rerun from Hamilton.

Posted about 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

43% ABV. Pleasant, slightly harsh nose. Hint of Jamaican funk. This follows into the palate. There's also a good amount of brine. The addition of Panama, Java, and Guatemala (compared to the 5-Island) makes it richer, rounder, and a little sweeter on the nose—caramel, vanilla. Shortish finish.

This would be a fantastic "gold" mixing rum. It's got a little of everything. Maybe just a tad too sweet.

It may be an 8-, but I'm docking it for price (it's very good, but not a very good value) and misleading label. What the heck does that big 7 mean, anyway? (Presumably it's the number of countries represented, but the average consumer may be forgiven for assuming it was an age statement. Buyer beware.) Here's hoping future iterations will be a little stronger, cheaper, or offer more transparency.

7+

Posted over 2 years ago by Don from Canada with 130 ratings

The first smell was unimpressive with little aging and a bourbon note. The taste is better without much burn ,but a short spicey finish left this rum was disappointing.

Posted about 3 years ago by Scott from United States with 9 ratings

Lol oak, molasses, pepper....all in all a good rum kinda falls into the ick of all trades master of none

Posted over 3 years ago by Wekke from Belgium with 64 ratings

Dry and spicy, not too sweet.
Not my favorite, but i don't mind sipping it.

Posted almost 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Pepper, oak, some hogo, dry; overall a good balance.

Sugar test-

Posted almost 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

Smells and tastes of molasses, oak, spice (pepper), and walnuts. A bit dry, but still has a touch of sweetness.

A very good rum, especially for a gold rum.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 157 ratings

Ce super rhum qui assemble avec brio 7 cask differents.ce qui ressort c la puissance en gout de la barbade et jamaisue avec un truc en plus.tres bien pour les collectionneurs.et en plus 40 euros c pas cher pour cette qualite.note 8.1.