Posting your rating...
Banks 7 Golden Age rum

Banks 7 Golden Age

United Kingdom | Gold

Banks 7 Golden Age rum is created from a combination of 23 rums from around the world, including Panama, Barbados, Trinidad, and others. The rums are aged between 1-7 years in ex-Bourbon casks.

The Banks name is derived from explorer Sir Joseph Banks, who sailed with the famous Captain James Cook in the 1700s.

6.9/10 (31 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
7
12

Rate Banks 7 Golden Age

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

31 Banks 7 Golden Age ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

It is mild taste for aging up to 7 year.
However, I don't like the flavor of Jamaican rum, so I just feel it.
Not bad overall .

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Better than the 5 for sure, a whole new level of delight.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tim from Canada with 66 ratings

Versatile, but then that’s to be expected given the number of rums in the blend. Tamed hogo is predominant, but I find some oak, pepper, and stone fruits

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Freek Lambrechts from Belgium with 40 ratings

Pepper, oak, some hogo, dry; overall a good balance.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Dennis from United States with 15 ratings

Not impressed. Had a very 'alcohol-ee' smell upon the first smell. I took an initial sip and found it had a lot burn. I let it sit for about 30 minutes and no change. I'd definitely use this as a mixer though.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Multi faces, fine blends that offering array of dried fruits, spices, vanilla, demarara in a sphere of smoky oak phenol. White oak, crushed leaf earthiness with milky strawberry, ripe tropical stone fruits, clove. Nice sweet herbs at spine with sweet bbq marinated meat developed, can't get better and entertaining than that. (91/22)

P- Sweet earthy herbs note and demarara carry on, mellow and balance. Complex, colourful but lack layers, all up on your face at once. (87/21)

F- Medium-long, creamy sour fruits, baked apple with spice, dry mouth coating, echoing fine oak with spicy nuance. (87/21)

Body / Balance- 88/22

Weighted Rate- 86pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Ffffff

Posted at The Rum Bar KL over 2 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

Great complexity on the nose as it changes from time to time and reminds me of quite a number of rums.
Butterscotch, Salted caramel, toffee and with lots of sweets spices. Mild sour berries and unripe mango. The let down will be the slight burn on nose with strong ethanol.

Sweets spices on the first sip: vanilla, anise and woody. Dried apricot, unripe peach and light touch of funk towards the end.

Finish of chocolate bar with dried raisins and macadamia nuts. Alcohol tends to be on the strong side which numb the tongue altough it's bottled at 43% abv.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 357 ratings

It looks like the Jamaican portion of this rum from multiple islands dominates. It tasted so much like Hamilton's Jamaican Pot Still Gold that I already have back at home, so why pick up an entire bottle of this when I am in Texas in a few weeks?

I tasted one glass neat this evening at my favorite Tiki Bar called Latitude 29 by Beachbum Berry. I already knew that this is one of his staple mixers, and it would do a fine job at that. Sipping it neat was not offensive, but it felt like a rerun from Hamilton.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

43% ABV. Pleasant, slightly harsh nose. Hint of Jamaican funk. This follows into the palate. There's also a good amount of brine. The addition of Panama, Java, and Guatemala (compared to the 5-Island) makes it richer, rounder, and a little sweeter on the nose—caramel, vanilla. Shortish finish.

This would be a fantastic "gold" mixing rum. It's got a little of everything. Maybe just a tad too sweet.

It may be an 8-, but I'm docking it for price (it's very good, but not a very good value) and misleading label. What the heck does that big 7 mean, anyway? (Presumably it's the number of countries represented, but the average consumer may be forgiven for assuming it was an age statement. Buyer beware.) Here's hoping future iterations will be a little stronger, cheaper, or offer more transparency.

7+

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Don from Canada with 145 ratings

The first smell was unimpressive with little aging and a bourbon note. The taste is better without much burn ,but a short spicey finish left this rum was disappointing.