Posting your rating...
Doorly's 14-Year rum

Doorly's 14-Year

Barbados | Aged

8.7/10
30 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
14
5

Rate Doorly's 14-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

30 Doorly's 14-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 9 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 142 ratings

taste - 9/10
smell - 8/10
sweetness - 7.5/10
price/value rating - 5/10

Small snapshot 20210212 20

Posted 4 months ago by Pirate from Greece with 30 ratings

I finally managed to fetch myself this nice little treasure! Cost me a bit more (98 euros total pricing), but now that i am savoring the thing, it was actually well-worth it! The box is craftily designed and highly original. Color of the liquid is magnificent and eye-catching. The smell is deep, clean and subtle, not strong, but very pleasing nonetheless, refined and sophisticated. The texture feels extremely smooth, velvety, without harshness, despite the high alcohol percentage. It goes down merrily, simply feels great to drink! Warms your throat inside out and while exhaling, a unique feeling of euphoria overcomes you, momentarily dominating your senses! The lingering aftertaste is outstanding and remains for quite some time post your sip, filling your mouth with an unparalleled, blissful sensation! This is a real winner and absolutely fabulous! Highly recommended! Special thanks are in order, to the people who insisted for me to buy this one first, before the other rums in my list!!!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

Doorly's 12 year is one of my favourite rums and i was hoping this would be as good or even better. I was not disappointed! This actually tastes even slightly better than the 12 year and still has a wonderful finish that seems to last throughout. Overall this is a fantastic rum and i look forward to buying a bottle.

Small img 20201109 183045

Posted 5 months ago by Michal Ernest from Czech Republic with 55 ratings

Zajímavý chuťově i vůní. Nevím jak jej přesně charakterizovat, chutná mi docela dost, ale přece jen XO 40% je pro mne jemnější a chutnější. Snad se to obrátí a tento mi bude chutnat více.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 330 ratings

A blend of pot and column still that was aged in ex-Bourbon barrels for 14 years in Barbados.

Smell: Like all the better 14 year old bottlings, the rum starts with a deep caramel sweetness and lots of dried fruits (grape seeds). The wood from the bourbon barrel with light notes of vanilla is noticeable.
Some earthy barrel aromas and peppery notes are deeper in the glass. There are still hazelnuts with a few orange zests and very subtle leather aromas.
A very good smell that lacks some heavy flavors to be more complex. It is not one of the best Foursquares, but one of the better ones.

Taste: Caramel sweetness with dried fruits and light wood starts on the palate. Vanilla from the bourbon barrel is very present. Then the spiciness increases and the rum develops more woody and with more orange zest. Slight bitterness comes from the tannins and the taste of grape seeds. It becomes drier and woody in the finish, also slightly spicy. The wood becomes so bright that it almost reminds me of cardboard.

Aftertaste: orange zest, white oak, dry fruits, tannins, vanilla

A nice rum from the standard range. It is in the upper midfield and unfortunately does not come close to the best ECS bottlings. The barrel strength is well chosen and gives it a certain balance. It is very suitable for beginners who want to develop further.

Overall rating: 87 points

Sweetness: 2.5 / 5
Fruits: 3/5
Seasoning: 2/5
Complexity: 3/5
PL (65 €): 4/5

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 154 ratings

Skvelý rum,rovnaký chuťový profil ako pri Sagacity. Výborné ,pohodové pitie. Vždy si ho rád dám znova.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 31 ratings

The bottle is very attractive, the saturated colors of the parrot motif invoke the atmosphere of tropical nature, Caribbean, warm weather and bright sun. The shape of the bottle is old-school, squat, curvy, topped with artificial cork embedded in plastic (no problem for me, there is not enough genuine cork for all the booze in the world).

The aroma originally is very muted, distant, dominated by a focused sweet note - candied apples, marmalade, canned pumpkin, after adding a bit of water (the rum is bottled at 48 percent), the aroma slowly unfolds with more acrid, acidic notes of soft wood.

On the palate, the entry is surprisingly, but delicately sweet (knowing Mr. Seale's production and attitude towards additives, I expect an austere, bone dry experience), but now, sweetness continues to develop along the toffee, milky, caramel lines towards a slightly bitter, woody finish, but much less bitter than one would expect after full 14 years of tropical aging. You will find no traces of those "teabags left in too long" ultra bitter tones of low quality rums, these are no tired casks with just bitter tannins left after years and years of abuse, but obviously an expertly selected vessels that imparted rather delicious gifts during their contact with the distillate.

The finish is warming, long, delicate, only slightly astringent and bitter, but almost feminine and soft in intensity.

Overall, this rum is a rather pleasant surprise, and after clicking between 9 and 10, back and forth, yes, I am giving it 10 finally - I usually give 10 only to rums that brings something original to the table, which IMO is not the case here, but this rum is exceptionally well-made, and I have to respect that.

Jolly well done!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

Great balance of sweetness, flavours, strength. Everything. Smooth, brilliant.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 442 ratings

Lighter aroma. Taste is complex, starting with wood ending with fruity, citrus tones. Aftertaste is longer and pleasant.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 145 ratings

This rum is for true men, not a princesses. Its 48% strong, dry, very woody character but also very smooth. In taste also notes of spice, dark chocolate and orage. Very long end because of no added sugar

Ffffff

Posted 14 days ago by Jobplis from Spain with 5 ratings

A great blend of pot and column still rum, aged to a minimum of 14 years no sugar or color added.
It's great to see some of the industry moving towards unadulterated rums specifying in the bottle exactly whats the minimum age of the rum.
Molasses-based, with a great aroma, really complex and a strong long finish, a bit of spice, and leaning towards more of a dry rum which I love.
Great rum altogether.