Posting your rating...
Velier 2005 Royal Navy Tiger Shark 14-Year rum

Velier 2005 Royal Navy Tiger Shark 14-Year

Italy | Overproof

8.7/10
14 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
5
4

Rate Velier 2005 Royal Navy Tiger Shark 14-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

14 Velier 2005 Royal Navy Tiger Shark 14-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 247 ratings

Velier's second royal navy expression, consisting of rum from worthy park and demerara distillers. Average age of 14 years and weighing in at 57,18%vol. Since I'm a big fan of both jamaican and guyaneese rum, this is a bottle I've been looking forward to.
The rum has a deep orange, amber tinge and the nose is intoxicating and bold. Fruity notes of blackcurrant and prunes mingle with raisins, chocolate, black tea, hints of iodine, caramel and old wood. It's very deep. As it rests in the glass, liquorice also emerges, reminding me a lot of port mourant, which I absolutely love.
The taste evolves very rapidly in the mouth. The 57,18%vol is well tempered and just seem to add to the intensity of the rich flavours. Initially there's some sweeter notes of raisins, prunes and chocolate, which balance out the more heavy, tarry mid palate notes of tobacco, leather, liquorice and slightly charred barrel. This is a very rich, balanced rum.
The finish keeps at it for a long time with cloves and raisins.
It's not stated which demerara stills was used in this blend, but to me It feels a bit like a tasty, heavy port mourant, perhaps also diamond, evened out by the sweeter and more fruity jamaican rum. It works
A handful of medium ratings for this rum based on a sip at a festival seems to me, is kinda disrespecting to an amazing blend. If you feel like rating rum as complex as this, It really deserves time and repeated tasting sessions. I write this mostly because the mediocre scores really does no justice to this pearl. Anyone that loves velier, should know that this is among his better bottles, displaying an exceptionally flavourful and balanced blend. Highly recommended.

Small 067776ec 7856 49b2 8c45 07afe364fe9d

Posted 6 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 150 ratings

Absolute fantastic nose. It really wants to come up from the glass. Strong and heavy nose with a very well balanced licorice taste among canation and chocolate. A pot still with full bodied and complex. 2nd release does not disappoint at all !.!.!

Edit: Probably the best ever tasted !!!

Small e209bc5e 5a5b 4380 87d3 5431d22d229d

Posted 7 months ago by MaartenVL from Belgium with 30 ratings

Drunk this one for free in restaurant Terazza Boquet in Sorrento, Italy. Great, strong rum for every experienced rumdrinker. Amazing nose and even better taste. Enjoy!

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 154 ratings

Pred ochutnanim som mal rešpekt,no úplne zbytočne. Rum som nalial a nechal ho trošku sa otvoriť, bola ho plná izba a tá vôňa je úžasná, dokonca ho cítiť i na druhý deň ráno v prázdnom poháriku.
Chuť je ako explózia, od citrusov, zeme, drevitosti az po sladké tóny,skutočne dlhý záver.
Očaril ma a zaradil sa medzi moje najobľúbenejšie

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Adrian Adame from Czech Republic with 361 ratings

vůně velmi příjemná, banán, muškátový oříšek a citrus, 57,18% není znát, z počátku jemná nasládlost, kmín, eukalypt a olej, závěr dlouhý eukalypt a kmín

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 442 ratings

Aroma leather, iodine, old wood. First taste bit burning after warm and dry. Taste is mix of fruit, mineral and peach tones (similar to whisky) Aftertaste is burning, average long.

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 2 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 142 ratings

taste - 8.5/10
smell - 10/10
sweetness - 6.5/10
price/value rating - 5.5/10

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Francois from France with 106 ratings

I thought it would be even sweeter so that was a relief but problem I thought it would have some more flavor, very flat..

Small v%c3%bdst%c5%99i%c5%beeks

Posted 5 months ago by Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 151 ratings

Naprosto originální chuť. Citrus, ovoce, dřevo a čokoláda s vyšší voltazi. Bez přidaného cukru.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by pula_pirata from Australia with 25 ratings

This rum is on another level, really powerful. The initial nose is clearly Demerara but soon enough the Jamaican esters takes over and dominates. On the palate I get raisins, oak, vanilla, tabaco and leather at the end lingering with a strong burn but bearable. You have to sip this rum really carefully and graciously. Not for beginners or faint of heart for sure. A truly special rum for real rum lovers.