Posting your rating...
Velier 2005 Royal Navy Tiger Shark 14-Year rum

Velier 2005 Royal Navy Tiger Shark 14-Year

Italy | Overproof

8.4/10 (10 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
2
3

Rate Velier 2005 Royal Navy Tiger Shark 14-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


10 Velier 2005 Royal Navy Tiger Shark 14-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 240 ratings

Velier's second royal navy expression, consisting of rum from worthy park and demerara distillers. Average age of 14 years and weighing in at 57,18%vol. Since I'm a big fan of both jamaican and guyaneese rum, this is a bottle I've been looking forward to.
The rum has a deep orange, amber tinge and the nose is intoxicating and bold. Fruity notes of blackcurrant and prunes mingle with raisins, chocolate, black tea, hints of iodine, caramel and old wood. It's very deep. As it rests in the glass, liquorice also emerges, reminding me a lot of port mourant, which I absolutely love.
The taste evolves very rapidly in the mouth. The 57,18%vol is well tempered and just seem to add to the intensity of the rich flavours. Initially there's some sweeter notes of raisins, prunes and chocolate, which balance out the more heavy, tarry mid palate notes of tobacco, leather, liquorice and slightly charred barrel. This is a very rich, balanced rum.
The finish keeps at it for a long time with cloves and raisins.
It's not stated which demerara stills was used in this blend, but to me It feels a bit like a tasty, heavy port mourant, perhaps also diamond, evened out by the sweeter and more fruity jamaican rum. It works
A handful of medium ratings for this rum based on a sip at a festival seems to me, is kinda disrespecting to an amazing blend. If you feel like rating rum as complex as this, It really deserves time and repeated tasting sessions. I write this mostly because the mediocre scores really does no justice to this pearl. Anyone that loves velier, should know that this is among his better bottles, displaying an exceptionally flavourful and balanced blend. Highly recommended.

Ffffff

Posted 22 days ago by MaartenVL from Belgium with 20 ratings

Drunk this one for free in restaurant Terazza Boquet in Sorrento, Italy. Great, strong rum for every experienced rumdrinker. Amazing nose and even better taste. Enjoy!

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by IBO from Slovakia with 127 ratings

Pred ochutnanim som mal rešpekt,no úplne zbytočne. Rum som nalial a nechal ho trošku sa otvoriť, bola ho plná izba a tá vôňa je úžasná, dokonca ho cítiť i na druhý deň ráno v prázdnom poháriku.
Chuť je ako explózia, od citrusov, zeme, drevitosti az po sladké tóny,skutočne dlhý záver.
Očaril ma a zaradil sa medzi moje najobľúbenejšie

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 296 ratings

vůně velmi příjemná, banán, muškátový oříšek a citrus, 57,18% není znát, z počátku jemná nasládlost, kmín, eukalypt a olej, závěr dlouhý eukalypt a kmín

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 322 ratings

Aroma leather, iodine, old wood. First taste bit burning after warm and dry. Taste is mix of fruit, mineral and peach tones (similar to whisky) Aftertaste is burning, average long.

Ffffff

Posted 3 days ago by pula_pirata from Australia with 21 ratings

This rum is on another level, really powerful. The initial nose is clearly Demerara but soon enough the Jamaican esters takes over and dominates. On the palate I get raisins, oak, vanilla, tabaco and leather at the end lingering with a strong burn but bearable. You have to sip this rum really carefully and graciously. Not for beginners or faint of heart for sure. A truly special rum for real rum lovers.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 220 ratings

Uhhh yes, Worthy Park and Demerara is clearly the combination here. Some heavy aromas from Guyana and clearly fruity flavors from Jamaica. The nose starts with honey, molasses, sage/herbs (the dilicios combination of Guyana flavors). To make this perfect there are fruity notes of WP, orange, banana, apples with wood. This is a truly perfect nose.
The flavors are very shaped and clear, no doubt that it's a WP/Demerara blend.

The taste starts with caramel notes, and WP fruits. The start belongs clearly to WP.
In the middle I get Demerara flavors of molasses, honey, mint and other herbs. Quite heavy and dark body, after the bright start it's a very beautiful development.
The finish starts with spice, citrus and dry orange peels. Your mouth gets dry, you get great WP oranges with anise finish. This is clearly a high end rum finish.
The aftertaste is dominated by WP with Demerara flavors at the end. It's the logical continuation of the finish with a lot of mint.
The WP has the most part of the taste, but in the middle and in the aftertaste there are also Demerara flavors.
In comparison to Velier Navy Old Rum, the Tiger Shark is much more interesting. The old navy has a bitter wood note from the Caroni cask that distrubs the other flavors from the beginning. There is also a Caroni coating over all flavors.
I would prefer the Tiger Shark, because I know better Caronis than Velier Old Navy Rum, but I don't know better WP/Demerara blends.
It's is a great blend and a very good navy rum, by far the best I ever tried. 94 points.

Nose: honey, molasses, sage/herbs, dry orange, apples, pencil shavings, pickles (a slightl sour note), caramel, wood/earth, vanilla, oil
Taste initial: caramel, dry orang peels, woody notes with tanins,
Middle: molasses (salt), herbs/sage, mint, honey, wood, orange, anise
Finish: spice, citrus, astringend mouth feel, dry orange peels, anise
Aftertaste: like WPM 2009, fruity, mint, leather, oranges, honey and molasses

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 3.5/5
Spice: 3.5/5
Mildness: 3/5
Complexity: 4.5/5
Value (125€): 4/5

See also thefatrumpirate:
https://thefatrumpirate.com/velier-royal-navy-tiger-shark

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2654 ratings

Rum tasting in Brussels with my good old friend continued with Velier Royal Navy Tiger Shark. Very nice high end bottle and label design. Blacked out bottle. Bright golden color. Strong alcohol mixed with oak, liquorice and bananas to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Strong and dry burn at the end. Bottled at 57.18% it is potent stuff. It might be much better at around 50%.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Sancho from Poland with 8 ratings

I've tried this one on festival in Poland. Really good one, nice flavour and smell. Recomended.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by tondak80 from Czech Republic with 32 ratings

to je tak hnusný až je to dobrý, tráva a spousta chutí co nedokážu identifikovat, volty, hřeje