Posting your rating...
Banks 7 Golden Age rum

Banks 7 Golden Age

United Kingdom | Gold

Banks 7 Golden Age rum is created from a combination of 23 rums from around the world, including Panama, Barbados, Trinidad, and others. The rums are aged between 1-7 years in ex-Bourbon casks.

The Banks name is derived from explorer Sir Joseph Banks, who sailed with the famous Captain James Cook in the 1700s.

6.8/10 (31 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
7
12

Rate Banks 7 Golden Age

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


31 Banks 7 Golden Age ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 427 ratings

This was drunk on the rocks and I think it is a mixer rum... So disappointed on the rocks
..

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

I have been a fan of the 5 islands (white) rum for a while, this was pretty much what I expected with some aged components blended in. Again the Batavia arrack component lands a degree of funkiness that makes this one unique. Dry and spicey, with a good deal of clove flavor I have found in some other blended rums such as Scarlet ibis.

Ffffff

Posted 20 days ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 134 ratings

George would have liked this. This is good rum. This has some bite. Nice strong rum with a heavy finish. Vanilla with almond and molasses notes. A minty note that I can’t quite place. Good body. At the very end it finishes a little harsh. But overall damn good for a 7 year old. As Mr Banks would say “ a real snapper”. Really a 7.3-7.5.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Jay from United States with 1 rating

Overall it's good on the rocks. Not too much of a burn as other reviewers stated. Slightly sweet, would be my go to as a mixer if the price wasn't as high

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by LegallySmelf from United States with 27 ratings

This was one of the first rums I sipped and realize that rum could be worth sipping. Interesting blend - if it was slightly less expensive it'd be my go-to for gold rum.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by aforbesbiz from United States with 2 ratings

Strong alcohol on the nose that slightly overpowers the aroma. I can definitely taste the Jamaican rum in the blend. Flavor is a bit dull overall. Price point was a bit high.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by eddieo from United States with 92 ratings

This is another interesting blend of rums from those 5 islands and 20+ distilleries that make this a versatile aged rum which is OK for sipping but better in cocktails for its slightly more adventurous depth of profiles and flavor complexity. It does not stand out as an aged rum, aside from the fact that it is an expertly crafted blend which could have been even more adventurous if only a few sources had been pushed a little further, or omitted altogether. This winds up being no different than many other aged Caribbean rums, in the end, and for the price point you could do much better. I'd like to know whether there are any additives after the master blend...

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by jelmd from Germany with 17 ratings

Fand den Banks 5 Islands so gut, und hatte im zurückliegenden Jahr eigentlich nichts gefunden, was dem ebenbürtig erschien, also nochmal los und selbigen eingesackt. Doch da stand noch ein 7 Islands daneben - Interesse geweckt, auch eingesackt. Und hat sich tatsächlich gelohnt: ist tatsächlich noch ein bisl besser als der 5er. Noch ein bisl weicher, aber trotzdem etwas kräftiger und vielfältiger. Könnte wetten, auch Whisky-Trinker könnten sich dazu hinreißen lassen. Für mich derzeit der beste und möglicher Weise schon zu schade zum Mixen.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

A bit heavy on the nose, alcohol dominates. As a sipper a bit sharp and dry for a rum but a lot of different tastes will make it okay for some.

As a mixer a bit of funk comes out which is nice. Cola is its strength but strong enough to carry citrus in a clean, fresh and funky taste.

As a blender it is not strong enough to make a difference overall.

I liked the slight funk but overall am not impressed. Will finish the bottle in coke and not rebuy for my personal bar. I would drink it out as a change just not something I want on a regular basis.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 157 ratings

Purchased a bottle of Banks 7 rum as I was intrigued by the blend from 7 different countries. I must say I was pleasantly surprised by the taste. The funkiness from Jamaican rums and dryness from Barbados rums are very noticeable and the mixture from the other rums adds to the overall taste of this rum. The nose leads me to believe it is somewhat sweet but i. Fact, the taste is the opposite, dry and spicy. Definitely a nice rum and one that I will keep on hand.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 140 ratings

It is mild taste for aging up to 7 year.
However, I don't like the flavor of Jamaican rum, so I just feel it.
Not bad overall .