Posting your rating...
Sea Dog Black Spiced rum

Sea Dog Black Spiced

Jamaica | Spiced

6.1/10
9 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
3
1
1

Rate Sea Dog Black Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

9 Sea Dog Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small a20a0240 12be 498f 8322 f99347d20740

Posted 1 year ago by Fozzie500 from United Kingdom with 27 ratings

An Aldi Supermarket purchase bottled for the supermarket chain, its not hard to work out the motivation for producing this black spiced rum,they are clearly going after a part of the Kraken Market share.
It is significantly cheaper than Kraken at around the £15 mark.as you can imagine it tastes very similar to Kraken, heavy on the vanilla, but to my taste buds it is a little sweeter than Kraken.
For me it doesn't have as strong a alcohol taste as Kraken and is quite smooth but the aftertaste is very short lived. An easy drink with coke, not so easy with Ginger Ale.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Mark Ellis from United Kingdom with 38 ratings

A budget priced spiced rum, but with a quality taste to compare with kraken and such likes.

Small img 20201225 193437

Posted 7 months ago by HMS Scotian from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Being a budget store brand it is actually a good tasting rum

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Shaun from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

A little sweet for my liking but bought in a bind and wasn't expecting much. However better than anticipated...not too spicy and a lovely dark look.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Captain0muffins from United Kingdom with 18 ratings

Always looking for a bargain i was interested to see what Aldi's more premium own brand could achieve. This is their attempt at Kraken but it obviously falls short of the mark. Not as much as I thought it would though! Does say it has a finish including lime and their not wrong. It's not recommended to drink neat though but mix with some cola and it's easily drinkable. Having said that if your really trying to save pennies and you absolutely have to something close to Kraken fine...but as it stands right now in the UK this bottle was about £16 and Kraken is going for between £20-£23 I would say spend a few extra pennies and get the real deal. Or you could always go for a different spiced rum over black, barcardi 'oakheart' or 'spiced' i would suggest for 2 quid more

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 494 ratings

Awful rum production from a supermarket chain that is an insult to all the quality spiced rums ... Clearly heavily dosed and additives heavy ... Cough medicine with the alcohol is clearly the brand's aim ... How this won all the awards leave me gobsmacked

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by s81 from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Really nice to drink straight or with Ice.

Little kick but not much fire. Really smooth.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Dave Eagles from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

A decent rum from the German discounter.
Plenty of spice and definitely holds its own vs far more expensive ones of the same ilk

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by MichielV from Netherlands with 28 ratings

Got this Sea Dog Premium Black Spiced rum as a gift from the UK, the only country this rum is available. The rum is awarded 'gold medal' by The Rum & Cachaça Masters 2019. It's got a very spicy and sweet nose, with a powerful smell of the alcohol, burning a little bit in the nose. A very interesting taste, with on one hand tropical limes, caramelized sugar and vanilla, on the other hand the depthness of dark coffee. The aftertaste is unfortunately quite quickly gone. Conclusion: an average spiced rum, but with the price of only £17 (€19) I am not going to complain.