Posting your rating...
Doorly's 14-Year rum

Doorly's 14-Year

Barbados | Aged

8.8/10 (16 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
9
3

Rate Doorly's 14-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


16 Doorly's 14-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 54 ratings

Doorly's 12 year is one of my favourite rums and i was hoping this would be as good or even better. I was not disappointed! This actually tastes even slightly better than the 12 year and still has a wonderful finish that seems to last throughout. Overall this is a fantastic rum and i look forward to buying a bottle.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 220 ratings

A Doorlys with 48%, I expect this one to be good.

Oh yes, the nose reminds me of the Last Ward 2009, it's of course not that complex. Very rich and intensive. There is a caramel note, it improves the common aromas of wood, orange, anise. This is a very good nose.

The taste is also very good. The aromas are very pronounced and the complexity is there. The abv was choosen very well. It's not very spicy, I can enjoy all flavors, very nice is again the caramel and dry fruit flavor in combination with typical Barbados notes. The orange is very intensive and tasty.
I like this one much more than MG XO. It's much better in my opinion.

Nose: wood, dry fruits (plum) and orange, anise, barrel/earth and a hint of caramel, some spices like pepper
Taste: caramel with orange, dry fruits, oak
Middle: caramel again, dry fruit (plum), orange, vanilla, white oak
Finish: some spice, dry orange peels, wood and vanilla

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 3/5
Spice: 2/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Complexity: 3.5/5
Value (65€): 4/5

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by IBO from Slovakia with 127 ratings

Skvelý rum,rovnaký chuťový profil ako pri Sagacity. Výborné ,pohodové pitie. Vždy si ho rád dám znova.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by matiapag from Slovakia with 7 ratings

If you know Foursquare, you know you won't find anything overly sweet in their portfolio. However, sometimes the dry oaky elements tend to negate the smoothness that should be a part of rums this age. However, Doorly's 14 is something completely different. It's one of the smoothest dry rums I have ever tried. If you don't like sweet rums, but you are intimidated by the harshness of some dry oaky rums, this one is deffinitely for you. You can even find some cocoa notes in there, which just underlines the whole profile. Amazing!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 30 ratings

The bottle is very attractive, the saturated colors of the parrot motif invoke the atmosphere of tropical nature, Caribbean, warm weather and bright sun. The shape of the bottle is old-school, squat, curvy, topped with artificial cork embedded in plastic (no problem for me, there is not enough genuine cork for all the booze in the world).

The aroma originally is very muted, distant, dominated by a focused sweet note - candied apples, marmalade, canned pumpkin, after adding a bit of water (the rum is bottled at 48 percent), the aroma slowly unfolds with more acrid, acidic notes of soft wood.

On the palate, the entry is surprisingly, but delicately sweet (knowing Mr. Seale's production and attitude towards additives, I expect an austere, bone dry experience), but now, sweetness continues to develop along the toffee, milky, caramel lines towards a slightly bitter, woody finish, but much less bitter than one would expect after full 14 years of tropical aging. You will find no traces of those "teabags left in too long" ultra bitter tones of low quality rums, these are no tired casks with just bitter tannins left after years and years of abuse, but obviously an expertly selected vessels that imparted rather delicious gifts during their contact with the distillate.

The finish is warming, long, delicate, only slightly astringent and bitter, but almost feminine and soft in intensity.

Overall, this rum is a rather pleasant surprise, and after clicking between 9 and 10, back and forth, yes, I am giving it 10 finally - I usually give 10 only to rums that brings something original to the table, which IMO is not the case here, but this rum is exceptionally well-made, and I have to respect that.

Jolly well done!

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

Great balance of sweetness, flavours, strength. Everything. Smooth, brilliant.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 322 ratings

Lighter aroma. Taste is complex, starting with wood ending with fruity, citrus tones. Aftertaste is longer and pleasant.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 130 ratings

This rum is for true men, not a princesses. Its 48% strong, dry, very woody character but also very smooth. In taste also notes of spice, dark chocolate and orage. Very long end because of no added sugar

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 60 ratings

taste - 9/10
smell - 8/10
sweetness - 7.5/10
price/value rating - 5/10

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Lanier from Belgium with 37 ratings

Doorly's 14 year is one of my favourite rum.This actually tastes slightly better than the 12 year and still has a wonderful finish that seems to last throughout. Overall this is a fantastic rum.