Posting your rating...
Velier 1996 The Last Caroni 23-Year rum

Velier 1996 The Last Caroni 23-Year

Italy | Aged

10.0/10
8 ratings
Absolute taste perfection

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
8

Rate Velier 1996 The Last Caroni 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

8 Velier 1996 The Last Caroni 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 442 ratings

I was catched already by the aroma. Full, strong with fruit tones and a hint of typical Caroni petroleum ...
First taste is very complex, fresh and fruity. After come the body with dry wood on palate. Aftertaste starts with typical Caroni petroleum tones, ending in long fruity (peach) end. Not for beginners, but heaven for experienced drinkers.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Rumrunner95 from United States with 57 ratings

Nose: Bananas, Vanilla, Raspberries, Honey, Cinnamon, Baking Spices, Raisins, Cherries, Papaya, Pineapples, Plums, Caramel, Citrus, Apricots, Coconut, White and Milk Chocolate, Mocha, Dulce de Leche, Flan

Palate: Raisins, Bananas, Honey, Caramel, Gas, Oak, Vanilla, Dark Chocolate, Coconut, Pepper, Grass, Mint, Herbs, Minerals, Licorice, Cherries, Maple Bark

Finish: Banana, Vanilla, Toffee, Honey, Chocolate Bark, Gas, Raisins, Raspberries, Flowers, Oak, Cinnamon, Spearmint, Dill, Citrus

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 70 ratings

Man kann sicher behaupten dass die meisten Velier Caronis gut oder sogar sehr gut sind ,der liebe Luca hat ein äusserst feines Händchen und einen äusserst guten Geschmack bei der Auswahl seiner Fässer gehabt.
Dieser Caroni dürfte mit der ebenfalls 1996er Abfüllung für Kirschwhisky zu den besten Velierabfülungen je zählen und die aufgerufenen 400 Bankrottos werden bald lächerlich erscheinen.Zum Glück gibt es hier im Gegensatz zum Kirsch ein Vielfaches an Flaschen.
Die Caroni typischen Aromen kommen hier in perfekter Balance unendlich lang,besser geht nicht.
96 war ein Top Jahrgang aber hier ist die Creme de la Creme aus 96 abgefüllt.....

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 149 ratings

I got the opportunity to attend a rum tasting with Daniele Biondi from Velier were we tasted 9 different rums. This was the ninth and final rum of the night, that we tasted side-by-side with the 38th release of the same series "Tasting Gang". I have a big place in my heart for Caroni, so to be able to taste this one was like liquid magic to me. It is a piece of history and it tastes like heaven in a bottle.

Nose: Asphalt, minerals, passion fruit, dark chocolate and a faint smell of vanilla and fresh fruit
Taste: Asphalt, diesel, passion fruit, minerals, roasted coffee, tobacco, figs and a fresh floral taste to bind it together in a long and pleasant aftertaste.
Overall: This might be one of the best, if not the best, I have ever tasted. This rum is complex and soothing. It is harst and loving. It is hearty and warming. It is everything you would want and more. Perfection.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Haz from Denmark with 24 ratings

This is my first Coron, what can I say is a monster of taste and aroma. It is so rich that you don't want to drink it, but chew it. Try it while you can.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Guldmund from Norway with 2 ratings

I have been drinking whisky for many years, and am fairly new to rum. I never thought that rum could be as complex as whisky! This Caroni is a prime excample of a rum who can stand against the best whiskyes I have had!

Small v%c3%bdst%c5%99i%c5%beeks

Posted 6 months ago by Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 151 ratings

Za mě jedna z ikon této značky. Poslední ze dvou, které nemám asi v plánu delší dobu otevřít.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Knievel from Canada with 7 ratings

Very complex and extremely enjoyable. Ripe fruits, Tobbaco, mint and gasoline notes. Everything is well integrated and well balanced, thanks to 23 years of tropical ageing.